We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very civilized and great value!”
Review of Inn at Nye Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Nye Beach
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Inn at Nye Beach

We were on a driving trip to do the OR Highway 101 route to see the beautiful Pacific Coast scenery. We were doing 5-6 hours a day of driving and Newport OR was at the end of our daily driving enthusiasm. We stopped at a Chevron Station to ask for recommendations.

The Nye Beach area (Turn West at 3rd Ave off Hwy 101) was suggested as an interesting area, and the Inn at Nye Beach was a hotel suggestion. We stopped for a one night stay. Chelsea was at the front desk and was an excellent advocate for the property. (So was Betsy, both ladies are fantastic). We got an ocean-front, 3rd floor room with a King Bed, Balcony, in a beautifully appointed room. The view from the balcony is stunning. Miles of wide flat beach in each direction. There is stair access (111 stairs as my wife says ;)) to the beach.
The rooms are appointed with a coffee press and free coffee from the front office, a fridge, fantastic comfy beds, large bathrooms and everything you need.
We liked the property so much we booked a second night! If you want a very civilized, clean, comfortable and friendly stay, then this is the place. Lots of nice little appointments in the rooms. For the approx $120/night fee it was excellent value for the money.
Note there is no restaurant services in the hotel, but there is multiple nice cafes within 2 blocks for a nice walk for breakfasts and dinners.

Room Tip: Ocean Front, Ocean Front, Ocean Front.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GWMOEPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyeBeachManager, General Manager at Inn at Nye Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

It's great to hear we become a part of your voyage up the west coast! Sometimes the best adventures in life happen when you just drive somewhere and let the road take you to your next destination. I'm so happy that our staff was so accommodating to your needs and made your stay so enjoyable. We certainly hope that your path finds its way back to the Inn at Nye Beach again sometimes soon so we can see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Nye Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 872 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

Spectacular ocean views with easy access to spacious beach. Staff is very helpful and attentive. This is a small cozy Inn nestled in an artsy, casual beach neighborhood that's convenient to restaurants and shops. When I return to Nye Beach/Newport, I will ALWAYS stay here!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our first floor corner room. It was spacious, sunny, gorgeous ocean view with easy access...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anndara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyeBeachManager, General Manager at Inn at Nye Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Nye Beach and our Hotel. As you mentioned, Nye Beach is a wonderful neighborhood in Newport with so much to offer. We can't wait to see you for your next visit and many more in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is not your chain hotel. The street side entry through a patio seating area tells you something is different. Enter the check-in office and discover a welcome bar of coffee, tea, and individual attention at an office desk, not a counter, suggesting a boutique hotel experience.

The one-bedroom suite was spacious and recently updated furnishings and finishes. The bedroom contained two queen beds with quality mattresses and pillows, and a spacious closet. Another closet in the hall between the bedroom and the lounge is also available. The relatively long hallway between the bedroom and the lounge makes for a quiet sleeping area even if others are present in the lounge. The kitchen/hospitality unit provides conveniences for basic breakfast and casual meal preparation, and includes a small refrigerator, microwave, two-burner cooktop, and electric kettle, a necessary appliance for preparing French-press coffee provided at check-in.

The lounge has table seating for four, comfortable chair/sofa seating, and deck chairs for observing beautiful sunsets.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lou N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyeBeachManager, General Manager at Inn at Nye Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

I would like to thank you for your detailed review of the One Bedroom Suite! It's very pleasing to hear that you were able to make such great use of what this suite has to offer. The kitchenette units are a new addition that we felt would make the room much more functional for our guests. We can't wait for your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The only bad thing I could say about this Inn is that I can't get there more often.It is the most comfortable Hotel I have ever stayed in. The views, the great service, the wonderful room, shower and not to mention the bed which is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in.

Room Tip: Any room is great!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pryan_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyeBeachManager, General Manager at Inn at Nye Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

We're absolutely delighted to hear about your wonderful experience at our hotel. Thank you for also pointed out our Green practices. We put a lot of work into ensuring we are doing our part and it's a wonderful accolade to receive this kind of recognition from our guests! We'll be here the next time you are able to make it to the coast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

What more could you want? The Inn at Nye Beach has spotlessly clean, modern, beautifully decorated and appointed rooms. Ours was a beachfront balcony with a killer view. They supply fresh ground coffee for the French press in the room, or offer a variety of loose teas. Staff is very accommodating and pleasant to deal with. This hotel is an eco friendly haven in the midst of historic Nye Beach, within strolling distance of shops and restaurants.
My only suggestion is to beef up the Wi-Fi - it was intermittent at times.
We hope to return for a second visit.

Room Tip: Try to get an oceanfront balcony.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyeBeachManager, General Manager at Inn at Nye Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

It's great to hear that you had such a great time here. I do apologize that we were experiencing spotty Wifi during your stay. We've addressed the issue with our IT department and it has been fixed. We certainly hope you're able to make it back to our area again in the future and look forward to another visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Found this hotel on tripadvisor and I am SO glad we booked a room here. When first entering the hotel it smelled amazing and everything was so clean. This is a very romantic place that's practically on the beach. The shower is wonderful and everything is ecofriendly. This is the best place to stay!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jaime C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyeBeachManager, General Manager at Inn at Nye Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

We're so glad you booked a room with us too, Jaime! We're certainly happy to hear that you had such an amazing time with us. We'll have your room of choice beckoning you and your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a very fine place to stay and we will stay there again. That being said, there are a few little problems that need to be attended to and, if addressed, would warrant an excellent rating. The internet was somewhat unreliable as we were unable to access it a number of times from our room. The problem is with the Wi-Fi connection on the third floor. The beds are a little too soft resulting in some back problems and housekeeping tends to be a bit untrained as they don't always notice what needs to be re-supplied, e.g., toilet tissue. The information book in the rooms is quite outdated. It even bears the former name (Greenstone Inn) and references events which are five years old. This seems a management issue. It would be useful to have tie backs for the bedroom curtains and a few hooks in the hallway would be useful for outdoor clothing. The cooler in the office went kaput during our visit so it was impossible to purchase cold beverages as there was no back up. The room, however, was really great, the check in/out staff were very good and the view, of course, was spectacular. We will look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyeBeachManager, General Manager at Inn at Nye Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

We're really happy you chose to stay with us! I would like to apologize for the issues throughout your stay and assure you that they have been thoroughly addressed. We were having some spotty issues with our Wifi during your stay and have since had our IT department look into the issues and correct them. I was also informed of the housekeeping not restocking your room properly and this has also been addressed with the appropriate staff. It was very unfortunate that our beverage cooler in the lobby decided to give up on us so unexpectedly. The new part was ordered and installed and we're now back up and running with ice cold refreshments. We do look forward to your next stay with us and I assure that all of the issues will no longer present a problem. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,055 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,853 reviews
1.5 mi away
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
#13 of 24 in Newport
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Nye Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Nye Beach

Address: 729 NW Coast St, Newport, OR 97365-3410 (Formerly The Viking's - Greenstone Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $120 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Nye Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Nye Beach specializes in boutique ocean-front lodging in the historic Nye Beach district of Newport, Oregon. Our beautiful new hotel offers breathtaking ocean views with direct beach-access. Choose from a variety of room options offered in our Earth-friendly boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Nye Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Nye Beach Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing