We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We extended our one night stay to five nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
“We extended our one night stay to five nights”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

After reading previous reviews I was somewhat apprehensive about our upcoming stay; however, it was one of the most pleasant hotel stays we have experienced. Our ocean view room was large, comfortable and included both a microwave and fridge. The room was set up so that the chairs could easily be turned to allow you to enjoy a glass of wine in your room while simultaneously enjoying the sights and sounds of the ocean. The location was near numerous restaurants and even a Wal Mart; however,some of the best food we had was from the hotel restaurant. Both quality and service was much above standard hotel restaurant fare. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArkansasTraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    429
    186
    75
    26
See reviews for
426
479
44
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Stayed there for a night on the way down Highway 101 to San Francisco. The rooms are very outdated (cheap cadet inwall heater took hours to reach decent temperature), had old TV's and the quality of signal was bad in kids room but ok in ours. Got a rude person taking room service orders but the food was fine and so was who delivered it, although very limited dinner menu. Felt in general it was too expensive for the level of quality, that is why the low value score. Otherwise I think still the best bet for the location.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oregonwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Hotel has excellent location just a short walk to the beach. We walked there with our 3 year old just fine. Fairly expensive, but seemed worth it for the location. Restaurant was great but pricey. Clean hotel and rooms, would definitely recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mck444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

The nightly rates listed in the AAA guidebook for this hotel specify a decrease beginning on 9/16 in 2010. Upon our Tuesday evening (walk-in) arrival in late September, we were quoted the higher, summer rate. When asked about the published AAA rate we were told "We're not doing that until 9/30 this year."

I would have had no problem with a response such as "We've filled all our AAA rate eligible rooms for tonight," but a blanket refusal to honor for a two week period a BW-defined rate for BW-selected dates is, to my way of thinking, unacceptable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank TheAmelians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

This hotel is located at the North end of town, a good 10 minute drive from the town, river and aquarium. It is a larger, 6 storey building, overlooking a beach and away from Route 101.

Our room was a nice size, with good amenities including fridge and wifi. We paid a little extra to get a sea/beach view, and were lucky to get one with a straight line view out down the small valley. I suspect that those at the ends of building wouldn't get such a good sea view. There was no included breakfast, and we didn't eat there.

The beach is below the hotel, with steps down from the ground floor, then across a small road to a very wide beach. Its more a beach for exploring, than relaxing on.

For us, there were two key positives. Firstly, the pool. Its big, well maintained and not cold. There was also a jacuzzi (once you found the on button half way along the wall!) - lovely.

The second positive was a pool table in the (quiet) bar - unexpected, but welcome.

Overall, the rate we paid was a little on the high side compared to some other places we stayed despite a midweek discount. If you want to swim, then this is the place, otherwise this felt a little average, and I suspect that there are better options.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodastephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

It was okay. I think this was another Best Western with the shower head mounted way up high. Management couldn't be bothered to give us a room with a view. The walk to the beach is down a long, steep drive, then across a road, then across a long expanse of sand. Stayed here on August 13th -- our 3rd BW on this particular trip out west and BW still hasn't been able to send us our coupon for a free night. With so much competition in the hospitality industry, you'd think BW would try to be more of a "CAN do" company.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shetravelsherenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

The wife and I travelled from Vancouver BC, down along the Oregon Coast to Florence. We decided to spend a night in Newport and figured a Best Western would be a safe bet. Wow, were we wrong. The hotel is situated in a beautiful spot, very close to the beach and has wonderful views of the beach and lighthouse off in the distance. That's where the praise ends. Although friendly, the front desk staff seemed a tad incompetent, sending us to a "beach view room" on the wrong side of the hotel (with a hillside view), then upon marching back to the desk and rectifying the mistake, discovered that our room keys wouldn't work. Back to the front desk again. That's not really how you want to spend the first 20 minutes at a hotel when you're feeling tired and worn down.

The rooms were outdated, worn and terribly cramped. The bathroom was so small... We were shocked. It was poorly appointed and a true disappointment. The included WiFi signal was very weak and kept dropping out.
This hotel doesn't offer complimentary breakfast either. The breakfast service in the restaraunt downstairs was terrible. Our waitress had forgotten about us in the rush of the breakfast service and then nearly dropped two jugs of ice water on my wife.... It was close! As she took away the dishes, she dropped a butter knife on my wife's lap. It was unbelievable... We've never experienced such a disastrous dining experience. To top it off, the food was mediocre at best.

I can't recommend this hotel as it desperately needs a renovation and some better staff. As far as Best Westerns go, this one is lousy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ethan_from_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.7 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.2 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
1.1 mi away
Agate Beach Motel
Agate Beach Motel
#1 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Agate Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Agate Beach Inn

Property: Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Address: 3019 North Coast Highway, Newport, OR 97365-1707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Agate Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms have been recently redecorated and new carpet as of 7/31/2013! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Agate Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Agate Beach Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
Best Western Agate Beach Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing