We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopping place on the I-5”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is a liitle out of the way from downtown activities but right off the freeway, we use it frequenty on trips to California from Washington. Rooms are always comfortable and breakfast very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 432judyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

432judyB,

I think that you have wrote your review for the wrong property as we are not close to I-5. I would love to hear about our property if you stayed with us. Thank you,
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

982 - 988 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

Everything was excellent! You could not ask for a better place to stay!! The Bed's were amazing, the Ocean view was awesome, access to the Beach easy. It was Great! The Staff was friendly and helpful, the Restraunt had good quality food, at a reasonable price. We would stay again, and refer our Friend's and Family!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Darlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Darlene W,

Your review put a smile on my face. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here and will recommend to your friends and family. Thank you taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The property was quite comfortable. I only had a couple of issues which were not restricted to this hotel but practiced by most, i.e. paper coffee cups, plastic water glasses and 14' high toilets. Otherwise the location is great and the overall experience was relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Rick S,

We have gone to pre wrapped cups and glasses for a sanitary reason, Even though we have a dishwasher just for lodging room glasses due to all the TV shows that show how the maids clean the glasses guests are always leery, We do however upon request always will send ceramic and glasses to your room. Never hesitate to ask. I appreciate your comments.

Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Internet cut out a lot - we found this in most places along the Oregon coast though. Staff were friendly. Restaurant seemed unorganized, though the wait staff were friendly. The rooms could use more spaces to hang towels - we reuse ours when we stay more than a night but this is hard when you can't get them dry. Overall, we had a good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Shawn M,

Your comments are very helpful. I am very sorry about the internet. I am not sure why that was happening. I do hope you will come stay with us again. Thank you for your review.
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We only spent one night here as we were on our way elsewhere, but it was a wonderful choice. The motel sits right on the beach with beautiful views, and walkway to beach. Our room was clean and my husband woke up saying, "these have been the most comfortable beds" on our 3 week vacation. We had dinner in the Starfish Restaurant on site and it was delicious, but slightly pricey. Overall good experience and would definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Kinneyvacations,

Thank you so much for your review. I am happy that you and your husband had a restful nights stay with us. Bed are such a personal preference. I hope that next time you will be able to stay with us longer.
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Staff is friendly, room is what you expect at best western. Great location within walk of the beach. The parking lot is a little odd in that you have to drive up around back. Nothing happened, but I preparer parking closer to the rooms in case an alarm goes off.

Room Tip: Face the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KJRKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

KJRKM,

I am very pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us. I agree our parking is a bit odd but seems to work for most. We do have surveillance camera's in the parking lot! I do hope you will come stay with us again. Thank you for your review.
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Just returned from a family vacation in Newport and the the Agate beach Inn. This hotel is just a short walk across a small road down to the beach. It consists of six floors. We were on the sixth floor. The rooms either face the beach or the hill side. We had selected the hillside view, due to cost, and it was still beautiful. We were able to walk out to the elevator hallway and look at the beach. Every room has a small balcony with a sliding door to let in the nice ocean air. There is no A/C so the option to open the door was great. The beds are very comfortable as well.
The pool and spa were a hit as well.
The only downside is there is not a complimentary breakfast, however we ate breakfast at the Starfish Grill, which is on the premises & they offer a $5.00 breakfast special. I selected that and the other members of my party selected other options. We were able to eat a filling and delicious breakfast for less than $40.00.
This was a great hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on the sixth floor, which is where the parking lot is located. Very quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank meandkids04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Meandkids04,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, You very accurately described it. I hope that you and your family will come stay with us again.
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
1.2 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
925 reviews
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
2 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
2,020 reviews
3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Agate Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Agate Beach Inn

Address: 3019 N Coast Hwy, Newport, OR 97365-1707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $95 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Agate Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms have been recently redecorated and new carpet as of 7/31/2013! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Agate Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Agate Beach Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
Best Western Agate Beach Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing