We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Beaverton, United States
1 review
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

First time staying at this hotel and we will be back, soon. Very family and pet friendly. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Only down side was restaurant did not meet expectations for such a fun hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Kimberly S,

I am so glad to hear that you were pleasantly surprised with your stay, I am so sorry that your dining experience was not as good! I looked through comment cards to see if you had filled one out as I would be interested in know what happened. I appreciate you taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    426
    185
    73
    25
See reviews for
421
471
43
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We decided to pay the extra to get the ocean view and it was worth it. A beautiful view of Yaquina lighthouse and Agate beach. Room was clean and comfortable. I will plan to stay again in the future. Newport is a fun to walk and eat.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Tina T,

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be back. I appreciate you taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

I have used this Motel for 15 years-brfore it was Days Inn and have always been satisfied. It has always been clean, the breakfast is tops and all workers have been very friendly and pleasant. I have business and family in this area and will continue to use this motel unless it deteriorates or becomes less than it is now.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Virgil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Virgil M,

I was very sorry to hear about your dinner in the dining room. Our Chef is aware of this and looking into it! I do hope that you have noticed the upgrades we have done to our rooms in the last couple of years. We will be doing some upgrades in other parts of the hotel as well. I hope you will continue to stay with us for years to come. I appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Washington
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

first the confused is the tiny tiny balcony why bother you cant leave it open since you share it with three other rooms not safe you sure cant sit out there a joke of a balcony. love all the old pictures all over hotel the room was comfortable the view is nice but at a distance your not on the beach aways off of it infact I would give it a three and a half stares

Room Tip: top floor middle if you must have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Kyle M,

I am not sure why when this property was built years ago they only put step out balconies. We actually do not advertise that we have them for that reason. I also wish that we were right on the beach and the walk out to the water was closer. I hope that you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We picked the BW Agate Beach Inn from our AAA Travel Book, and were very pleased with our stay. Our room was on the 5th floor with an ocean view which was beautiful. The room was very nice in size and nicely furnished. We were pleased to be able to open the sliding door to the small balcony and enjoyed leaving it open at night to be able to hear the ocean. We could see the entire beach and all of the way out to the Yaquina Head Lighthouse. We had only planned to stay one night, but after we saw how nice it was we decided to stay for two nights rather than continuing further down the coast. The package we had included breakfast for two for only $10 additional per night, and the breakfast choices were generous and excellent. I used the pool, which is a very nice size for swimming laps, and my wife enjoyed using the exercise room. The reception staff was very pleasant and welcoming. We did have to park in the upper parking area, but luggage carts were readily available when we needed them.

Room Tip: It is definitely worth the additional cost for an ocean view room. The mountain view did not look p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank granddadb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
granddadb,

It is nice to know how you found out about our hotel and that we didn't disappoint you! I am happy to hear that your stay was a really great one and that you were able to enjoy the amenities we have to offer. I do hope when your in the area again that you will come and stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We wanted ocean view since we were traveling with our brother in law, he has some handicaps and needed a room that would accommodate him as well. The hotel was wonderful when we made our reservation and on check-in they offered extra items such as a shower stool etc. Just did all they could to make our stay special. They have a wheelchair elevator to get down to the outside eating area which also has a wonderful view. The hotel restaurant had great food, the clam strips are the best. There is a gift shop in the hotel and Rolan the proprietor gave us excellent suggestions and directions to the lighthouse and other areas with good access for our brother. I used the indoor pool and hot tub the morning we were checking out and the view from that area was fantastic as well, huge area and perfect setting. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank H973ZOlauraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
H973ZOlauraf,

I am so glad to hear that our staff made you feel welcome and went above and beyond to make your stay comfortable for you and your family. I agree with you about the view I never get tired of looking at it! It is nice to hear that you will be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fargo, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

everything was good, except rooms not properly insulated, very noisy, especially at night when other guests flush toilets or have to leave very early in the morning. We like the continental breakfast more than the set menu in the dininig room

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gideon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Gideon M,

I appreciate your review of our hotel. I am very sorry that the rooms were noisy to you! I do hope you will come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.2 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
1.1 mi away
Agate Beach Motel
Agate Beach Motel
#1 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Agate Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Agate Beach Inn

Property: Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Address: 3019 N Coast Hwy, Newport, OR 97365-1707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Agate Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms have been recently redecorated and new carpet as of 7/31/2013! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Agate Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Agate Beach Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
Best Western Agate Beach Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing