We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful room, amazing view!”
Review of Inn at Nye Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at Nye Beach
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
301 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, amazing view!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

The check-in process was easy and the extra personal touch was immediately noticeable. The lady at the front was personable, helpful, and provided us with a great recommendation for dinner.

Our room was a ground floor room with 2 queen beds. The fireplace was such a fun touch. The view and proximity to the beach was just amazing. The beds were comfortable. The room was immaculately clean.

Some sounds from the upstairs rooms were heard a few times, but nothing that disturbed our sleep. If you are a light sleeper, perhaps a top floor room would be a good choice.

The elevator up into the hotel from the below ground level parking was a nice convenience. The parking spaces are on the tight side, so I wouldn't recommend trying to maneuver a larger vehicle down there.

Our only regret was that we were only able to stay one night during our travels along the Oregon coast! I would definitely stay here again next time I'm in the Newport area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLPlovesPE42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    217
    40
    12
    5
See reviews for
218
443
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Snellville, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I checked into the Inn at Nye Beach for one night in early September while on a west coast driving tour. On arrival I immediately regretted that we didn't book for at least a week. The room was a deluxe king studio and was handsomely appointed. From the coffee press to the choice of wine openers, the place settings for two including wine glasses, terry cloth robes and a pair of binoculars on the fireplace mantel for whale or people watching on the beach, the place was wonderful. Excellent value for the price. Paid less than at a comparable Brand hotel for a beach front location. Small town atmosphere, but the down side is most places close up early in the off season. Have to drive back into Newport harbor area for any night life.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandB4750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were absolutely thrilled with this hotel. The warmest of welcomes, fabulous location, stunning location with sweeping views of the ocean, beautiful newly decorated suites, soft colours, thoughtful touches throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite #36 and I believe this is the most beautiful suite in the hotel.
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel has received an award for its environmentally-friendly practices.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marguerite C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Inn at the nye was everything we had hoped for. We had a king room with second floor view of the ocean. All accommodations were top notch. Check in was fast and friendly. Parking underneath the inn was a little tight but really no problem. Great location. Had a little noise from room above.

Room Tip: Second floor king room view of the ocean. Wonderful
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel had solar panels on the roof, also recycle tubs in the room. Read information in the room that they recycle the waste water. Very impressed
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

At first glance, The Inn at Nye Beach looks to be a boutique hotel, certainly their rates promise such an experience. But stay there and one realizes it's all a facade. The walls are incredibly thin and the footsteps from the room above us were pounding. Like the last reviewer, our room was not ready late in the afternoon. The design of the suite placed the sleeping area in back, which cancelled out the seaside sounds that I came to the coast to enjoy.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank artnouveauian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyeBeachManager, Manager at Inn at Nye Beach, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
I appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention. We want to create a unique hotel experience for our guests that is unparalleled in the hotel industry. Our vision is to avoid the "cookie cutter" cliche and give our guests a reason to keep coming back. I'm very disappointed that we fell short with your experience and I would like to sincerely apologize.

There is no excuse for your room not being ready by 4pm. When we explain to our guests that check-in time is 4pm, it is our responsibility to ensure that each one of you are able to check-in at that time. I am taking steps with our housekeeping department to ensure that this is addressed to alleviate future concerns.

I would also like to apologize that you experienced excessive noise during your stay. Usually noise has not been an issue raised by many guests and when this is brought to our staff's attention, a prompt response and solution should have been given. We have a variety of room options that may better suit your needs, including studio units that place your bed(s) in the main room for that "ocean sound" you're looking for.

We do hope that you give us a try the next time you are in the Newport area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

From booking to checkout the Inn at Nye Beach delivered. When booking we asked about the ocean view and we promptly received an email with a photograph of the lovely view from the room we had booked. Upon arrival, we ended up with a room upgrade to a higher floor. Very nice. Clean. Spacious. We liked the little extras. A French press in the room with freshly ground local coffee. A fireplace. Balcony. Kitchen. Binoculars, movies, etc for guest use. Easy access to the beach and short walk to a quaint cafe with great breakfast and lunch menu. Newly renovated with covered parking for guests. Easy drive to fun sightseeing and wine tastings.

Room Tip: We loved the tw BR suite on 3rd floor, but views are good from first floor as well.
See more room tips
Green Features: We found most places in Oregon to be very eco-friendly.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin
Level Contributor
259 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We got the "Partial View Double Queen Studio" strangely named because there's only one queen bed. The photo on the website shows the room. We wanted a ground floor to avoid steps. But it isn't what they advertise as amenities that get you, it's the amenities that are missing!

We arrived at 3PM only to find our room wasn't ready. Check in time isn't given on the website. Check out time isn't on a plaque in the room. Actually, the only information in the room are instructions for the French press, a no smoking warning, and the Gideon Bible. Usually there is a binder with information. Not here. No note pad by the phone either, but then there is no telephone. They have fresh baked cookies, but don't say what the time for them is. The woman at the front desk wasn't forthcoming with the information either.

Again, it's what they don't claim. The other half of the room (that isn't in the photo) has a bare desk (not so much as a desk lamp or any paper) with straight chair, and a small table with two iron backed chairs. There's no relaxing place to sit in the room -- no end chairs or sofa. The TV set is in the far corner. With the seating here you can only watch from bed, something I hate to do because I wear bifocals.

The first floor windows don't have safety stops -- if you have them open there is nothing that prevents someone on the outside from opening it all the way and entering (it is a ground floor room).

They tout their green-ness yet have a massive shower head with a large flow. OK, that's great, but it does go against the theme. The bathroom sink has a faucet that provides a flow of water that offers no pressure to clean off razor blades. The bathroom has a total of five switches, four in a group that are pressed on left and right ends, not up and down, two of the switches are for the exhaust fan and a heater fan -- you can only tell the difference because the heater fan will turn the bathroom into a damp sauna instead of removing the steam. Labels welcome!

There are nice chairs outside to sit on, weather permitting. Our room did not have deck (nor was it advertised to have one). My wife sat out there and read since there was no place comfortable to do so inside.

They've got solar panels on the roof. They didn't provide any information on their environmentally friendly practices. Perhaps not providing the information is in itself environmentally friendly. I've been to other hotels that don't advertise being environmentally friendly that have such things as cutback thermostats (not here) and flow-restrictive shower heads.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyeBeachManager, Manager at Inn at Nye Beach, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property. I would like to apologize that not everything was up to your expectations during your stay. Without feedback from our guests, it would be difficult for us to continue to improve our hotel and maximize the potential we can offer our guests.

You brought up some very good points in your assessment of your stay that are definite areas we can and will improve upon. Check-in time should have been communicated to you better both through the website and by our staff. Our normal check-in time is 4 pm, although sometimes the rooms are ready before this time, which may allow for an earlier check-in. I would also like to apologize there was not more published information in the room. We are working with our directory publisher to have all new information directories for the rooms completed very soon.

After you mentioned the windows do not have safety stops, I have scheduled to have them installed as this is a safety concern. As you mentioned in your review, we are a green hotel. The raindisc shower heads are a low flow shower head to only allows up to 2 gpm flow. Due to their design, the water is spread out over a larger surface which makes it seem like more water is flowing.

You have made some great recommendations for the room that we can incorporate into making the stay more enjoyable for future guests. We will do a better job next time you stay with us to match you to a more suitable room for your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.3 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
23.3 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
19.9 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Nye Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Nye Beach

Property: Inn at Nye Beach
Address: 729 NW Coast St, Newport, OR 97365-3410 (Formerly The Viking's - Greenstone Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Nye Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Nye Beach specializes in boutique ocean-front lodging in the historic Nye Beach district of Newport, Oregon. Our beautiful new hotel offers breathtaking ocean views with direct beach-access. Choose from a variety of room options offered in our Earth-friendly boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Inn at Nye Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Nye Beach Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing