We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restful and Peaceful”
Review of Inn at Nye Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at Nye Beach
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Restful and Peaceful”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Spectacular ocean views with easy access to spacious beach. Staff is very helpful and attentive. This is a small cozy Inn nestled in an artsy, casual beach neighborhood that's convenient to restaurants and shops. When I return to Nye Beach/Newport, I will ALWAYS stay here!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our first floor corner room. It was spacious, sunny, gorgeous ocean view with easy access...
See more room tips
Green Features: We applaud the Inn at Nye Beach's environmentally friendly practice by encouraging guests to thoughtfully choose re-use of linens, towels when staying more than one night.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anndara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyeBeachManager, General Manager at Inn at Nye Beach, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Nye Beach and our Hotel. As you mentioned, Nye Beach is a wonderful neighborhood in Newport with so much to offer. We can't wait to see you for your next visit and many more in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    217
    40
    12
    5
See reviews for
218
442
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is not your chain hotel. The street side entry through a patio seating area tells you something is different. Enter the check-in office and discover a welcome bar of coffee, tea, and individual attention at an office desk, not a counter, suggesting a boutique hotel experience.

The one-bedroom suite was spacious and recently updated furnishings and finishes. The bedroom contained two queen beds with quality mattresses and pillows, and a spacious closet. Another closet in the hall between the bedroom and the lounge is also available. The relatively long hallway between the bedroom and the lounge makes for a quiet sleeping area even if others are present in the lounge. The kitchen/hospitality unit provides conveniences for basic breakfast and casual meal preparation, and includes a small refrigerator, microwave, two-burner cooktop, and electric kettle, a necessary appliance for preparing French-press coffee provided at check-in.

The lounge has table seating for four, comfortable chair/sofa seating, and deck chairs for observing beautiful sunsets.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyeBeachManager, General Manager at Inn at Nye Beach, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
I would like to thank you for your detailed review of the One Bedroom Suite! It's very pleasing to hear that you were able to make such great use of what this suite has to offer. The kitchenette units are a new addition that we felt would make the room much more functional for our guests. We can't wait for your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The only bad thing I could say about this Inn is that I can't get there more often.It is the most comfortable Hotel I have ever stayed in. The views, the great service, the wonderful room, shower and not to mention the bed which is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in.

Room Tip: Any room is great!
See more room tips
Green Features: They have found a way to do it right. The eco friendly practices of the Inn are very fitting on the coast.Everything is very efficiently run ,they have set a fine example on hoe to run a business but care for our environment, this makes all the more an enjoyable stay.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pryan_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyeBeachManager, General Manager at Inn at Nye Beach, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We're absolutely delighted to hear about your wonderful experience at our hotel. Thank you for also pointed out our Green practices. We put a lot of work into ensuring we are doing our part and it's a wonderful accolade to receive this kind of recognition from our guests! We'll be here the next time you are able to make it to the coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

What more could you want? The Inn at Nye Beach has spotlessly clean, modern, beautifully decorated and appointed rooms. Ours was a beachfront balcony with a killer view. They supply fresh ground coffee for the French press in the room, or offer a variety of loose teas. Staff is very accommodating and pleasant to deal with. This hotel is an eco friendly haven in the midst of historic Nye Beach, within strolling distance of shops and restaurants.
My only suggestion is to beef up the Wi-Fi - it was intermittent at times.
We hope to return for a second visit.

Room Tip: Try to get an oceanfront balcony.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally aware and pro-active. Solar power is used, as well as energy friendly water heaters.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyeBeachManager, General Manager at Inn at Nye Beach, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
It's great to hear that you had such a great time here. I do apologize that we were experiencing spotty Wifi during your stay. We've addressed the issue with our IT department and it has been fixed. We certainly hope you're able to make it back to our area again in the future and look forward to another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Found this hotel on tripadvisor and I am SO glad we booked a room here. When first entering the hotel it smelled amazing and everything was so clean. This is a very romantic place that's practically on the beach. The shower is wonderful and everything is ecofriendly. This is the best place to stay!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaime C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyeBeachManager, General Manager at Inn at Nye Beach, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We're so glad you booked a room with us too, Jaime! We're certainly happy to hear that you had such an amazing time with us. We'll have your room of choice beckoning you and your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a very fine place to stay and we will stay there again. That being said, there are a few little problems that need to be attended to and, if addressed, would warrant an excellent rating. The internet was somewhat unreliable as we were unable to access it a number of times from our room. The problem is with the Wi-Fi connection on the third floor. The beds are a little too soft resulting in some back problems and housekeeping tends to be a bit untrained as they don't always notice what needs to be re-supplied, e.g., toilet tissue. The information book in the rooms is quite outdated. It even bears the former name (Greenstone Inn) and references events which are five years old. This seems a management issue. It would be useful to have tie backs for the bedroom curtains and a few hooks in the hallway would be useful for outdoor clothing. The cooler in the office went kaput during our visit so it was impossible to purchase cold beverages as there was no back up. The room, however, was really great, the check in/out staff were very good and the view, of course, was spectacular. We will look forward to our next visit.

Green Features: We do like that the hotel is really attuned to being eco-friendly.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyeBeachManager, General Manager at Inn at Nye Beach, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We're really happy you chose to stay with us! I would like to apologize for the issues throughout your stay and assure you that they have been thoroughly addressed. We were having some spotty issues with our Wifi during your stay and have since had our IT department look into the issues and correct them. I was also informed of the housekeeping not restocking your room properly and this has also been addressed with the appropriate staff. It was very unfortunate that our beverage cooler in the lobby decided to give up on us so unexpectedly. The new part was ordered and installed and we're now back up and running with ice cold refreshments. We do look forward to your next stay with us and I assure that all of the issues will no longer present a problem. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Pluses: eco friendly establishment; quiet room and I am a light sleeper; super roomy jacuzzi tub!; excellent coffee from Portland Roasting Co.; well equipped kitchen area with mini fridge, microwave, hot pot, toaster; amazing eating establishments within short walking distance; choice of off street or on street parking; plenty of blankets & pillows for the very comfortable bed; large selection of DVDs; Wifi access in rooms; larger than usual room; very efficient and friendly staff; right on the beach with chairs to sit on and watch the sunset. The entire stay - 4 days, 3 nights - was wonderful and relaxing.
Minuses: we didn't plan a long enough stay!

Room Tip: We had the Jacuzzi Loft room in the smaller building. Very little street noise, no close neighbors...
See more room tips
Green Features: A recycling container in the room; toiletries that do not support animal testing; choice of clean towels and cloths available every day but we saw no need for that; low flow toilet; built in shower gel, shampoo and conditioner container in shower; eco florescent lights. Excellent!
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.3 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
23.3 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
19.9 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Nye Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Nye Beach

Property: Inn at Nye Beach
Address: 729 NW Coast St, Newport, OR 97365-3410 (Formerly The Viking's - Greenstone Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Nye Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Nye Beach specializes in boutique ocean-front lodging in the historic Nye Beach district of Newport, Oregon. Our beautiful new hotel offers breathtaking ocean views with direct beach-access. Choose from a variety of room options offered in our Earth-friendly boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Inn at Nye Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Nye Beach Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing