We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have read the reviews before we went...”

Brewer's on the Bay
Ranked #51 of 111 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Nestled inside the Rogue Ales Brewery, this two story brewpub offers a panoramic view of Yaquina Bay and the marina. You can enjoy the full line of Rogue brews, brewery tours, and 40 taps. Sunday-Thursday:11am to 9pmFriday and Saturday: 11am to 10pm
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Should have read the reviews before we went...”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Googled the menu before we went and decided that we would give Rogue a try. There was a wait so they asked if we wanted to sit in the bar. It was just my wife and I so we agreed. Great! We got seated right away. What we didn't know was that the menu was nothing compared to the menu we saw online. I asked about the fondue and the guy said woah... You haven't been here in a while. No, actually never. The same frequency in which I will probably return. The beers were good but I wouldn't plan on stopping by in hopes for dinner. I ordered a beer sampler and it was good. Ordered my wife a martini with their spirits in it but that never arrived. When I caught the server again, I asked for two glasses of water. He responded with "I have water right down at the end of the bar". That's good. I thought you were the server here. I only say that because of the way he said it to us. The tone was used as it was clearly not his job to get a glass of water for us. He did the same for the table next to us. Food was very slow to come out and overall not a great experience. To many places to eat in Newport to give it another shot.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BigMess99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    52
    38
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Indifferent service, small portion of crab on featured crab entree, 50 cents additional charge for Kobe beef burger? Not worth the walk in, let alone the price. There are many other places to get a cold beer. Try any of them before this one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryVacationer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent selection of ales and good food.”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

This is a brew pub at its best. You walk through the brewery to reach the pub and are greeted with a shot of ale. How could it get better. I like hoppy ales and had two plus the very hoppy, yet very blonde, single malt ale. My side was a smoked salmon Caesar salad. The perfect lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“fun!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had mixed family reviews on the food, the service was great, great atmosphere, good beer, good chili and chicken strips.crab cakes just okay and a little pricey for what you get.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank suse22222222222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon/Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have been here numerous times and always enjoy it. The only downside for us is that it gets very busy and so there is a bit of a wait at times. Other than that, this place is great! They bring you samples of the beer to try, which are always good. Our meals have always been good, but we know we are at a pub and so not expecting gourmet type of meals. There is a play area for kids, and quite a few tables along the window. The main floor has a store where you can buy anything and everything Rogue.


This is a great casual place for good food and beer, and with a great atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mtngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewer's on the Bay also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Brewer's on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing