We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Agate Beach Motel
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Newport(Newport)(Great Value!)
$90
$81
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport(Newport)(Great Value!)
$109
La Quinta
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Agate Beach Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
$150
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whaler(Newport)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveler rating
352
65
9
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
352
65
9
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitfull kitchenliving roomoregon coastelectric fireplaceadirondack chairsyaquina headtide poolsbeach accesslocal coffeeamazing locationhome away from homeground coffeethoroughly enjoyed our staylove this placethe staff was friendly and helpfulthe pacific ocean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
393 - 398 of 432 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Great vintage place with friendly staff, clean rooms and views views views! Beautiful :)
We brought our small dog and there were plenty of other dogs visiting.
Thoroughly enjoyed this place. The staff even took our photo so we didn't have to do "one more selfie!"

Stayed: June 2014
Thank GretaAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I'm going to repeat what some other reviewers have said and say that I almost hate to share this place! Such a sweet, vintage-style motel, met our needs perfectly, everything clean and well-organized. Seems to be a well-kept secret so far, though I can't imagine why. The staff were all very friendly and helpful (the cleaning staff in particular were awesome!). We loved having our own kitchen and dog-friendly rooms. There's also a sweet electric fireplace in the cozy living room area. A note: because of a lack of ventilation, there is no cooking of seafood allowed in the rooms. However, the staff were very accommodating and we used the barbeque to cook our seafood dinner. We very much enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eat-2-B-free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I have stayed at the Agate Beach Motel numerous times and absolutely love it! From the moment that you check in, Maggie makes you feel so welcome. The last time I was there, she told us about a great hiking trail . The rooms are all so well done and such attention to detail.
Wouldn't think of staying any where else!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtnestors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We just departed the Agate Beach Motel and I can't wait until we go back. This was our 5th or 6th visit to Newport for the Annual Seafood and Wine Festival. The first year we stayed at the ABM by default. It was all that was available. Now, we wouldn't think to stay anywhere else!
The rooms are smallish but well furnished, quite clean and very comfortable. The kitchenettes are always very well stocked with everything you'd need (utensils, pans & dishes) to whip up a breakfast, snack or supper. Each room has a porch with an incredible view of the ocean. Nothing better than sitting on the porch with a glass of wine and watching a spectacular sunset.
Newport isn't too big so even being located at the north end of town doesn't mean too much driving to get to the sights and attractions of Newport. The ABM is within walking distance of the historic Yaquina Head lighthouse and tide pools. Time your walk for low tide to see the tide pools teeming with life. Go again at high tide to photograph the waves crashing into the rocks.
Maggie and Dave take care of the place and are always helpful with suggestions for dinner or sights to see.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank J_n_G_n_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful motel. Brought my Mom here for her first time. Always wanted to stay here. Great owners ,wonderful cottage feel. Our housekeeper even washed our breakfast dishes one morning. We asked her about it one day while enjoying a beautiful day on our private deck. Her response was your on vacation your not supposed to do dishes. Wonderful I can't say enough. We plan to make this our new getaway at least twice a year. Thanks for a relaxing 5 days!!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews