We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Thing About it Was the Beer in the Refrigerator” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of House of Rogue Bed & Beer

House of Rogue Bed & Beer
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of Rogue Bed & Beer
Ranked #7 of 8 Newport B&B and Inns
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Best Thing About it Was the Beer in the Refrigerator”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed only one night at the House of Rogue Bed & Beer, attracted by the name and the somewhat "funky" nature of the accommodations. I wasn't totally surprised that it wasn't the Waldorf; the price was moderate and there were pictures available on the internet.

I did expect a clean, nice, quiet, comfortable place to get a night's sleep. It wasn't clean (I seriously wonder when the the windows were last washed - certainly not recently), it wasn't nice (very dated and poorly maintained), it certainly wasn't quiet (the neighbor's dog barked until a little after midnight, and the neighbors made lots of noise after that), it was far from comfortable (the mattress probably wasn't comfortable when it was new, and that was a long, long time ago). You sink so far into the couch that you must be touching the floor.

Check in is at the pub downstairs - a painless process, but don't even think about checking in before 4:00 PM - the rooms aren't ready. Even at 5:00 PM the linens were still spinning in the dryer. Parking is not provided - if you're lucky you get a 12 hour space in the lot adjacent to the building. If you're not lucky, you're on your own to find a place.

The pub downstairs rates a lot higher - fun place with lots of very good beer and good people.

Recommend you spend a little more and stay at a nicer, quieter and more comfortable place in or around Newport. Rogue, I suggest you rent the rooms to employees or the homeless people who frequent your outdoor tables and forget about the B&B concept - it's not working.

I like Rogue products and will continue to buy them. However, I certainly won't be returning to the B&B.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BigPyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jonesboro, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed in the one bedroom apartment for 2 nights in August. Not sure what to expect as we'd never been to Oregon and Newport had several interesting accomodations. Very glad we chose this if for nothing else than the chance to brag to friends about staying in a Bed and Beer. The bar and restaurant downstairs have a great staff and excellent food. We were glad that the room seems very soundproofed to both other apartments and the bar downstairs. Be sure to sign up to be a member of Rogue Nation as you get a discount on the room and merchandise. We rented crab rings and there is a dock just across the street where you can set them. Very fun! Wished we'd had an extra day as the charter fishing trips were reasonably priced and all returning with good catches. Enjoyed comparing clam chowders from Rogue, Mo's and the fish market. The one downside of the room, no view of the bay. That's okay with me as I enjoyed watching the activity at the processing plant across the street and the places with views were considerably more expensive. Newport is a real working seaport and I think that makes it all the more interesting. If that's a deal breaker you might try the Sail Inn. It's above a cafe and seemed to have good harbor views.

Room Tip: I believe the two bedroom rooms gives you a small balcony, none with the one bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbaaww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

After finishing my commercial fishing seasons I've always needed a place to unwind for a few days.

From 2005 on I've stayed at two of the upstairs apartments (right side corner and the center of the building) always had a comfortable stay-and of course a lot of fun!
The sampler tray at the pub was a great value, nice to try the different Rogue varieties.
Bed was comfy, clean bathrooms, living area was large for the cost, a nice kitchen with a few beers waiting in the fridge upon arrival and pint glasses to enjoy one of the best-if not the best brewers in the nation.

Another plus is that you can purchase beer for takeaway, still have a few bottles of Old Crusty hanging out here at home in WA state.
Only cons I can think of is availability-I had to make reservations pretty far in advance since there's only 3 units available upstairs so at times it's a cross your fingers and hope there's a vacancy.
The stairs leading up to the rooms can be hairy after a great night out-but not like the narrow/vertical climb in Haarlem NL. so no worries.

Warm hospitality, close to many restaurants, views of the Bay and you can roadtrip along scenic 101 which is great for photography while sitting on a roadside bluff just chilling to nature.

Well recommended.

Room Tip: Contact the property early to reserve a unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night during a recent trip. Although we love Rogue beer and enjoyed touring the brewery, I would not stay here again. The two bedroom apartment was large, but it had a very strong pet odor. It's budget friendly, as mentioned in the other post, so I didn't expect anything luxurious, but the smell of pet urine was too much for me. Most of the apartment, including the bedroom and bathroom were very clean, but some other spots need attention. It was quiet in our unit, and my husband enjoyed the two beers waiting for us in the refrigerator.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JandMTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

The Bed and Beer at the Rogue Public Ale House is a very budget friendly and beer orientated lodging. Located in a fun part of Newport and above the brew pub, it is a central place to explore and taste beer. There are three available "rooms" that are more like apartments. They all contain one or two bedrooms, living rooms, kitchens, and ours had a washer and drier. When we arrived, there were two large and yummy brews waiting for us in the fridge.

The room we stayed in (the Tiki Room) had a "beachy" feel and would have been the perfect place for my buddies if we were on an extended stay during a road trip. Please keep in mind, the accommodations are not very luxurious and you pay for what you get. Since the lodging is located above a brew pub, it can be noisy on the street later in the evening and there is a weird vibration/hum from the kitchen below. We don't recommend this place for anyone who is picky about accommodations or looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HumJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.6 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.0 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Rogue Bed & Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Rogue Bed & Beer

Property: House of Rogue Bed & Beer
Address: 748 SW Bay Blvd, Newport, OR 97365-4836
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
House Of Rogue Bed & Beer Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing