We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love This Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    158
    99
    35
    22
See reviews for
243
153
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

La Quinta Inn in Newport had all the basics and a little more. It was very clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The best part was that they allow dogs and cats with no charge (yay!) and were situated just a couple of blocks from delicious home-style diners and fish markets. The Inn is also just a couple of blocks from antique stores and a fudge factory. It's technically in the "aquarium district," which besides an aquarium includes several shops where you can blow your own glass treasures.

The one draw-back is that it's not in the nicest part of Newport and you have to drive over a bridge to get to the heart of town. It's situated right next to the highway. But if you're just looking for an affordable and clean place to stay with your dog - then this place is pretty awesome.

Although I didn't use it - they have a nice indoor pool and hot tub.

Room Tip: Try to be on the top floors facing the bay, as opposed to the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nerea_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed one night in early November at this hotel and overall felt it was an OK choice.

Location: The hotel is not located on the beach, but for the low rate I wouldn't expect it to be. It is well located, however, for the South Beach Marina and for the Oregon Coast Aquarium. There are few restaurants within walking distance, but if you are in Newport you likely have a car anyway. There is a market/deli very nearby that serves excellent primarily fried seafood. We eat there most trips through the area.

Service: Friendly and polite

Amenities: One of the draws for us was the 24 hour pool and hot tub. We were attending a high school football playoff game and knew we wouldn't return to the hotel until after normal pool hours, so the hot tub being open 24 hours was a huge draw - we needed to thaw out after the game. The pool and hottub itself were nice areas. Clean, sufficient size, and a hot tub that was actually hot enough. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel, so I can't speak to the free breakfast.

Room: This is where the hotel's rating suffers. The room was large enough and the beds were comfortable. The room was also quiet enough for us, although I should note that we are not generally light sleepers. The room could use a good paint job, though, as there were scuff marks on the walls, and there were a couple of areas that could use a nice scrub. There was a small amount of mold on the bathroom ceiling. The carpets felt clean, though, and the bedding was clean so we didn't have any qualms about staying in the room. The refrigerator and microwave were useful, worked well, and clean.

Overall, I'd very likely stay at this hotel again if I were just passing through for a night or two, especially since it had a good rate. I would likely look elsewhere if I were looking for a place to stay for a vacation or extended stay, since in that case I would prefer to be on the beach.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BankerLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

spent 2days in lincoln city then 1day in newport got a upgrade to a jacuzzi suite but jacuzzi did not work!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandral342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Honestly I thought this would be a good choice after reading the reviews on all the other hotels in Newport, but definitely not. The outside appearance of this hotel is deceiving. I do have to say the bathroom was very clean. BUT when we pulled the comforter down to get into bed, the sheet covering the comforter fell away and......blood, "other" dried bodily fluids were all over the comforter. Which makes you wonder at all if the sheets covering the bed had even been washed recently.
Breakfast is for those that do not choose to eat wisely as it is sugar laden cereals, canned gravy, hard biscuits, etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chocoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Pretty new hotel very close (walking distance) to the Oregon Coast Aquarium. Inside corridors. The beds were fine. The room has a microwave and a refrigerator.

It was a good deal because I finally had some La Quinta points that had not expired and that were enough to get the room price down to $30.

I did laundry here and the dryer took a very long time to dry the clothes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GatorFanCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Dogs and more dogs! If you need to board yourself and your pet this is the place! We would have liked to have been on a non pet floor but when you use your points ... Probably no choice?! Clean room. Friendly staff. Overall nice Hotel. Comfy bed and nice linens.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubyslipper54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.9 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
823 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Address: 45 Southeast 32nd St, Newport, OR 97366
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#9 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor Swimming Pool open March thru December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Newport Hotel Newport
La Quinta Hotel Newport
La Quinta Newport
Newport La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing