We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Kids Suite”
Review of Inn at Nye Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at Nye Beach
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Aloha, Oregon
1 review
“Great Kids Suite”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Our first family vacation took us to Newport and the Inn at Nye Beach. We have a 2 and a 4 year old. We chose the inn at Nye Beach solely because of the kids suite and kids pack. What a fantastic choice we made. We opened the door and quickly realized we had our own hallway inside our room. The boys loved it! Tons of room to run around. We had a friendly seagull that we were able to feed right from our hands. The rooms are right on the beach and nothing impeded the view of the sunsets and ocean. Every room had a dvr player and flat screen tv. There was so much to see and do in Newport that all our drives were short. In fact there were plenty of shops in walking distance. The beach was very windy so not much time to play in the sand. Our last day was the best with no wind however we were all packed up and ready to leave. You also get a 2pm check out time if you get the kids suite or the kids package; I'm not sure which.
Nothing can be perfect however. Before I get to the negatives let me stress they had no bearing on us already reserving the same room for next year and adding an additional night.
The Kids suite is on the second floor (there are three floors) and we assumed that the room below us was a kids suite also. It is not. So the people who were in that room complained to me and the desk that our kids were being noisy. We were upset at first but got over it. we paid good money for our kids suite and we were not going to walk on egg shells. I will say after I found out the room below us was not a kids suite I wondered why. The kids suite should be on the first floor for many obvious reasons.
Another issue was the wifi. They have a code for us to use wifi but service was sketchy at best. The wifi constantly went in and out and I saw many people complaining about it in the office.
The last issue was the dvr player in the kids room of the suite kept playing in black and white plus it was fuzzy.
That's it.
The front desk people, Maids and Maintenance workers were all top notch and super friendly. We can't wait to get back next year. I just hope the negatives are fixed by the time we get there. Surely a year should be enough time, right?

Room Tip: If you have kids, then choose the kids suite and kids package.
See more room tips
Green Features: They use lots of solar power and ask to reuse towels.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    217
    40
    12
    5
See reviews for
217
440
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were very impressed with the room, it was spacious and lovely. Our special instructions were followed perfectly (we asked that all decorations be taken out or placed high up because our toddler like "prettys") The front desk was very helpful and friendly. We also loved how "green" the hotel was. The location was perfect, just a very short walk away to all the little shops on nye beach.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Czechmayt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Arrived a bit early and tried to check in, but the room was not ready. Several people arrived while I waited and their rooms were all ready. Check in time came and went because once the room was clean the cable guy was in there working. Finally, I was given the key and told it was okay to enter the room, which I was pleasantly surprised. We booked the 2 bedroom suite and it was very large with a kitchen, living room, fireplace and a great view of the ocean. The beds were comfortable, but there was only 1 bathroom for a room for 6 people. Overall, it was a nice stay but a bit pricey.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POOKINPORT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2014

For the price of the honeymoon suite we were expecting something that felt special and were hoping for a bit more than just a spacious room with a view. The details of it being a "green" hotel were misleading not only with their made in China furniture but with their snacks available for purchase in the room consisting of Jolly Time microwaveable popcorn and M&Ms. The only thing green in the room was a fake plastic fern on the shelf and the ceiling fan was covered in a layer of thick dust. The bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed the French press coffee in the morning but it didn't make up for the walls being paper thin and the lack of attention to the finer details...the small details that can easily make a place feel more special and like you have gotten the what you paid
for.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannaDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyeBeachManager, General Manager at Inn at Nye Beach, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay in our Honeymoon Suite. I would like to apologize that the room was not to your expectations. It's very disappointing to me that we did not provide you with the best stay and accommodations possible.

It is completely unacceptable for our staff to have missed the dust collection on the room's ceiling fan. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness and attention to details of each of our rooms. I also feel that the issues with noise should have been quickly addressed by our staff had it been brought to our attention.

As for the green practices, we put a great emphasis on sustainability and green operations. Much of this goes on behind the scenes with the day-to-day operations of how the hotel is run. Everything from using recycled building materials during construction, having over 2/3 of the entire hotel's furniture being locally crafted in Oregon, as well as utilizing materials not only renewable from purchase, but also re-used from the former Vikings Cottages that once stood at the site of our hotel.

We also feature a 58 panel solar array on the south facing roofs of the main hotel building, which generate over 16,000 watts of electricity on a sunny day. All amenities (soaps, shampoos, lotions, bathroom tissue, facial tissue, bamboo blended towels, etc.) used in the rooms are green products. Every light fixture on our property features fluorescent and compact fluorescent bulbs.

For the snack baskets we provide for in-room purchase, we wanted to provide items that people would enjoy. We have done a lot of trial and error to find products that people enjoy to snack on and chosen those items to go into these baskets. With that, we understand that still, the items may not be the best choice for everyone.

I feel that we could have done a better job of finding a room that would better suit your needs. We do hope that you decide to give us a try again in the future so that we can give you the stay you wanted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Reservation was made through Booking.com for two nights, and was changed two weeks prior to arrival to arrive a day early and stay a night longer. Confirmation was received from booking.com.
We arrived at the Inn about 6:00 pm to find out the booking.com change had not been received by the Inn. We were lucky there was one room available (though not close to the room type we had booked). We moved to our booked room on the second day (effortlessly, thanks to the Inn Staff). They were able, with some work, to extend our stay in this room for the extra night. The reservation mix ups were handled extremely well - staff were sensitive to our frustration with the error and handled the situation professionally, efficiently and effectively.

As to the Inn, it is a great place to stay when spending time on this part of the Oregon Coast. Ocean view rooms are great - spacious, great western view of the beach, ocean and sunsets, and are clean, bright, with the sound of ocean waves to lull you to sleep. Room amenities are nice, fresh ground coffee for the mornings is wonderful and a fridge is an extra bonus. The water saver shower is the best shower head I've ever encountered - great for waking up! Staff are excellent - friendly and helpful. And the Inn's attention to Eco initiatives and conservation should be an example for other tourism operators. We would highly recommend Inn at Nye Beach, and will definitely stay here again.

One suggestion for the Inn ... Balcony railing design with the adirondack chairs provided don't permit guests to sit on the balcony and enjoy the view - the railings block the view ... You might want to look at changing the railings, or providing higher patio chairs.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms ... 2nd & 3rd floor best. Avoid room 42 - windows open on a parking space, the...
See more room tips
Green Features: Amazing ... Solar power generators, on-demand hot water, heat recovery system on waste water, water saver showers & toilets, in-room power conservation systems,Eco conscious choice on paints, decor, recycling old Reno materials, etc.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Just loved the Inn at Nye Beach. Beautiful views from the room's balcony, and clean and comfortable room itself. Extra nice was the french press and freshly local ground coffee given upon check-in. The breakfast was small, but I loved the fresh baked scones and fresh local seasonal fruits. Beach access and location was ideal. We'd definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WesternTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We loved all the small things like specially ground coffee (French press) and in-room binoculars to look for interesting sights on the ocean. The room was very nicely decorated and comfortable beyond a nice place to sleep.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms have an ocean view, so I don't think you can get a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.3 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
23.3 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
19.9 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Nye Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Nye Beach

Property: Inn at Nye Beach
Address: 729 NW Coast St, Newport, OR 97365-3410 (Formerly The Viking's - Greenstone Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Nye Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Nye Beach specializes in boutique ocean-front lodging in the historic Nye Beach district of Newport, Oregon. Our beautiful new hotel offers breathtaking ocean views with direct beach-access. Choose from a variety of room options offered in our Earth-friendly boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Inn at Nye Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Nye Beach Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing