We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new favorite place stay on the Oregon Coast!”
Review of Inn at Nye Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at Nye Beach
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our new favorite place stay on the Oregon Coast!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Inn at Nye Beach. The staff was friendly and helpful, our room was tasteful and clean and the location was terrific. The beach access requires going down (and then back up!) quite a few stairs, but it was good exercise and the beach itself was great. The Inn is just a short walk from the center of the community with lots of shops and restaurants. We loved that we didn't have to rely on our car to get what we needed. The room itself was very comfortable and inviting with some nice touches like a gas fireplace and small balcony with a perfect view of the ocean. We also appreciated all the environmentally friendly features. We would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    217
    40
    12
    5
See reviews for
218
442
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I was never so disappointed. We came for our 40th Anniversary. They put us on the bottom floor and we didn't even get a full view of the ocean because part of the building was in the way. plus the whole room was to dark even with the curtains open. This was going to be our first stay now we will never stay.

Room Tip: when reserving a room call them and say exactly what you want and hope you get it.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyeBeachManager, General Manager at Inn at Nye Beach, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Robyn,

I would like to apologize that the room you had booked through a 3rd party website online was not what you had expected. We are always more than happy to take requests for upper floor rooms and are more than happy to answer any questions that any of our guests may have about their reservations if you call us directly.

We are very sad that you weren't able to stay with us. As our guest's satisfaction is so important to us, we had waived any cancellation fees for you when you at the time you let us know that the room would not work for you. Our preference would have been to move you to a more suitable room, but because it was a sellout weekend for us, we were unable to do so since all of our other rooms were booked.

We also wanted to ensure that your 40th anniversary was still enjoyable so our Front Desk was happy to help in finding alternative accommodations at another property in town. We do hope that you will give us the opportunity in the future to show you the stay that you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
209 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We only stayed one night on our way up the Oregon Coast. It was an amazingly windy day and cold. That being said we were not able to enjoy the beach or sitting outside, let alone our deck. Great view. The room was very nice. We are not french press coffee drinkers, so it was wasted on us. Liked the sustainable aspect of the entire facility. Did not realize continental breakfast was included until it was too late. The hotel does sit up on a hill, so if you are not a walker, be prepared for more then a stroll to go to dinner, or take your car.
Front staff helpful. A little pricey, but not over the top.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinIslanddreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We loved the Inn at Nye Beach.

Beach/weather:

The beach was beautiful - it was so nice to walk down the stairs to the beach for long walks without seeing too many people. I was told that it would be cold there, but I didn't know about the wind. On a seemingly clear sunny day, the windy was that of the worst storm I had ever seen. It was kind of fun walking around in weather like that. Note to travelers: pack a parka, not a bikini!

Room/bed/comfort:

The bed, pillows, and amenities were comfortable in our room. The kitchette/wetbar area needed a little improvement. There is no sink, so you must fill the kettle in the sink in the bathroom - not ideal. They could use a sharp knife, cutting board, and a few extras to make the kitchen area more enjoyable. If you're eating out the whole time, you won't have a problem.

The staff were very friendly, the scones, fruit, cookies, coffee/tea were all nice touches. The free DVD rentals were perfect for staying in and relaxing.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean-view room on the top floor. It can be noisy if you're not on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Wow, we had the Kind Suite on the top floor and it was stunning. We had a small balcony with a view of Nye Beach (although one slight grip was that part of hotel blocked off part of the beach, but there is still more than enough beach to see), a lounge area, kitchen area plus a when you check-in you have a selection of teas or coffees for your room. Plus the bedroom was along a short corridor, ideal if you don’t go to bed at the same time. The hotel is about a 5 minute drive from the Northern Bay front and cost around $6 in a taxi, we went to Rogue so driving wasn’t an option. The hotel also has direct access to the beach (about 100 steps or so). This was our 2nd trip to Newport and if we are fortunate to return again we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davetheaddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This hotel has great sunset views for any clear or partly cloudy day. It is also a well put together structure featuring a number of ecological items like gas fireplace and fans with timers, and special reuse of heat for hot water (which does not affect the guest). They give you great coffee and tea to make in your room (but ask how to open the tea bag dipper or you will have tea floating in your cup). We thought we could walk to the Historic Waterfront from the hotel, but the map doesn't show the high hill and you better use your car. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a beach view room.
See more room tips
Green Features: Everything is brand new and clean. The environmental features make you feel good without affecting the quality of your stay.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

French press coffee in the room. Ocean view balcony. Fireplace. Scones in the lobby in the morning. What more could anyone ask for?
Very quiet except for the relaxing sounds of the ocean and the ever present sea breeze.

Room Tip: The views are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.3 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
23.3 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
19.9 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Nye Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Nye Beach

Property: Inn at Nye Beach
Address: 729 NW Coast St, Newport, OR 97365-3410 (Formerly The Viking's - Greenstone Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Nye Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Nye Beach specializes in boutique ocean-front lodging in the historic Nye Beach district of Newport, Oregon. Our beautiful new hotel offers breathtaking ocean views with direct beach-access. Choose from a variety of room options offered in our Earth-friendly boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Inn at Nye Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Nye Beach Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing