We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little place with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Maison

La Maison
Ranked #15 of 109 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice little place with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We dropped in for lunch, short wait for table as it's a small place. Had the turkey salad croissant, yum! Also tried the minestrone soup (was ok, nothing spectacular) and the potato soup which was delicious. Would like to try some of their bread & bakery items some time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurenkb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    39
    17
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gold Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Breakfast - Worth the Wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Waited over an hour for a table but it's so worth the wait.

Tip from locals ...reservations not taken day of ... Must make prior reservations the night before at least not the day you want to eat. We arrived when doors opened and still waited. Others were seated because they had reservations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeatherRae28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
150 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dreaming of their desserts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We just came to La Maison for a mid afternoon dessert. Even though we came in 15 minutes before they closed, they were very accommodating and super helpful. Everything looked amazing and all 5 desserts we had were delicious! Their cheesecake with caramel and chocolate on the bottom was perfection in a cheesecake. We had the raspberry cream, some kind of chocolate bomb cake, mandarin orange cake and a brownie. Yum!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brinicward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had a great lunch - Chicken Cordon Bleu and also the steak. Both were excellent and came with a fantastic potato gratin. Very small (@ 10 tables) so be prepared to wait. Bought a few items from their varied bakery counter - all were outstanding. Can see why it's in the top 5 for Newport

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BLV430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, pastries and coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Overall this place is a nice little spot to have breakfast. I have found with a few visits there, you get standard coastal service (no smile, but not rude) and excellent quality food. We go there for breakfast.

Pros:
- The croissants and the coffee are amazing
- Breakfast food is all very good
- Prices are reasonable

Cons:
- very small dining area, you have to get there first thing if you want a seat.
- service is ok, but not great (this is pretty standard for the Oregon coast)
- no kids menu, but they are flexible on what you can order

We go back every time we visit Newport

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tdh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Maison also viewed

 

Been to La Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing