We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Inn at Nye Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Nye Beach
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at this Inn. The room was spacious, contemporary in decor, wonderful view of the ocean, quiet, and easy walking distance to the downtown.

Only one complaint is that the chairs on the balcony sit so low that the deck railing blocks the view of the ocean. It was cold and windy on our visit so this was not a big deal for us. But if it had been a nice sunset, I would have been disappointed.

I give service an average rating in that our room was overlooked and not stocked with a coffee creamer. This sounds minor but we were looking forward to having coffee in the morning on our balcony. The front office does not open until 8 am and we are early risers. So my husband had to drive to the main highway and find a Starbucks to get coffee for us since no coffee places were open in town. It spoiled the leisurely morning that we were anticipating.

Mistakes happen so this is minor and I would recommend the hotel. Just be sure to check that all the coffee supplies are in the room before lights out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PasoWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (931)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

866 - 872 of 931 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our family and I stayed here in August 2013, and we were very impressed with this property. Our room was large (almost huge) and spacious (a one-bedroom suite), superb views of the beach, free covered (though not secure) parking and great location (close to the community of Nye Beach and adjacent to the beach itself).

The amenities were modern and I can see that the hotel does an impressive job of meeting high environmental standards.

I do hope that in the future the inn could offer at least a small breakfast as well as a wider selection of complimentary teas and coffees in the room. Also, there was no laundry service available to us (though as I understand it certain parts of the property do have access).

Overall, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benjamin M.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Property was built in 2010 or 11 and the management is new. Nicely done. We had an ocean view room with a small balcony on the 2nd floor. The room was sleek and contemporary, very pleasing. We sat on the balcony, sipping Willamette Valley wine, listening to the sounds of the surf. It was a little annoying that the Adironndike-like chairs on the balcony put our head level directly at the wide board railing, so you had to slump or stand up to see the beach. We just gave up and listened... We suggested that they get suitcase stands, something they need but didn't have yet. So, one was on the floor, one was on the desk.

They give you a measured packet of loose grind coffee or tea in the lobby. Coffee press with hot water kettle in the room was nice, but we would have made more coffee for the two of us if we could have. (Ask for two packets if you like more coffee.) Location was convenient to breakfast and dinner spots just down the hill, a short walk.

The only bump in our stay was that our room was not ready by 5 p.m. due to a photo shoot, which kept the normal cleaning schedule out of sync. The manager gave us an adequate discount on the bill to compensate. The gal at the front desk was clearly mortified and apologetic (and wishing she didn't have to keep telling folks their rooms weren't ready). Fortunately there were couches in the Lobby to park our weary bones until our room was ready. Bottom line is that this was an anomaly and they took care of it nicely.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DenverGal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Nye Beach is an historic oceanfront neighborhood of Newport, Oregon, located a little over a mile from the popular, but busy bayfront. The Inn is on a hill overlooking the ocean two blocks from the neighborhood center and thus close to its restaurants and shops.

It is modern, comfortable, and eco-friendly; e.g., rooftop solar panels provide all the electricity and your room key turns off all but essential power to the room when you leave. Steps at the inn's rear entrance lead to the beach, every room has an ocean view, and the historic Yaquina Head Lighthouse is visible from the Inn.

Our suite has a bedroom at the back and a living area, with sofa, TV, kitchenette, dining table, and gas fireplace, in front. It is clean and modern. There is covered parking beneath the inn, protecting your vehicle from salt air.

Staff is friendly, knowledgable, and accomodating. They treat their guests as friends and give you insider tips on local restaurants if you ask. (No pressure, in other words, and clearly no commission.) They bent over backwards over a small glitch -- a slightly late check-in due to the fact that a photographer was taking new room photos for their website. Minutes after we got into the room, a maintenance person came to the door to repair our bedroom TV. The photographer had unplugged it to hide the wires. We didn't know this, but maintenance did and came to correct the problem before we realized there was one.

The inn offers free coffee and tea both in the room and in the lobby, but there is no breakfast service. Fortunately, a restaurant with great breakfasts is about a block and a half away.

One other small complaint -- the wifi requires frequent reauthorization, causing me to te this review twice. But I did rewrite it, which shows how much we enjoyed our stay. Nye Beach is a better location than the noisy, almost carney atmosphere of the bayfront, and within Nye Beach, with its great nearby restaurants, this is the place to be.

We will return here ... and often.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank pdx_photoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

What a great Inn! Very modern decor. Nice ocean view. Extremely spacious with enough rooms and beds for our large family - at a reasonable price. My only regret was that we arrived late and had to leave the next day for our road trip from CA to WA. I wished I could have stayed a couple of nights. The mini kitchen was useful for breakfast using the microwave. It is not a resort so there is no pool but the ocean is at your feet. I would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoteljunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed one night in the Loft and found it surprisingly convenient; the small kitchenette with dishes, silverware, etc, open room and large bathroom were ideal. While not beach front it did have a view from one of the windows which was lovely to leave open and hear the ocean sounds. We were grateful for the covered parking.

We were however somewhat disappointed with the service, we told the front desk person twice that we have AAA and weren't credited the AAA discount (they are NOT listed on AAA website) and the spring bed felt like it was purchased second and was very uncomfortable. We probably won't be returning.

Room Tip: Don't book through a third party, go directly to their website so you can specifically choose fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeayPay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NyeBeachManager, Manager at Inn at Nye Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear JeayPay,

Although I am happy to hear that you found the room convenient and well stocked, it's very disappointing to me that other aspects of your stay fell short of expectations. I have spoken to our Guest Services Representative who you spoke with about a AAA discount and reviewed your folio and we are showing that the discount was applied and the difference refunded back to your credit card. We do not normally offer discounts during our peak months but we did make an exception for you. I apologize that this was not fully explained to you before you left.

We completely agree that the bed that was in your room was not up to our standards and have replaced the entire bed set with a new king size plush bed. As guest satisfaction is our #1 goal, its very disheartening when any guest leaves less than impressed with our hotel. We hope that you try us again so you can experience what we truly have to offer.

Best regards,

Stephen Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Four women on a tour of OREGON! We were greated most warmly and had free coffee in the large front room. Our suite had a small balcony overlookingthe beach and what a view in all directions. THe suite had TWO large bedrooms with king beds (one room had its own sink!), living room with comfortable pullout couch, lots of chairs and a desk, fireplace and a kitchen. Bathroom was huge, bright and very useful. Staff was amazingly helpul and friendly - I forgot her name but call out thankyou from the "wild old women". PS.The morning coffee was delicious.
Nye Beach was so perfect - loved the beach and dinner at a funky restaurant with great actors (!), view, and of course, great food, try the curry..

Room Tip: Get a floor-through suite, our's was on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rustyswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.5 mi away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
1.2 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.3 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
23.3 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,863 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Nye Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Nye Beach

Address: 729 NW Coast St, Newport, OR 97365-3410 (Formerly The Viking's - Greenstone Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $129 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Nye Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Nye Beach specializes in boutique ocean-front lodging in the historic Nye Beach district of Newport, Oregon. Our beautiful new hotel offers breathtaking ocean views with direct beach-access. Choose from a variety of room options offered in our Earth-friendly boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Inn at Nye Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Nye Beach Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing