We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beds! Very friendly staff! Room was clean; included a fireplace and balcony with an ocean view!”
Review of Inn at Nye Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Nye Beach
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Eastern WA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great beds! Very friendly staff! Room was clean; included a fireplace and balcony with an ocean view!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Not much more to say. Great value. Walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach...will definitely stay here when in Newport. Not a lot of extras (going green), but everything you need. Volumes, literally, of information about the area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    224
    41
    13
    5
See reviews for
224
451
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We first happened upon the Greenstone two years ago while exploring the Oregon coast and decided to stay in the Nye Beach area overnight. We were back again this Fall and the hotel is still just like new. The eco building features are incorporated into very comfortable and immaculate rooms with great ocean views. Our third floor room had a balcony and gas fireplace. A series of steps lead to the beach or there is a more level access down the street if needed. Restaurants, shops and pubs are within easy walking distance and the harbor area is minutes away by car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Beautiful rooms, all with a balcony and an ocean view. Some hotels boast on the beach but this one actually is! Beach access but quite a walk up and down, so, if you can't quite make it there is an access point just down the street that you can walk or drive to. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful. Pool &hot tub on site as well.

Plenty of sights to see, great restaurants, & shopping within easy walking distance. Great places for music & live bands. The harbor is a short drive where there are plenty of activities day and night. Going to Newport? Stay at the Greenstone, you'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here, reserve with confidence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We wandered into Newport without a place to stay. Checked out the bustling bay front and the motel row. We then found ourselves in Nye Beach area and there was the Greenstone. This is a new building, built to eco codes which is wonderfully well appointed and has a phenomenal view of the beach. We had a king room on the 3rd floor and just left the slider to the deck open all the time for ocean breezes and the soothing tidal sounds. The ceilings are high, the room was large, the shower was awesome (no tub, though). There is a gas fireplace that warms the room nearly immediately. We paid a fair price for a great room with phenomenal view at $160. The 10.5% tax was a surprise in Oregon, but that's no fault of the property.
We walked to breakfast at Cafe Stephanie each morning, then walked out onto the beach. The Nye district is a small treasure, the hotel is really great, and we would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: all rooms face the beach, go up for privacy, there is a elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LNandCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed one nigh at the Greenstone Inn, and would definitely stay here again. The Greenstone is associated with some condos in the building next door, but is a brand new building. We had a king room (#23) on the 2nd floor. There's an elevator and free parking below the building, although street parking was plentiful when we were there mid-week in August. The room was spacious and very clean. No tub, but a nice shower. The gas fireplace and 2 armchairs were delightful after a walk on the beach in the fog. Beach access is via a wooden stairway with about 100+ steps.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BallardDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the Greenstone. Our room was very large and was newly renovated. There was a comfortable setting area with a fire place. Having a Fridge and microwave in the room was convient. The best feature was the deck. It gave us a perfect view of the sunset over the ocean. We commend the Greenstone for being incredibly environmentally friendly. There sustainability practices are above and beyond any hotel I have stayed it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank one_tall_martini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We rented a 2 bedroom suite and got room 30- top floor. The views are amazing!! The room is huge!!! Beautifully decorated and centrally located to restaurants and a great spa. Great staff and wonderful low season deals! Came for a girls mid-week crafting getaway, will be back with my husband!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngtravellers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,017 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.3 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
23.3 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
1,663 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Nye Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Nye Beach

Property: Inn at Nye Beach
Address: 729 NW Coast St, Newport, OR 97365-3410 (Formerly The Viking's - Greenstone Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Nye Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Nye Beach specializes in boutique ocean-front lodging in the historic Nye Beach district of Newport, Oregon. Our beautiful new hotel offers breathtaking ocean views with direct beach-access. Choose from a variety of room options offered in our Earth-friendly boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Inn at Nye Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Nye Beach Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing