We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hesistant at first, but surprisingly nice”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed May 6, 2010

I was very hesitant about booking at this hotel because of all of the bad reviews. When I got there, though, the front desk worker was extremely nice. Considering that the hotel was very, very inexpensive, I was pleasantly surprised when they gave me an ocean-view room. The view was very nice, and it was enjoyable to see the sunset on the Pacific. The room was very clean, and it appears as though the carpet may have been replaced recently. The room did have an odor, though it smelled more of cleaning supplies. The bed was relatively comfortable. There was no connection to wireless internet during my stay. Overall, I would recommend staying here. If in doubt, just ask to view a room.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gittinsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 148 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2010

We were attracted to the motel because of the advertised "pet friendly" and "ocean view." We only had a sliver of an ocean view over buidlings. The room smelled of animal urine and cigarettes. The floor, chairs, table and bedding were covered in cigarette burns. The mattress was covered in stains! The carpet was also stained and torn. Did I mention how horrible it smelled? When we checked out the staff never even asked how our stay was. I am guessing they knew better...

Worst Part: The very nasty mattress!

Best Part: Leaving!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nopeneveragain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotmama00000, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2010

Hi we wish that you would of let us know about these thing as we are in the middle of replacing carpets.Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

I called the day before to make arrangments to check in at 7am, as we were going to be driving all night after work. Real nice on the phone, promises a 7 am check in. Get there... 7am, it's freezing outside...office closed. I call and someone picks up the reciever, and hangs is up without answering. So I go sit in the car and try again t 8am. Office open but I can't be checked in because owner is not there or that's what I was told by a teenager behind the counter, she says come back at 9am then possibly owner will be back... na by 9am I'll already be checked in somewhere else...thanks for nothing....

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank redneckrodeo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotmama00000, manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2010

Sorry are hotels was full that night we could not get you.Thank you Tiffany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Room smelled of terrible cigarette smoke. Carpet not shamppoed. Blankets on the bed not clean when we arrived in our room. Had to change room twice because of smell. Room was not cleaned once during our three nights there. Had to constantly go into the office in order to get clean towels, soap and shampoo. When leaving to check out, office clerk was on a personal call (looking for other employment by her very loud conversation), ignored us for over 5 minutes. We told her we were checking out, she said "okay." Not a thank you, how was your stay, nothing. The "free breakfast" offered on the website is a joke. No coffee on any of the four mornings we stayed there. A few bagels, cream cheese and some breakfast muffins. When having a mix up with the keys to our rooms, we were blamed for not using the keys right. Woman working in the office constantly smoking outside the office door.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berry1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotmama00000, manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2010

Well i wish that you would give us a chance.Im very sorry about the front desk lady. Dont know about the smell but never had that before..hank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

The room I had had a horrible smell of citris orange. The managements sugguestion was to open up the window, tried that didnt work. Had to sleep with window open all night due to the strong smell with my young grandkids in the room. No place to make coffee but didnt stay long enough to think about it. Stayed one nite got charged for 2 and the managment would not refund the one nite we didnt stay. Completkly ruined our trip, we were out of there as fast as we could move the next morning on our way home. I would never stay nor recommend this hole in the wall hotel to anyone. I guess good rates arent always good customer service, or clean rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachwatcher61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

I had originally booked at the Shilo right on the edge of the water but the Econo Lodge is a couple blocks east and for about $40 less. (Total about $79.) I was given a downstairs room but asked for a top floor room with water view (there are rooftops of duplexes in between you and the water.) $10 more.
No AC but didn't need any. Propped open door to get a cross breeze from ocean side. 3 levels. 2nd is at street level. Downstairs to 1st level. Up one flight to 3rd floor.
Security chain broken on door (room 315.) Semi-enclosed hallway with big windows overlooking 101. Still quite breezy. Small vanity outside bath/toilet. No in-room coffee. Free highspeed. Ask for cable at check in. Poor breakfast, with other people's spills. Manager was standing outside when not checking people in or out.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kitchenchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

We stayed there two years ago and was thrilled with the view and location (2 Blocks from the beach) and the price. We returned this summer to find the management not very helpful with plumbing problems in our tub and the police were there on two separate occassions for irrate person who interviewed there and then two days later for one of the guest in a family dispute. When we complained nicely about our plumbing problems and we were treated as if we created them and we should just get over it. The manager did not know the meaning of customer service. We were made to feel we shoud be happy we have a roof over our head! Not that we were on vacation and using our hard earned money to vacation along the coast! not going back...

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheroadlovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Newport
Travelodge Newport
#14 of 24 in Newport
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
1.9 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Newport OR
Days Inn Newport OR
#15 of 24 in Newport
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#10 of 24 in Newport
369 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waves of Newport
Waves of Newport
#16 of 24 in Newport
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 606 SW Coast Hwy # 101, Newport, OR 97365-5024
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: $58 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOW UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT! Econo Lodge, a Newport hotel near Oregon Coast Aquarium Stay wwithin walking distance of the Oregon coast at the pet-friendly Econo Lodge(R) hotel in Newport, OR, located near the Yaquina Bay Lighthouse and Bayfront District shops. Situated near Highway 101, we offer quick, convenient access to a number of attractions, including: Mariner Square The Wax Works museum Oregon Undersea Gardens Ripley's Believe it or Not! Oregon Coast Aquarium The Chinook Winds Casino and Factory Outlet Mall are a 30-minute drive from the property. A diverse selection of eateries surrounds the premises, including Apple Peddler, Gee's Family, Pip Tide and Moby Dick's. Hotel features and amenities include: Free high-speed Internet access Free continental breakfast Free coffee Free local calls All guest rooms come equipped with a coffee maker, cable television, microwave, refrigerator, desk and wake-up service. Select rooms contain ocean views. Non-smoking rooms are offered. This Econo Lodge hotel cares about the environment and has taken active steps to support green hotel practices. Premier location, plentiful amenities and warm hospitality make the Econo Lodge hotel an ideal choice for travelers in the Newport, OR area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Newport, Oregon
Newport Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing