We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”
Review of Inn at Nye Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Nye Beach
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Tripadvisor reviewers are the best - we booked this hotel during a road trip down the PCH, for a quick 1 night stay along the way. We were looking for somewhere high quality but local and individual, and this place totally nailed it. We booked by phone, and the woman who took our reservation was absolutely lovely. Polite and helpful and gave us some great restaurant tips to boot. Upon arrival, the hotel exceeded our expectations, an absolutely wonderful staff, well maintained property, large, comfortable room and the location can't be beat. Scones and coffee in the morning were an added bonus, but the location was the star! Heading down the stairs to the beach to watch the sunset was perfection. If we return to the area, we will be sure to be back at the Inn at Nye beach!

Room Tip: Because we were only there for one night, we stayed in room 40, which is in a separate building from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingTomato8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    227
    44
    14
    6
See reviews for
232
462
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
95448
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Inn was well located, but I expected to be right on the beach instead of on a bluff overlooking it. Not a problem as the wind was pretty stiff and we were protected a bit higher up. Lovely room, friendly personnel. I would choose this spot again . My only concern is that, once again, families with small children need to be aware that their little ones can be heard by others on floors below them. The Inn compensated me a bit for the inconvenience caused by a careless family.

Room Tip: Stay on a top floor. There is an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judithsaxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I decided to take a kid free trip to Newport to relax a bit and decided to stay here for the first time. The whole place is nicely updated and decorated. When you check in they give you fresh coffee grounds to use in a French press in your room. We didn't end up using it because we had no idea how! The room was by far the cleanest hotel room I have ever seen. Amazing view of the ocean and you can even see the lighthouse to the right. Nice fixtures in the bathroom, super soft towels and robes for your stay. The locations is great. Luckily the weather wasn't bad, so we were able to walk to nearby restaurants and shops. I do have two slight complaints. The first is we requested early check in and we were told someone would call when the room was ready..no one ever called. The second complaint is the noise from the floor above. The other guests were not being rowdy at all but the floor is just creaky. I would suggest requesting a room on the top floor.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband is always a little nervous when I book a boutique hotel that isn't within a chain he recognizes. He was quick to praise this choice, however. What a nice surprise to find a lovely gas gireplace in our sitting area, as well as a balcony with our own visiting sea gull. The beach view, including a lighthouse, was fantastic. My daughter got her 4-mile morning run in on the beach just by walking down the back stairs. Fantastic! The under-hotel parking is tight -- we parked there upon arrival but after venturing out for supper, opted for on-street parking which was available right in front of the hotel. Clean, spacious room in an excellent location. The girl at the desk was very helpful with directions to finding a beach with a possibility of finding agates, and also with finding a family-friendly dinner option. 5 stars!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwstrnTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with three teenagers while en route to San Francisco. Booked a two bedroom suite and queen room. Both overlooked the ocean with fireplaces. Easy check in, gorgeous rooms and views, nothing lacking at all. Highly recommend. If I had to be picky.....the ONLY thing I would ask for would be towels that weren't scratchy! But that's really all I can think of

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cbroo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Really nice hotel, very clean rooms and friendly staff. We had fog so we couldn't enjoy the beach much, but still very glad we stayed here. There are other businesses nearby, including coffee, so this is a nice area of town to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gomez22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I booked the 2BR suite at the Inn at Nye Beach for my parents and aunt and uncle. My parents traveled from Singapore and my aunt and uncle from Australia and they had never been to the coast before. I knew they would be comfortable but I was more than pleasantly pleased when they raved about the hotel and about the room and amenities. They loved the ocean view and the tea/coffee/wine treats. I will definitely be staying at the Inn in the future and I know that when they come back to visit, they will insist on staying there too.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bostonyouremyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,042 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,790 reviews
1.5 mi away
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
#13 of 24 in Newport
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Nye Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Nye Beach

Property: Inn at Nye Beach
Address: 729 NW Coast St, Newport, OR 97365-3410 (Formerly The Viking's - Greenstone Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Nye Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Nye Beach specializes in boutique ocean-front lodging in the historic Nye Beach district of Newport, Oregon. Our beautiful new hotel offers breathtaking ocean views with direct beach-access. Choose from a variety of room options offered in our Earth-friendly boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn at Nye Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Nye Beach Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing