We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, and falling apart.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Let me start off by telling you that we stayed here 2 years ago. If was awesome. It was clean and bright and the employees were awesome.

I think they have done NOTHING for upkeep..
Seriously.
The staff was rude to my husband when we checked in. We got to our room (top floor above the foyer/check in room) and the floor creaked and bounced and you could feel small kids (our own) walking around in the next room. My husband said it felt like he was standing in scaffolding. And. The room was dirty! There was a visible vacuumed area that only went to the bed and that was it. The carpet was a coat of (Dog?) pet hair. And the chair was broken.
We asked to be moved to some different rooms. We were moved but we couldn't have adjoining rooms but were told we would be across the hall from each other. We were not.
The rooms STUNK and they were even more filthy than the first rooms. There, again, was the visible vacuum line. My baby could not sit on the floor because there was actually garbage (small things, but visible) on the floor under the edge of the beds (I mean like RIGHT UNDER THE EDGE)
The elevator.. I think it needs some major work. The wall panels are falling apart. And when riding the elevator DOWN.. It "thunks" down into place roughly.
It's only redeeming value was that the pool was decent.
We will never stay there again. We should have left and stayed elsewhere that night.

Yes I did their "survey" (in the email) and I have not gotten any response from them, nor did I expect to. They let their hotel go to crap.
Sad because, I LOVED our stay there just two years ago. Now we have to find a new place to know and love.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SBLadybug6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 576 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

The desk clerks were friendly and helpful but I got the impression that the hotel was understaffed. The clerk was running back and forth between the desk and the laundry room. Hotel is looking a little worn but it is convenient and served its purpose.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank van3300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The establishment is outdated but clean. A plus is the free internet. If you're someone who really likes breakfast, forego their continental breakfast and go elsewhere--I would rather pay for a good breakfast than partake of the one offered there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Wendy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Our room was very clean and had been recently painted. The staff told us they were in the process of renovating the rooms with their maintenance staff. (We assume carpet will be last, since the carpet in the room and the halls looked like it needed a refresh). We were on the first floor, which made it easy to take our dogs out for their walks. This property is located so close to the Aquarium that you could park your car here and take a 5 minute walk over. It is also within walking distance of Fishtails Cafe (great breakfast) and Brewers on the Bay at the Rogue Brewery. We appreciated the welcome at the front desk when we checked in and the warm choc chip cookies when we returned from dinner. This is the first time we have stayed at a LQ property and we will look for opportunities to stay at others, based on our stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room if you have pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VancouverAndersons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This property was not the best of our many LaQuinta experiences. The staff was friendly and the room was clean and pretty comfortable. However the floors were thin, creaky and uneven. The doors would not close without a loud slam. The hallway carpeting was loose and unsafe. The price was reasonable for a "near the beach" lodging but I would choose another place next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank carmenlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My favorite part of LQ is that they are pet friendly, so the primary reason that I choose LQ over other chains. The Newport Hotel was very nice. A good location, fairly close to the beach and old town. Kind of an average LQ breakfast, but the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Our stay was perfect! Our room was very clean, and from the moment we got to the lobby the staff was friendly. The front desk called shortly after we got to our room to ask if everything was acceptable. When we had to leave after only our first night due to a family emergency, they were accommodating in checking us out swiftly. Definitely #1 for a Hotel as far as we are concerned.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
895 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport

Address: 45 Southeast 32nd St, Newport, OR 97366
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#9 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $83 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor Swimming Pool open March thru December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Newport Hotel Newport
La Quinta Hotel Newport
La Quinta Newport
Newport La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing