We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and FREE”

Hatfield Marine Science Center
Ranked #2 of 50 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A series of informative exhibits at the Hatfield Marine Science Center gives visitors a glimpse of hot topics in contemporary marine science research.
Rapids City, IL
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing and FREE”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Most people when they go to see an aquarium in Newport go to the Oregon Coast Aquarium, which is excellent, but expensive. In contrast, this science center, run by Oregon state University, is free (donations requested).

Do not miss the Octopus just inside the main door. If you get there early enough, you can see the feeding. I think that's at 10am. The touch station for the tidal pool is also excellent. This is more hands on than the paid museum.

The other thing about the science center is that it involves more than just tanks of fish. There are exhibits on how the scientists study ocean changes, meteorology, seismology, and ecology. The fish are just as cool as the OCA, but the tanks are a bit smaller (no sharks or underwater tubes like at OCA).

this is one of the best, low cost attractions in the US. Period.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank cpschneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    147
    29
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great place to learn a bit about the ocean”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We took the kids here last summer while on a 2 week trip up the coast from Cal. OSU has s=done a great job with the interactive displays my kids especially enjoyed the touch pond. ANd even better its FREE!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank griffids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Most people just stop at the Oregon Aquarium next door. But, if you expand your sight-seeing by just about an hour, you can stop by the Hatfield Marine Science Center and be truly glad you did. You get some personalized attention there, answering many of your questions about marine life and the area in general. For years, we took our science students there ... not to the aquarium next door ... where they enjoyed working in labs with the center's staff. Great memories. Great bargain ! The center does not replace the aquarium but is a nice finish of the day to the whole learning experience !

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CollinsVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Grandkids love it”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have been many times. my mother lived there and was volunteer. The best thing about it is the interactive things about the ocean and sea life, and for sure the volunteers who really encourage the kids. our grandson almost embarrassed us with all his questions. to me it is a must for inquisitive kids.

Have not been real recently, maybe 2 years, but doubt it has dropped in quality

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank phirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A "Must Do" on every trip!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are even remotely interested in the ocean, and all it's complexities, then the Hatfield Marine Science Center is an excellent place to spend an hour, or the day.

There is something for everyone here... from informative movies, to "touching tanks", to incredible museum quality informational displays. My wife and I visit this place at least 3 times a year, because the displays are often changing, and always interesting.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hatfield Marine Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Hatfield Marine Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing