We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont expect much...”
Review of Newport Bay Motel

Newport Bay Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Newport Bay Motel
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Willers Motel is your basic motel. It was relatively clean...the people were nice..it had a good location to beaches in either direction. The continental breakfast was less than expected. We were told coffee, juice and pastries...ok..that should be fine...it was coffee...juice...and cheese and cracker packs. One day there was fruit...no biggie really. We had a king room with a view of the ocean over the houses behind the hotel. The ocean was about 1/2 mile away but we could hear it fine. There was no power outlet in the bathroom which was weird. All in all it was pretty quiet...basic cable...not bad not great..

Room Tip: IF you do not want a mediocre view of the ocean, dont spend the extra 15 per night for it. Spend the...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyzOregon, Manager at Newport Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Mark, I would like to take a moment to introduce myself , my name is Kelly and along with my husband Steve are currently the new management team for the Willers. Steve and I greatly appreciate your review of our property regarding your stay. Along with your review and reviews from previous guest we will strive to make the necessary changes and/or upgrades to better serve our guest. Again thank you Mark for taking the time of reviewing our property. Steve and I would like for you to stay with us again, should you find yourself passing through Newport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Newport Bay Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 42 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

Weird floor plan lacking in taste but clean. Great light and nice view. Nice owner trying to make the best of badly designed building. Wish the price was less . Quiet inside. Dutch brothers coffee next door. Parking although unsecure as ok. Wifi excellent. I would stay again. Nye beach hard to walk to. Thai food accross the street reasonable and good.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyzOregon, Manager at Newport Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you Tom for your review, it's very important to us as the managers and to our staff that we review and respond to our guest once a review is posted. We are working hard to upgrade and maximize the qualities the property has to offer. Though we are an older property we feel we have some unique qualities that we can expand on and in turn improve the stay of all our guests. Again, we thank you for your review and if you find yourself up this way in the future, we would like to host your stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We did not choose Willer’s, but were sent there from the Knights Inn (The less said about that flophouse, the better.), owned by the same company, after our room there proved to be uninhabitable. This place was no prize, either, but not without its perks. The father and son in the office were accommodating and helpful, too.

Room 20 was spacious, looking more like an apartment than a motel room. With space utilized for a walk-in closet, a smaller closet, a kitchenette and other “non-essentials,” I wondered whether it had once been someone’s actual home. It smelled like dirty socks, but seemed clean enough for such an old place. The 3 beds (a queen, a double and a twin, with the latter two in a separate room) were firm but not rock-hard. The kitchenette was clean and stocked with dishes. The bathroom seemed in good repair with plenty of towels and hot water, but no fan (The tiny window above the bathtub/shower helped, but someone shorter than me would have trouble reaching it.) and soaps so small that they were difficult to use. The north-facing windows had screens, but the south one (with a great view of a drive-through coffee place, but not the ocean) did not and some bugs got in. The wi-fi worked most of the time, which actually topped other places we had stayed.

Had this been the whole story, it would have been reasonably comfortable (especially after escaping the Knights Inn). However, the room’s location allowed every passerby to peek in (many did) while congregating in what was used as the smoking area, with kind folks who just had to share their carcinogenic fumes with us, so the windows were closed most of time, blocking the breeze. The room was supposedly a non-smoking one, but its location brought to mind the old analogy about a “peeing area” in a swimming pool. To top it all, a loud family with 2 screaming, stomping girls moved into the room above us around 9 pm and impersonated an angry herd of elephants for almost 3 hours before calming down, only to provide an encore performance about 6 hours later as they left. Suffice it to say that most of the time spent in the Willer’s was an endurance test, but we still fared better there than we would have at the aforementioned dump. Also, don’t plan on filling up with their take on “continental” breakfast unless you enjoy peanut butter crackers and Tang.

So a great time was not had by all at Willer’s, but the people there did try and I doubt it deserves to be ranked last out of 22 Newport lodgings, especially with the Knights Inn lurking just over a mile to the north. The marquee claims to have rates starting at $39, so if you just want to crash for a few hours, you could probably do worse.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esskayess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The good thing about the motel was that the room was clean and well appointed. Unfortunately, it still needs a lot of upgrading. In the old days, a room like the one we stayed in would have been in the $29 or less range. It reminded me a lot of the Motel 6 chain in that the bed was EXTREMELY firm (not uncomfortable, mind you, but FIRM) and the amenities were minimal. Wifi didn't work, shower was a small stall shower with a curtain that didn't really do the job all that well, TV remote fell apart the minute it was picked up, etc. But if you're tired and you have no other options, there's no reason to be afraid of staying here ... no bugs. The room was very stuffy so we had to open the windows (no ventilation unless you open the hall door too, and who wants to do that?) and because the place is right on Hwy 101, it was noisy with traffic. The folks at the desk are great and are doing the best they can, so no complaints with the staff. If you have a pet and are staying in one of the upstairs rooms, be SURE that you tell them or they will kick you out. But they do accommodate pets, which is a plus. For the price, it isn't much room for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEG O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The room was servicable, although old. Wireless internet only worked on top of the fridge, and somebody was trying to run a spoofing network from somewhere *near* the hotel. The bed was kind of worn out and saggy. TV worked fine. The age of the rooms shows in that if you're a modern traveller (camera charger, 2 cell phone chargers, computer) you'll need a power strip to share out the one unused outlet. No hair drier could be found. The property is old, and in very moderate condition. The manager/desk clerk/security person (I mean the same rather overworked person) was quite polite and very effective, as she would have to be with the madhouse running loose in the parking lot.

The hotel uses old, regular keys, which for me is a very serious security issue. The door didn't fit very well, we had to be a bit forceful to get it to lock at night.

The building needs a lot of work, the parking lot needs a security guard, at least until it cleans up, and the manager deserves a good assistant, preferably one 6'6" tall with muscles.

The security issues (no, nothing was taken, but we were kind of wary) are why I wouldn't go back for a while.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retired_old_jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Mid September of 2011 we pulled into town late there were not alot of places with vacancy signs which should have been our -first clue- but we were tired and hungry so we did not check the room first we opted to find food first because of the late hour .We had a decent dinner at the local chowder house then went to "the room" it was acessable by going thru the garage -second clue- and once inside what a dump.....noisy ....dirty....everything old .My husband and I looked at the reviews and if the new management has made upgrades and improvments it was not apparent.I have worked in Hotel/Convention centers and Newport should be embarassed .This is the worst place i have ever stayed and there is no benefit of the doubt about it.......

Room Tip: choose another place....
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chamber_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I recently stayed here and yes it is an older hotel but was also comfortable. they are doing a lot of work to fix it up. I read the other reviews and have to say that there are no bugs in the rooms, maybe you picked up sand fleas off the beach..I have in the recent past stayed in 2 different rooms. this is very affordable and the Managers were very nice and accomidating the entire week I stayed there this month

Room Tip: If you want a good internet connection make sure you stay in a room close to the office
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenniebear_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#17 of 24 in Newport
145 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Newport
Travelodge Newport
#14 of 24 in Newport
357 reviews
1.0 mi away
Motel 6 Newport
Motel 6 Newport
#19 of 24 in Newport
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Money Saver Motel
Money Saver Motel
#20 of 24 in Newport
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Bay Motel

Address: 754 SW Coast Hwy, Newport, OR 97365-5018
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $75 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Newport Bay Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy everything the Oregon Coast has to offer during your stay at Newport Bay Motel. Our amenities include Free High Speed Internet, Cable TV, Microwaves, Refrigerators, Coffee Makers, and more! Newport Bay Motel is a pet friendly motel in designated rooms. Newport Bay Motel is located at the South end of Newport with close accesses to the beach, shopping, fine dining, golf courses, the Oregon Coast Aquarium, Historic Bay Front, Ripley's Believe it or Not, Undersea Gardens, Rogue Brewery, and many more scenic attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Newport Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Bay Motel Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing