We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for casual travel short stay.”
Review of Money Saver Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Money Saver Motel
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Newport
BARROW
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good for casual travel short stay.”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Room was clean and comfortable. Good location for most local attractions. Only complaint was the water temperature varied in the morning as other guests evidently took showers at the same time I did. Plenty of parking.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside are a bit quieter as morning traffic on the main road picks up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    25
    11
    4
See reviews for
14
28
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewiston, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My room was clean - it looked as if it has been repainted in the last few months, and the bathroom was spotless, plus the room smelled fine. Drapes and Carpets were clean. Although the bed was worn a little, it's a bed! For the price compared to everything else I called on in the area it was a great value, so I didn't expect it to be the Hilton inside! Plus I was able to get a room on a Saturday night at 6pm in peak summer season with two hours notice for 77 dollars and change. I had called around to other places, most were booked full and this one was full by the time I got there. The only thing I was disappointed with was the wifi wasn't working but I needed to get some sleep anyway so it was not an inconvenience. The Tai restraunt next door was delish!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Horrible does not even begin to describe this place. Bad bed, bad lighting, bad water and bad smell. My wife who is asthmatic could not breath. To the staff's credit they did give us a full refund upon request. Crazy thing is the couple that checked in just before us was checking out just behind us.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The room was clean and staff was friendly but there were 3 big issues:
1. The back of the hotel faces a helicopter landing pad from the local hospital, so if there is an emergency, it's very noisy!
2. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable.
3. The walls were paper thin, so you could hear when your neighbors were having conversations, when they were taking a shower, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lousy - everything was low quality. Bad beds, old bedspreads, bathroom sink was newer but the faucet was too short and you had touch the basin to wash your hands (not hygenic). Wifi:yes. Works:No! There is a sign by the shower that water temperatures may fluctuate - they mean it. Was the room clean? Don't really know due to dad lighting in the room. Outside stairs had bits of carpet on them.

On the plus side, location is right on the 101 highway, the microwave and fridge worked well and the room itself was midsized (but well worn).
I paid 88 for Saturday night - not cheap. The owners saved the money, not me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

So here is the deal with this place: its a cheap motel and as such, you aren't going to get everything you want in a nice, $140+ per night hotel.

The Good: The room was big, the staff were pleasant, and the housekeepers were fast, efficient, and careful in how they cleaned the room, making sure not to tamper with anything or take any stuff. The area seemed safe, I didn't notice any ruffians in the area and the sound from other rooms around you was minimal.

The Bad: The beds were uncomfortable, the location is wedged between the Oregon Coast Highway and a busy hospital helipad that gets most of its traffic during the night, and the WiFi did not work, although I cannot say for sure if this is a problem with my computer or the Wireless router.

The Bottom Line: If you're only in Newport for one or two nights, like my Girlfriend and I were, and you want to spend your money on things other than a place to lay your head, then this is a good choice for you. But if you are coming to relax and get away and just lounge around in a bath robe I suggest you look for other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Value for money = .. keeping night stays at motels "cheap " = "Money Saver Motel" in New Port Oregon - we would recommend to stay here.

$55.25 including tax

This Motel place we stayed with, has a BIGGER room, & NOT a matchbox sized room!

It was good to have a fridge, micro wave, & a big TV,

The room was welcoming - bright - had a painting on the wall, comfy bed, a small fridge for our snacks & drinks to keep cold, a clock & very clean!

Bed was comfy.

Plus the motel had laundry & working ice maker which is necessary in HOT weather!

They provide free Wi-Fi.

Parking - They had ample of room to park.

It is obvious this is NOT the top of the line as motels / hotels ... but the previous first night on our trip was terrible so called " resort " .... motel on beach front ...We were thinking oh dear - hope this isn't the sign of things to come! ... but staying at " Money Saver" place made out trip more pleasurable ! .... on our second night!

Room Tip: Money Saver Motel location was easy to find!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waterbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Newport
Travelodge Newport
#14 of 24 in Newport
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#20 of 24 in Newport
141 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Newport OR
Days Inn Newport OR
#15 of 24 in Newport
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#7 of 24 in Newport
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Money Saver Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Money Saver Motel

Property: Money Saver Motel
Address: 861 SW Coast Hwy # 101, Newport, OR 97365-5142
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Money Saver Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Money Saver Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Money Saver Motel Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing