We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms are fair”
Review of Inn at Nye Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Nye Beach
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Inn at Nye Beach has very large rooms, and was clean. It appears to be a relatively new hotel, or updated. However, the management seemed overwhelmed, and we were always stepping over large building upkeep crews and equipment. For a rainy first stay in Newport, we slept well and drove only short distances to amazing seafood. There is no one on the property past 8pm.

Room Tip: we enjoyed a room with a balcony that looked over the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin_TexasNewby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyeBeachManager, Manager at Inn at Nye Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

We are happy you decided to stay with us and you seemed to enjoy the hotel overall. I would like to apologize that the projects interfered with your stay. Since purchasing the hotel in February, we have been undergoing constant upgrades to enhance the guests experience. You happened to catch us at the tail end of one of these upgrades which is why you encountered staff and equipment. As the projects are wrapping up, we hope that the end result is a much more pleasant experience for everyone who graces us with their presence.

I'm also sorry that you felt there wasn't any staff after 8pm, this should have been better communicated to you. During your stay we had someone working at the front desk of the hotel until 2am, though later in the evening may have gone to assist in our laundry room. If this was the case, our friendly guest service staff will routinely check on the front desk and always keeps a phone on them to answer calls. We also have 24 hour assistance for guests on site. By simply dialing "0" on a guest room phone, you will always be connected with a staff member who can assist you.

We do hope that you come back and visit us again in the future. Creating a friendly and enjoyable stay for our guests is our #1 goal and we still feel like we can achieve that for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (931)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

859 - 865 of 931 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent 4 days on along the Oregon coast last week and this was my favorite hotel! Check in staff was friendly and helpful, suggesting a great place for dinner and breakfast. There were fresh baked cookies waiting as well as OR wines to purchase in the lobby. The room was clean, with a great set up, modern, and most of all, a wonderful view of the beach/coast, with a double sliding door and balcony. The Yaquina Head lighthouse could be seen to the north. Nye Beach is a great little find in the touristy Newport. The area has unique shops and restuarants wthin walking distance of the Inn. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emme150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We only stayed one night but I wish we could have stayed longer. Beautiful room, comfy bed, bath-sheet sized towels. Balcony view of beach directly below so we listened to the waves as we went to sleep. The only jarring note was the coffee - they hand you a packet of coffee for the morning as the room has a french press to use - it tasted like it came from a metal container of supermarket coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lglilja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I can't add much to previous reviews as we loved the inn, too! The décor, amenities (large fridge, microwave, coffee press, great assortment of teas and coffees, gas fireplace) and proximity to many walkable restaurants and the beach were beyond compare! It was wonderful! If you are a light sleeper get a room on top as we did have quite a bit of ceiling noise (?kids running around above us?) but regardless - we wish we could have spent a week. Easy parking, too.

Room Tip: Top room likely quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night and I wish we had been able to stay longer. The Inn is wonderful. The rooms are very nicely appointed and exceptionally clean. Loved the view from our balcony. The fireplace is a really nice touch for the cool coastal nights. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roamer9159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is was a beautiful hotel with beautiful views from the private balcony. It is fairly new construction which is a welcome sight in beach properties. The decor is lovely and even has a gas log fireplace. Nice underground parking.

Room Tip: All rooms have an unobstructed view. The hotel is within walking distance to a nice coffee shop for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msmoniebags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you are planning a stay in Newport, this should be the place that you stay. Breathtaking views of the beach and lighthouse, private balcony (try to request a room on the 3rd floor and with ocean view). Great location in town, about a mile to the bayfront. Room and hotel itself updated, clean, upscale but not stuffy. Highly recommend. Environmentally friendly. As a side note: those who are looking for a stop on the Oregon coast, you won't find a better town then Newport. Quaint, awesome bayfront fish markets, tons of seafood restaurants. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraveljunkieHZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.5 mi away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
1.2 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.3 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
23.3 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,863 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Nye Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Nye Beach

Address: 729 NW Coast St, Newport, OR 97365-3410 (Formerly The Viking's - Greenstone Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $129 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Nye Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Nye Beach specializes in boutique ocean-front lodging in the historic Nye Beach district of Newport, Oregon. Our beautiful new hotel offers breathtaking ocean views with direct beach-access. Choose from a variety of room options offered in our Earth-friendly boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Nye Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Nye Beach Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing