We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Science Museum Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hatfield Marine Science Center

Hatfield Marine Science Center
Ranked #2 of 47 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A series of informative exhibits at the Hatfield Marine Science Center gives visitors a glimpse of hot topics in contemporary marine science research.
Corvallis, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Science Museum Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

This museum was so awesome! You get to touch sea urchins, sea stars, and barnacals. There were lots of other animals to see. My 5 and 8 year olds loved it. We were there for 2 hours and still did not see everything. It was an interactive experience and I can't wait to go back....and my kids can't either.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    130
    22
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crescent City, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“THE PLACE TO VISIT IN NEWPORT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We could have spent all day here. Even better it was free! Great place for adults and or kids.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff3239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

so awesome and educational,and the fee was super affordable,just a 5 dollar donation

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Interactive, advanced view of ocean research”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I spent three hours here so there is a lot to capture one's interest. Some of the material was very technical, but there were interns there to answer questions. Young children (under eight) would not be happy here very long. If nothing else, much of what there is to see would be too high for them. However, they can get a close up view of an octopus and there were a few other things they would enjoy handling. It is a great place for all of us to see what kind of research is being accomplished. Making the research center accessible to the public is expensive but they rely only on donations for this educational side; thus, I would encourage at least a $5 donation per person. Keeping them open to the public is good for young people to be inspired to choose a science career while we oldsters get to see what Oregon's research dollars are paying for. Two of the interactive exhibits I tried were not working.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank fritzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The price is right! And lots to touch and see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had been to the Under Sea Gardens in Newport before. Cute but...
So I was looking for a little more substance and knew this was a OSU lab. The accept donations for entrance..truly donations...your choice.

We spent 4 hours exploring all the cool stuff and animals to see, touch and do. Do some google research on this place in South Beach, OR. It is amazing the stuff they are doing.

A must see for the whole family. Just do it and be generous.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SeaSpOts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hatfield Marine Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Hatfield Marine Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing