We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great escape for the family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We requested ajoining rooms but during check-in, I was told they weren't available; so we managed. But everything else was great. The kids wanted to stay in the pool all day, of course, which was a great size for lots of people to enjoy. The deck outside of the room isn't big enough to sit on but open the doors to feel the ocean breeze and watch the sunset.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 664DavidK664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear 664DavidK664,
I am so sorry that we were not able to give you ajoining rooms, However I am glad to hear that everything else was great for you! I hope you will come stay with again. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,350)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Agate Beach Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,134 - 1,140 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

A one nighter on our way back to Portland from Crater Lake. Very nice location across the street from a very unusual beach. There were about 200 yards of small sand dunes in front of the surf and the wind was blowing the sand like a sand blaster. Even in July it was too cold to venture into the water. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful and rooms were clean. We didn't want to get out, so we ate in the hotel restraint and were well pleased with the quality of food and service. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Surfside room! reserve early
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fufys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Hello Fufys,
I am so glad you found us! We have just recently changed our menu in the restaurant and I think we have done a good job with it! With the rooms new furnishings we have put in the rooms are so nice to sit and enjoy the view. When you are out this way again please come and stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

we travel with our dog and were concerned where our room would be. We had reserved oceanview king and that is what we had on the 6th floor. It was close to the cross over bridge to the parking lot and walking the dog. We knew they were undergoing some upgrading, however our room was one that had been completed. We especially liked they provided a dog sheet to put on top of the bed, even though we always travel with one. For those who complained about the balcony, the online pictures show you the size, it is for standing, drinking whatever and watching the waves. If you have traveled on the coast you will find few hotels with air conditioning, open the door and enjoy the breeze and listen to the waves. On the non-ocean side you overlook the driveway, it is shielded from the highway noise. We did not eat at the lounge or restaurant. Having a microwave, refrigerator and coffee pot in the room is a must for us as we make 3-5 pots of coffee a day (5 cup pots).
if you are going over July 4 expect noise from firecrackers from the beach until late. Our dog was a bit freaked out which is why we did not take him to the waterfront to watch. He will stay home next Jul 4 when we take our Oregon Coast trip and spend a couple of days here.
Housekeeping was very helpful, especially when I left a blouse in the room and they returned by mail.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vkayinno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Hello VKayinno,
I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us! The beach is a noisy place on 4th of July and not the best for pets, We try hard to make sure when our guests leave items in the rooms that we are able to get it back to them. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This was one of only a few available hotel openings/options for a last minute overnight trip.

However, there are a few small areas of concern that ill talk about and it looks like they are doing some remodeling so that make solve all these issues.

Did not get to try any food at the in-house restaurants, but I heard they had a Breakfast offering, $5 for adults and $1 kids (7 and under)

I will list the Pros and Cons

PROS

*Practically right on the BEACH!
*Great Views
*The Pool and Hot Tub were AWESOME!
*The Staff was friendly and helpful
*Mini-fridge and Microwave
*Free Coffee and Fruit in the AM at the beverage bar.
*Small Arcade for kids
*Internet Access with free printing options
*Kids Suite with bunk beds

CONS

**NO AC in room (this was a HUGE disappointment as it was SO HOT in the room)
**The room we got was NOT spacious, nor did it look like room photos that have been advertised, It was cluttered with beat up furniture and there was no walking room in the bed/tv area.
**Furniture was very dated and worn.
**TV service/connection was very fuzzy, we could hardly get a channel to come in clear. Thankfully we brought the WII so we could stream Netflix
**Hillside/Forest View was actually parking lot
**The walls are paperthin, could hear every toss and turn of the neighbors and sleeping at night did not work out too well.

Since we were only here for The Beach, I wasn't too disappointed. Hopefully though, all the upgrades make this place go from good to GREAT!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank created4thecreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

created4thecreator,

I appreciate your review, Unfortunately you were not in one of our standard size rooms if you were in the kids suite I can see why you did not have that much room do to the bunk beds and separate area for the kids makes this room seem very small. The pictures on line are of our standard rooms. I appreciate you writing the pros and cons, We have been getting some new furnishings and we are changing our TV service to satellite but it still should not have been fuzzy, Did you call the desk to have maintenance take a look at it? I appreciate you taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just a one night stay on Saturday June 29, 2013. We made our reservation months in advance, even had a comformation number and paperwork showing our reservation, but when we arrived at the hotel, they had no record of us. They had one room left, a parking lot view. The hotel has no air conditioning and the upper rooms are HOT. They supplied us with a fan, but it did little to cool the room. The food was very good in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bvbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

bybarr,

I am so sorry about your reservation, I just looked to see what happened and I found your reservation so I do not know what happened. I do apologize! I do hope that you will give us another chance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel several times. Best rooms are on the 6th floor with the ocean view, but ocean view rooms cost more. This time we noticed more wear on the chairs, not clean and even some left over food on one of the chair arms. Also found a long blond hair in the chair. The rooms are nice but the balcony is really small. Standing room only! The front desk service was acceptable but had to wait thru a couple phone calls to check in. Breakfast is not included in the room rate but is available at an additional charge. We never ate at the hotel so not sure how good the food is. Rack for the towels in the bathroom was hanging off the wall and never repaired in the 3 days we stayed there. I have stayed at a lot of nicer Best Western Hotels. We actually stayed there this time because the other hotels were full. This hotel is ok but not our first choice in Newport, OR.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 32street
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

32Street,

I appreciate your review, As I mentioned in your survey we are in process of putting in new chair however even if you had an old chair it should have been clean. I do hope you will come back and give us another try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just a two night stay during Fourth of July weekend. Definitely recommend the ocean view rooms. the view is spectacular of the ocean and the lighthouse. A very narrow balcony, but enough to stand and drink morning coffee. We left the sliding glass door open all night to listen to the ocean and get fresh air. The room was great. Bathroom and sink are together, so hard to multi task with two people, but it's minor. Great stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the ocean view if you can.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palousesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at Best Western Agate Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Palousesher,

Sound like you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the view! Which I agree is so pretty! I always recommend the ocean view when it is available as it is so nice to be able to sit and watch the waves! I hope you will stay with us next time you are in town! Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,056 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.2 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,857 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Agate Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Agate Beach Inn

Address: 3019 North Coast Highway, Newport, OR 97365-1707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $126 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Agate Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms have been recently redecorated and new carpet as of 7/31/2013! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Agate Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Agate Beach Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
Best Western Agate Beach Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing