We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newport Fog”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Newport Fog”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stay at the Econo Lodge frequently annually. This time the weather was foggy, buit very enjoyable. Lots of wonderful pictures. Really like staying at the Econo Lodge because the room accommodations are excellent, the manager at the front desk has excellent customer service, and easy to get to many local doings with great beach access. There is golfing at Agate Beach, great course. Our little dog really likes these trips. Our housekeeper is the greatest. We have lots of friends there as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beaches085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    38
    29
    20
    25
See reviews for
47
47
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The lady at the front desk was very nice and extremely helpful. We asked her for directions to several places. She was more than happy to help us. She even looked stuff up on the computer for us. The parking was pretty bad, though. And pretty tight. The room was clean. We had a smoking room because that was all they had left. I'm not sure how other smoking rooms are at other motels, but the smoke was awful. I know that was probably our fault. But I would suggest they air them out quite a bit before letting other guests stay there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlondePolkaDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I booked this hotel online for a 5 day vacation our family was planning. First of all, do not believe the photos. We booked 2 rooms, they were supposed to each have a Queen Bed, fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. Fridge was broke, beds were Full size with burn holes in the comforters, NO coffee maker, and definitely NOT CLEAN. The room I was in smelled like pot smoke, there was a guy hanging around outside the room who was completely drunk and agressive, there was something reddish brown on the wall behind the chair in the room and there was definitley blood outside on the wall behind the rooms. It was disgusting. We went to a nearby restaurant and started calling around looking for a new hotel. No way were we staying in this place for 5 minutes never mind 5 days. I knew I was going to lose the money for the first night but it was worth it to leave. It felt like an episode out of CSI. The only positive is how understanding the girl at the office was and also how helpful she was when we first checked in. I felt bad that we had to leave her there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennzocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I usually like to avoid the econo lodges because they seem so old. this hotel was definitely a budget motel but we had a clean room with a lovely view of the ocean. Right on the coastal hwy and one block from the beach. I enjoyed looking out the window at the ocean. Loved walking on the beach and Newport was a lovely area. I'll be back. Breakfast was very simple and no dining area but I had some great muffins that I picked up elsewhere and sat in our room with coffee with the sound of the ocean so I was content. Prices on this hotel are definitely reasonable. I would love to go back.
tip: Get yourself some nice muffins at the local supermarket and enjoy with coffee in your room. Open the window and enjoy the smell of the salt air...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irene3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Nice place to stay. Close to the beach. May at the font desk was very nice and professional. The breakfast bar i thought was plentiful. Had fruit, O.J, coffee, muffins, bagels..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We stay at the Econo Lodge three to four times a year in Newport Oregon for at least a full week each time. This is our home away from home. The staff makes our stays relaxing, comfortable, low key and very friendly. The customer service is superior and our needs are handled professionally. The rooms are well maintained and extremely clean. We look forward to our next stay.
Thanks,
Connie and Wanda Kletzer

Room Tip: Easy acces off hwy 101, great ocean views, bkfst
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaches085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

As the name implies. this facility is for the economy minded. The double queen bed room was small, crowded and in need of a little facelift. The bathroom was clean but also small and in need of updating. The facility is located in a good spot and easy to enter and leave with a fairly good size parking lot. The front desk person was very polite and friendly.
If your looking for a place to stay while traveling and need a basic room for the night at a reasonable price (we paid just under $65.00 for the night) this is not the worst place to stay.
It may not be the best but is OK for the price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourist058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeNewport, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are in the process of updating our units, though at the moment we do not have a completion date set. I hope that next time you decide to travel to Newport you will decide to give us another try and see how we have changed. I am glad you had a good experience and hope that you will be more comfortable once we have updated. -- Dawn Cuevas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.9 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Newport
Travelodge Newport
#15 of 24 in Newport
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,017 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#8 of 24 in Newport
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 606 SW Coast Hwy # 101, Newport, OR 97365-5024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOW UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT! Econo Lodge, a Newport hotel near Oregon Coast Aquarium Stay wwithin walking distance of the Oregon coast at the pet-friendly Econo Lodge(R) hotel in Newport, OR, located near the Yaquina Bay Lighthouse and Bayfront District shops. Situated near Highway 101, we offer quick, convenient access to a number of attractions, including: Mariner Square The Wax Works museum Oregon Undersea Gardens Ripley's Believe it or Not! Oregon Coast Aquarium The Chinook Winds Casino and Factory Outlet Mall are a 30-minute drive from the property. A diverse selection of eateries surrounds the premises, including Apple Peddler, Gee's Family, Pip Tide and Moby Dick's. Hotel features and amenities include: Free high-speed Internet access Free continental breakfast Free coffee Free local calls All guest rooms come equipped with a coffee maker, cable television, microwave, refrigerator, desk and wake-up service. Select rooms contain ocean views. Non-smoking rooms are offered. This Econo Lodge hotel cares about the environment and has taken active steps to support green hotel practices. Premier location, plentiful amenities and warm hospitality make the Econo Lodge hotel an ideal choice for travelers in the Newport, OR area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Newport, Oregon
Newport Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing