We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch in Newport, Oregon”

Ocean Bleu at Gino's Fish Market and Cafe
Ranked #8 of 112 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: This was previously known as "Gino's Fish Market."
Halfmoon Bay, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch in Newport, Oregon”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Fresh, well-prepared meals; congenial staff; and a nice enclosed patio where we relaxed with the dog -- he was given treats and a bowl of fresh water. Lunch here was an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lwharton2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    153
    35
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly cooked seafood”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Shrimp cocktail was so fresh and tender, the scallops fish and chips were perfectly cooked. Kids size meal was healthy serving. Strong poor on the glass of wine! Overall good experience and good food. Highly recommend it

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cacbend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maui
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pretty good: same stuff but with a little twist”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Fish and chips good, oysters awesome, seafood stew needs some work. Good news first: netarts bay oysters fresh and sweet tasting served with the traditional ecoutrements of lemon, cocktail sauce and horseradish about 1.50 each. Fish and chips seemed a little spendy at 16 for halibut(or maybe that's the state of our ocean icebox) but were fresh and lightly breaded. Chips were fried sliced potatos which we really liked. Cole slaw was roughly cut(awkward) and vinegar based with cilantro and was a refreshing change from the mayo based sludge seved in other places. The bad news.... the seafood chowder was like a chunky tomato soup with a few flakes of fish. Can't win em all but would go back for the oysters.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swiftee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great seafood!!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

One of the best meals we had in Newport. The staff was friendly and efficient. The food was great. The popcorn shrimp was very crispy and fresh tasting. The clam chowder was very thick and creamy with lots of clams.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Seafood by the Bay”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

While on vacation in Seal Rock, OR (another review), we drove a short distance to Newport looking for a good seafood restaurant. After all, we were next to the ocean, so we thought finding a restaurant with good seafood would be easy. Many serve seafood, but the atmosphere was more "bar type" and that's not what we were looking for. Then we drove down by the bay and walked the length of the area. A restaurant that was recommended to us was closed for remodeling. So we walked back on the other side of the street and came across OceanBleu. What a great find! We loved its small and cosy atmosphere and the food was fantastic. We both had the salmon special with cilantro pesto and asparagus. Delicious! The staff (handsome young men too!) was knowledgeable and attentive even though they were very busy with a full restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GadaboutUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Bleu at Gino's Fish Market and Cafe also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Ocean Bleu at Gino's Fish Market and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing