We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Newport
pacific northwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not clean”
Reviewed July 20, 2009

We recently stayed at The Newport branch of La Quinta hotels, we are on the whole fans of the La Quinta Brand, we've even signed up for the rewards program so we try to stay at one of their hotels whenever possible. This one was a cheap immitation of what the others have been. The lobby is small and cheap looking, and the room was not clean. We found mold all over the bathroom ceiling, and dog foot prints on the carpet (feces). Dog toys from the previous guests animals were still in the room and the overwhelming smell of some sort of odor killer bowled us over. The continental breakfast was decent, but unlike other La Quintas we've stayed at they close the doors anytime it's not the exact breakfast hours, so no going in for coffee or juice like the others we've stayed at. The front desk staff were friendly and sweet which is always nice. Unfortunately we won't go back, which is too bad.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamastheboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    157
    99
    35
    22
See reviews for
243
153
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Spanaway, WA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Stayed at LaQuinta Inn- nice and clean hotel. Good restaurant was Rogue Brewery on the waterfront - a little rough looking but don't let that scare you. Amazing food! Beyond anything we expected and the staff was friendly and very helpful. We even toured the brewery. That was a lot of fun and informative too. We wanted to splurge one night for dinner and went to the Shilo but that was a huge disappointment - they had to ask us how to mix a Smith & Wesson! Steaks were tough. The only thing good at the Shilo was the sunset. Waterfront - touristy stuff - was great fun. Loved the friendly people and welcome atmosphere! Will definitely go back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy0718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2008

We reserved the full suite so that our son could be in one room, we have the other and we had use of a kitchen (which we never did use).
The room was clean, but it did have a faint musty odor to it.
We were on the first floor and the north side of the building and the view left a bit to be desired.
The breakfast offered here was great. A nice selection of items to choose from. Staff was constantly making sure that all items were stocked and fresh.
Indoor pool and spa were great. Facility even has onsite laundry.
Overall this was very comfortable place to relax and re-coup from the day of adventures.

  • Liked — Onsite breakfast
  • Disliked — King suite room had a funny musty smell
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank paintlover70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

We booked a smoking room on the LQ web site six weeks prior to the trip and got a room and price guarantee. When we arrived at 5:30 pm we discovered they had given our room to another traveleler and only had a non smoking room available. Also, the room they were offering was was not ready .The person at the front desk acted like there was no problem and these things just happen. We showed her a printed copy of the confirmatiom for a smoking room but she was unfazed.Finally she got the manager involved and the manager admitted that there seemed to be a communication problem between the local hptel and LQ and comped the room which we told her was not the solution but she said it was the best she could do.We have traveled extensively around the U.S. and have never encountered this problem prior to this.I must say, however that the hotel was very clean and fresh.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank 1122011o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland, CA
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2008

La Quinta helped us relax and put our feet up after long days on the beach and our jaunts to local attractions. The Breakfast they served was above average. My kids loved the choices they offered. They had a nice variety of breads, cereals, fruit and you could even make your own waffles.
Our kids, 7 and 4 especially enjoyed the indoor pool area with spa that had huge glass windows that looked out upon the pines. We would recommend this to other families and to anyone wanting a clean room to stay in.

  • Liked — Breakfast Bar
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Photos-Please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2008

We stayed here and I never got around to a review until now.

The hotel is very easy to find, it's right on Highway 101. We picked this hotel since it is pet friendly.

The staff at the hotel were great. We got fresh baked cookies, including one extra for our dog. The hotel has a laundry that was much needed after driving up the coast and getting soaked by a really harsh rain storm in Gold Beach. Our towels for the dog and some of our clothing were in need of washing. A laundry on premise is a good thing when you are close to a beach and have a dog who likes to play in the water.

The wireless internet was not so good, the range of it didn't get to our room. My wife was in the middle of a new job hire and needed to have internet access, so we ended up in the hotel lobby on the laptop which was fine. Comfortable furniture while I read a book, free coffee and another cookie for me, and our dog got to be the hotel greeter while my wife caught up on the paperwork needed.

It would be nice if the hotel would install a signal amplifier for the broadband. That being said, there was a business center with two computers so you could still access the internet or do other tasks that needed a computer.

The room was fine, very clean. There was a small fridge, and microwave, with a kitchen area. The amount of space in the room was actually quite large. The bathroom was clean, and the towels were newer as well. Service for the room was good as well.

The free continental breakfast was the usual easy to prepare foods, but it was well attended to by the staff. No messy countertops or spills on the floor either.

The location of the hotel is convenient to the Aquarium, and a quick drive north of about 1 mile puts you right in the tourist area attractions and restaurants. Access to the beaches is easy as well.

If we are going to be back in Newport, we would stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — large room
  • Disliked — wi fi access was lousy
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dogguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2008

We come to Oregon every 2 years or so, and discovered this hotel back in 2004. This is the 3rd time we've stayed here, and we've never ever had any issues like some of the other reviewers describe. We always request, and get, a top floor room. It has always been quiet, and very well kept-up, with clean rooms and very comfy beds.
The desk clerk on duty this evening recommended a great pizza place to have supper: Pizza Cucina. It's on the main drag, right across from Fred Meyer.
We've never had the break fast here; always sleep in too late, but the eating area looks clean and roomy. If we get breakfast this stay, I'll add another review about that.
Staff was bit more distant back in 2006, but not at all rude. However, the young lady on the desk this evening made up for that. She was most pleasant and chatty, and very helpful.
We're satisfied once again!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katluvr8636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.9 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
820 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Address: 45 Southeast 32nd St, Newport, OR 97366
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#9 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor Swimming Pool open March thru December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Newport Hotel Newport
La Quinta Hotel Newport
La Quinta Newport
Newport La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing