We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected gem”
Review of Inn at Nye Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Nye Beach
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We happened on to this hotel after the one we reserved Next door turned out to be a bomb. What a lucky find! The Greenstone is a quiet, serene site with fabulous views of the ocean from high atop the bluffs. Sunsets there are spectacular from the room or from the balcony each unit has. There is a huge staircase down to the beach, but if you are not up to it, very user friendly beach access is just a few blocks to the south (well within walking range).

We had a microwave and small fridge which worked well for our short stay, but I would go for the kitchen unit next time as the restaurants within walking range are quite expensive for the
quality of the food.

I would not want a unit on the first floor during the busy season as the garage sits directly beneath and we could hear and feel cars and it was not busy at all so it was not a problem for us.

All in all, the entire experience at the Greenstone from check in through departure was fabulous! We will return again as soon as our schedules allow.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NancyClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Nye Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

858 - 864 of 872 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2011

Our first time at the Greenstone Inn. Just a year old. Outstanding view. All the rooms have a balcony and face the ocean. The rooms are quite large. Big bathrooms with plenty of counterspace. Easy access to the beach and a very short walk to Nye Beach shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Check their website for the floor plan.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrstixSalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We have 2 children (now 22 and 19) and 5 years ago took on caring for my husbands father, so trips alone are unheard of except for a 3 day trip to Vegas for our 10th wedding anniversary. So for our 23rd anniversary we rented room 309 at the Pacific Crest Condos through The Viking. Check in was quick and painless, the room was clean and comfortable, the kitchen was well stocked, this was a smoking room not easy to find in in Oregon anymore, we had the pool and hot tub to ourselves, the room was a short walk to shops and eateries in Nye Beach and the VIEW was outstanding, with a deck that allowed us to enjoy the sights, sounds and smells of the ocean! Sadly our trip was cut short as my father-in-law who was staying in a care facility, suddenly passed away and we had to rush back to Portland in the middle of our first night away. What happened next shocked me, the management was extremely understanding and refunded our unused nights! Thank You! We will be back!

Room Tip: 3 smoking units available! 2 at Pacific Crest and the Nye Beach Suite!!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellych65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed in a third floor condo. Nothing between us and the beach. Great sunsets, loved listening to the surf. Kitchen was adequately stocked. Bedroom bed was good. Futon in living room was hard as a rock. They need room darkening curtains, particularly in the bedroom, were the outside lights are on all night. Ended up putting a blanket over the blinds. Could only get WIFI in the front bedroom (away from the ocean) Management stated they were getting a new router, but had not yet

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank butterflybush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at Viking's Greenstone Inn for 3 days,it was very clean new,and perfect location to walk the long beach,very nice little local rest near by try Mundo cafe for dinner.would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimowasabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed at the Greenstone Inn for the weekend the first weekend in August. We loved almost everything about this property. The location is perfect. Oceanfront with an amazing view and private access to the beach. The room (#10) was immaculate. Two bedrooms and one very spacious bath. The living/dining room was lovely with a view of the ocean and balcony. We would and will stay here again in the future.

Our only concerns were no iron or iron board in the room and no replacement bathroom supplies. Other than those very small issues, everything about this property is PERFECT! You can be guaranteed a comfortable, relaxing time!

Room Tip: Every room has an ocean view! There couldn't be a bad room!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaPellegrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed in a One-Bedroom Suite for 5 nights. It was very nice. It sits above a great, wide sandy beach. The room was very clean and my daughters both said the queen pull out couch was very comfortable as was the king bed in Master Bedroom. We had a 3rd floor corner room, so lots of natual light and vaulted ceilings.

Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Stephanie Cafe was right down the street and we had several good breakfasts there.

I would definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,056 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,855 reviews
1.5 mi away
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
#13 of 24 in Newport
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Nye Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Nye Beach

Address: 729 NW Coast St, Newport, OR 97365-3410 (Formerly The Viking's - Greenstone Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $121 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Nye Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Nye Beach specializes in boutique ocean-front lodging in the historic Nye Beach district of Newport, Oregon. Our beautiful new hotel offers breathtaking ocean views with direct beach-access. Choose from a variety of room options offered in our Earth-friendly boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Nye Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Nye Beach Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing