We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Crepes, but long wait”
Review of La Maison

La Maison
Ranked #16 of 112 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious Crepes, but long wait”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We read trip advisor reviews before heading to La Maison for breakfast. Made a reservation for 9am when they opened. It's a cute little house, probably no more than 10 tables.
We were the first ones in the door and got a nice table by the window.

We then inexplicably waited 50 minutes for our breakfast. Yes, we got our fresh-squeezed juice in about 10 minutes. Also got served bananas in cream, which, I guess, comes with an entree at breakfast. We ordered Crepes , they were cooked perfectly , tender, hot and delicious. Our eggs Benedict was strange, the muffin homemade, was heavy. The slice of ham was thick, and the hollandaise was plentiful but not tasty. Eggs cooked perfectly though.
We checked the rest of the tables when we left and except for one other table, no one had their meal yet. Maybe the cook needs to start a bit earlier than right at 9am? We kept wondering, what is taking so long ......
We would go back again just for the Crepes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ruthieklomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    40
    18
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was a fun place to have breakfast. They have a hollandaise menu and it is delicious! Go early, they open at 9 and fill up VERY quickly! Their homemade English Muffins are incredible!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjsymmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice little place with good food”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We dropped in for lunch, short wait for table as it's a small place. Had the turkey salad croissant, yum! Also tried the minestrone soup (was ok, nothing spectacular) and the potato soup which was delicious. Would like to try some of their bread & bakery items some time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurenkb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Beach, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Breakfast - Worth the Wait”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Waited over an hour for a table but it's so worth the wait.

Tip from locals ...reservations not taken day of ... Must make prior reservations the night before at least not the day you want to eat. We arrived when doors opened and still waited. Others were seated because they had reservations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeatherRae28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dreaming of their desserts”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We just came to La Maison for a mid afternoon dessert. Even though we came in 15 minutes before they closed, they were very accommodating and super helpful. Everything looked amazing and all 5 desserts we had were delicious! Their cheesecake with caramel and chocolate on the bottom was perfection in a cheesecake. We had the raspberry cream, some kind of chocolate bomb cake, mandarin orange cake and a brownie. Yum!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brinicward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Maison also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to La Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing