We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Company”

Captain’s Reel Deep Sea Fishing
Ranked #3 of 9 Tours in Newport
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Captain's Reel Charters provides individual and group trips for deep sea fishing, ocean/bay crabbing, and whale watching. Each season of the year offers unique charters & attractions. Ocean excursions can be close to shore for rock fishing or ocean crabbing. We travel into deep water for Halibut, and troll for Salmon. Our charters can extend up to 100 miles off shore fishing for Albacore Tuna.
Oregon, United States
1 review
“Good Company”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I'm all about the fish and Capt. Gerald put us on fish. I got three doubles and my limit of Rocks in about an hour. On the trip most people who put for the effort to learn the how to turn short bites into hookups got limits of Rock and a number of people caught Lings as well. A few hiccups in the equipment and such but they were shaking off the winter rust.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lensters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    9
    11
    5
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fantastic day!!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I've been fishing and crabbing with this company quite a few times and have had a blast every time!! All the crews I've been out with were great and the owner is friendly, knowledgeable and honest. In fact, yesterday's trip we wanted to throw out a bunch of crab pots and she let us know the crabbing had not been good and threw in a few pots as we've had to reschedule a few times due to Mother Nature. There was 8 of us and we'd have bought a bunch of pots, but thanks to her honesty and not wanting us to waste a bunch of money we decided to go with two plus the free ones... Thank goodness we listened to her because out of 9 pots that went in there was 6 keepers. I'd highly recommend this place and wouldn't even think of going with any other company in the area!!! :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackiepaulltwoells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Count me in again and again!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My partner and I took a rock fishing charter, and I had the time of my life! I'm the first person in my family to fish in the ocean or to catch a bass, and the entire crew made sure I had a memorable experience from start to finish. Even though one of the families on board was homophobic, none of the crew or Barbara made us feel uncomfortable whatsoever. The fishing was great, a lot of fun, and the captain wasn't happy until we were reeling them in. We were all hitting the bottom and losing gear, but those guys never missed a step or lost the smile on their faces while getting us unstuck, retying our lines, or bringing in 4 fish at a time. There's no mistaking they love what they do, and who wouldn't?! We will be back again and again and again!! (Tuna for SURE!)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_McQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend!!!!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I will not charter with anyone else again. I am a female and usually do these trips alone. Captain's Reel made it easy for me. The office staff are friendly and treat you like family. The boat crew members are fantastic, they treated me with respect and were patient with me as well. When I got back with my catch, the dock crew for cleaning and fileting were just as good. I have been on multiple trips with this company, crabbing, rockfish, tuna..... I have booked 3 trips for this year so far and will likely do more.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dixie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
1 review
“the best i have ever been fishing with”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have been ocean fishing since high school ( 1990 ) and been out with 10 plus charter company's from California to Vancouver island Bc., including about 5 on the Oregon coast until I found Captain's reel. everyone from the ladies in the office to the fish filleters are great! I have been out with Captains more than 10 times and have never had a bad experience. I haven't been fishing with any other charters since my first time I went with Captains. I cant say enough about this wonderful family run company. they have gone over and above what is expected from any charter service many many times. if you have the chance to go out with them do not hesitate. thanks again Captains and look forward to the next trip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain’s Reel Deep Sea Fishing also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Captain’s Reel Deep Sea Fishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing