We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place on the Ocean”
Review of Inn at Nye Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Nye Beach
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at the Inn for two nights recently and found it to be a fine place. The ocean views are beautiful and the location is excellent. Basically, we find the area between Lincoln City and Yachats to be our favorite "stomping ground" on the Coast, though there are several other great places. But this stretch offers numerous pull outs and picnic areas, great rock formations, a number of excellent art galleries, and some great restaurants. We had a minor problem with the maid's attention to detail, but the management was very attentive to our needs and even knocked a few dollars off the bill in order to make up. Everything was fine. However, one caution: the suites (we stayed in one) which are large, lack a decent sized deck. The king rooms have decks suitable for a couple of chairs, whereas the Suites do not. Otherwise a great place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

775 - 781 of 920 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

2 of 3 nights we had small children running on our heads. I was tearfully disappointed they didn't put an older couple in the upper levels and young children where the would cause less chaos! We had leave early and come back late to be able to watch tv or sit and visit. They wouldn't change because our room because we booked through a third party... Well I wouldn't have found them without the 3rd party. However, our room was beautiful, it's within walking distance of several dining choices, cute shops and a lovely Beach. Lots stairs to access the beach but doable. Next time will ask for an upper
level or stay at Pacific Crest.... Right next door.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank She_Taz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyeBeachManager, General Manager at Inn at Nye Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

I would first like to start by apologizing that your stay was not enjoyable due to the excessive noise of the people above you. Our guests should always receive a wonderful experience from every stay with us and we completely let you down. The noise issue should have been effectively addressed as soon as it was brought to the attention of our staff so that it was no longer impacting the enjoyment of your stay.

Also very concerning to me is the miscommunication by our staff with you regarding your request to move to an upper floor. We would have gladly moved you to an upper floor at your request had a room been available. We do not limit guests to any specific floor due to their method of booking and we generally try to accommodate guests with younger children to lower floors when available. This should have been better explained by our staff when you raised the concern with them regarding the noise.

Please give us a call the next time you are coming to Newport and request to speak with me so that I can personally ensure your booking needs are met and you are more than satisfied with your accommodations. Stephen Davis - General Manager - (541) 265-2477 ext. 752.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Nye Beach is a low key, but elegant district in the Newport area. The Inn Nye Beach is a reasonably priced, comfortable motel with a view of the ocean and a very helpful staff. They were very accommodating for our early arrival.

Room Tip: Room on the upper floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a nice property. Comfortable bed and nice bathroom fixtures. The setting is great for access to the beach and the neighborhood of Nye Beach. The only downer is that the deck railing got in the way of the view. Maybe the railings on the upper floors were at a better height. Otherwise all was fine.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank highdesertbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed here for 3 days - got the 3 nights for price of 2 deal. Everything was top notch. Wonderful comfy bed, great linens, plush robes and towels. The balcony is the best feature. The hotel sits right on a bluff above the beach, so you can sit and watch the waves from there or walk down the stairway onto the sand. I had trouble with my laptop hooking to Wifi, but the friendly staff took care of that and everything else. Coffee press, comfy arm chairs round out the package. This is now our "go-to" place on the Oregon Coast.

Room Tip: Try for 3rd floor for best view and no footsteps on your ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ralph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We absolutely love this INN!! Fresh baked cookies and freshly brewed coffee greet you in the lobby, along with the friendly staff. The location is perfect, the rooms are clean, modern, comfortable and quiet. The VIEWS are amazing!! Oceanfront, wonderful fireplace to relax in front of as you listen and watch the waves. We first visited in November 2013 for two nights , and enjoyed it so much, we returned in February for Valentines day (two nights) and then again the very next week for the Seafood and Wine Festival, staying just one night. Prices are very reasonable, which makes it even easier for us to come back and enjoy the coast for a couple of days at a time. Nye beach is beautiful, great walking beach, kite flying beach..the town around it is great too, lots of little eateries, unique shopping, and a great Irish Pub (Nana's). We're looking forward to our next trip over , very soon!

Room Tip: we loved being up on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sense2sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed s night over valentines weekend. Staff was extremely helpful during check in, helping us choose an amazing dinner restaurant and suggestions for a local pub for after dinner fun.

Our view was amazing and the bed was really comfy .... we even slept in!!

Will definitely stay here again and hopefully more than just one night

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AEntwistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.5 mi away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
1.2 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.3 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,839 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Nye Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Nye Beach

Address: 729 NW Coast St, Newport, OR 97365-3410 (Formerly The Viking's - Greenstone Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $111 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Nye Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Nye Beach specializes in boutique ocean-front lodging in the historic Nye Beach district of Newport, Oregon. Our beautiful new hotel offers breathtaking ocean views with direct beach-access. Choose from a variety of room options offered in our Earth-friendly boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn at Nye Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Nye Beach Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing