We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel was very clean and updated and nice. It was quiet, and close to the Aquamarine if that is a destination for you..you could pretty much take a short walk to it. It's not right at the beach, but that is fine for us.
Breakfast was good, pancakes, Cinnamon buns, omelet with cheese, bacon, all the usual good stuff. We stayed two nights and it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_17kisses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

m_17kisses,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Newport. I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your 2 night stay with us! It is always nice to hear what guests are saying about us after they have left. The next time you are in the Newport area we hope that we will continue to be your lodging destination! Our entire staff thanks you for all your kind comments!
Have a wonderful day!
Katrina Curry
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 450 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

It's what I've gotten used to ... quiet, clean, comfortable. Standard Holiday Inn Express breakfast - biscuits, meat, sausage gravy, omelets and an assortment of other breakfast items. I've stayed here twice and have no complaints. Close to downtown.

Room Tip: Room on the backside insulates you from street noise from Highway 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinuxWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

LinuxWizard,
Thank you so much for taking the time to portray your comments about our facility. I am so happy to hear you found out hotel to be clean and comfortable. We strive to provide excellent service to all our guests and we love to hear any feedback from our returning customers.
We look forward to your next stay,
Elizabeth Driebergen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the HIE in Newport, really nice hotel, new, clean, big rooms. The lady at check in (Dawn?) was very nice and helpful, we checked in late like at 10 pm, we were greeted with a smile and courtesy. The room was spacious, great shower with pressure. Breakfast was nice, and kept full. The check out gentlemen was also very professional and helpful. This hotel is nice and new. We stayed at La Quinta last time, and the Holiday Inn Express is much much better.thank you for a great stay!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank been_hereYT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

been_hereYT,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am so happy to hear about your stay and read all the wonderful compliments about our property. Our team works hard to ensure we exceed our guests expectations and it is so nice to be able to recognize those individuals that really stood out and made an impression. I have shared your comments with those particular staff members and they were happy to hear them. We look forward to having you as our guest again.
Thank you,
Elizabeth Driebergen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is a good and predictable place to stay if you don't want a view of the ocean and can appreciate the swimming pool area, the plain no-frills breakfast and like a cookie-cutter chain store atmosphere. We stayed at one in Bend and it was identical. It's clean and the rooms are nice and quiet. The staff is friendly and helpful. They do not allow pets, which will be a drawback for us as we're getting a dog soon. If you are visiting Newport because you want to experience the beach and the ocean as much as possible, I would not stay here. There are a lot of nice hotels on the beach with great views and most allow pets. If you are here to visit the Aquarium and have a family, this might be a good choice for you.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor that has an ice machine on it for a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Randy72,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am pleased that you found our rooms clean and quiet. I am deeply you found some aspects of our hotel service less than satisfactory. We are constantly working to improve our service and your comments are very valuable to us. Your comments will be passed to the appropriate department. We always welcome opportunity to improve. Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Spent 2 nights in this place for a few days of spring break on the coast. Just your average 3 star hotel. Nothing fancy. Everything was clean and perfect working order. Free internet was nice but was a bit slow at times. Swimming pool was clean but a bit crowded at times, but not their fault. Ice on every other floor and vending food on opposite floors. Soda machines on every floor. Free breakfast was hot and quickly replenished but very limited and just ok. Opted for nearby restaurant on last morning there. Walking distance to aquarium and Rogue Brewery. Marijuana smell from next door (yes, non-smoking hotel) that front desk dealt with promptly. Good parking. Fairly quiet except for kids in room above ours that ran back and forth for a good hour. Again, not hotel fault but sound does travel here. Room has 2 beds, bathroom, and table. Again, plain and simple but clean. Staff all very nice, helpful with any issues or questions. Would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: No road noise from outside so location really doesn't matter. Top floor would eliminate sound of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrummerD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear DrummerD2,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Staff was awesome and the location was great. Close to Rogue Brewery and the Historic Bayfront. The Aquarium and some small shops are also within walking distance for those travelling with small children. For the price and location I think this place is a great deal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam99354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Adam99354,
Thank you for choosing us here at Holiday Inn Express in Newport. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found plenty of fun stuff to do and see while in Newport. Our team works so hard to ensure each and every guests stay is exactly like yours. I look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.
Thanks again,
Elizabeth Driebergen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights, while seeing sights in the Newport area. Easy to get to & from. Walking distance from The Oregon Aquarium & Pirates Plunder shopping area. Nice indoor pool & good breakfast buffet. Quiet room!. Friendly, helpful front desk! Would definitely stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNewportHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Denirwin,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and for your wonderful compliments. I am so happy to hear you had such a great time while in Newport and were able to see some of the great sights it has to offer. We can't wait for you to come back and see us again.
Thank you again,
Elizabeth Driebergen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.5 mi away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
3 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.9 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport

Address: 135 SE 32nd St, Newport, OR 97366-9631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $109 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express and Suites is Newport's newest hotel. Conveniently located within walking distance from the Oregon Coast Aquarium and Rogue Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing