We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beds are soft”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“beds are soft”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

Some love soft beds. My husband and I prefer a firm matress(like those you find all over SE Asia). This Holiday Inn exp has one soft pillow, one firm pillow per person. I can't say how well I would have slept because our one year kept waking us up. There is a mini fridge and micro. There is a fan in the bathroom. the last holiday inn express I was in did not have that - strange. There is also a safe in the room that we used.
We all enjoyed the breakfast - pancakes, cereal, yogurt, banana, eggs, bacon, OJ. You could get hot tea or make some hot cocoa at any time of day. We used the pool 3 times and our 5 yr old loved that. Just your basic indoor pool(about 3 ft to 5 ft in depth) with small hot tub in the corner.
The hotel is south of the bridge, so very close to the aquarium. If you want to hear the waves at night this is not the place to go.
Overall we liked it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    176
    37
    7
    5
See reviews for
163
159
21
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

We recently spent two nights at the Holiday Inn Express in Newport, Oregon. We asked for a quiet room on the top floor. Our room was just perfect. It overlooked an antique mall, some other buildings and beyond that the Yaquina Bay. Quiet and beautiful. We had a small street below that was only a little busy during the day. The window opened all the way. The room was large and clean. My husband took a walk from the hotel in the morning and was able to enjoy such beauty so close to our hotel without getting into the car.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor that overlooks the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchLinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

We were in for a long stay as we had a family member challenged by cancer come to the end of her life. The hotel was clean, pleasant and fresh. The rooms were very comfortable and quiet. The staff was unusually accommodating and friendly. We were greeted each time we passed by the front desk. We were also pleasantly surprised to find the breakfast offering so varied with both healthy, and not-so-healthy choices. I always appreciate having the choice! Thanks so much.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

I just got back from a 10 day stay at The Holiday Inn Express in Newport. My family rented 3 rooms right next to each other at a very tough time as our sister was dying of cancer in nearby South Beach. The staff was so gracious and supported our every need, from the cleaning crew and kitchen staff, to the desk clerks who never failed to greet us each time we came in the door. The hotel itself felt like home. It was very clean and didn't have that awful stale hotel smell that so many hotels have. The rooms were comfortable and everything was easily accessible including the business center where we were able to use computers and printers free of charge. We also had constant access to wireless for our laptops free of charge. The cost of the rooms were much more reasonable than any of the other comparable hotels and we all looked forward to the wonderful complimentary breakfast every morning which was quite extensive. The lobby is very comfortable and cozy, and although we didn't make use of them, there is an exercise room and indoor swimming pool as well. There is a wonderful waterfront restaurant/brewery within walking distance and the beach and harbor were just a bit further.
This was truly a home away from home at a very tough time for my family.

Room Tip: All of our rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpboyd444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

If you check pet friendly hotels on the holiday inn website, this hotel ends up popping up even though it is not dog friendly, and for that matter one of the attendants was not either. We would not have stayed at this hotel if we had known it was not pet friendly. When checking in the young lady waiting on us was very sorry and tried to be helpful, but the person next to us actually started arguing with us when we mentioned that this hotel showed up on the pet friendly search and that we had actually put in a different phone number, but apparently they tried to contact us by the number that is our default. Had this not been a rewards night we would have stayed next door at the La Quinta. We were not the only people staying there that ran into this problem - at least 2 other people we met while walking our dogs the next morning. Too bad, I usually prefer Holiday Inn because they are pet friendly.

Room Tip: Go next door to La Quinta!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix az
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Traveled the Oregon Coast for several days. This hotel was the all around best for price, cleaniness, great bed, large room, nice breakfast and very friendly & helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southerngirl0715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stayed here for three days during a trip down the Oregon Coast. No problems whatsoever with this place. Clean, well run, good breakfast, clean pool and hot tub, etc. Not noisy even though it is close to the 101. There was a crying baby above us one night, but the room insulation kept it to a dull roar. Firm, comfortable, and gigantic king bed. The only hitches we had were that the safe and the alarm clock in the room weren't working. It took them a little bit, but the manager came and fixed the safe, and brought us a new clock.

Just a heads up: this place isn't quite as upscale as some other HIXes. The room is long and narrow, and the frig and micro aren't built into any cabinetry. But the furniture, TV, etc. is still the same quality as any other HIX.

Room Tip: None of the views from this hotel are fantastic, so don't sweat it when booking a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GueroChongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
1.9 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Address: 135 SE 32nd St, Newport, OR 97366-9631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express and Suites is Newport's newest hotel. Conveniently located within walking distance from the Oregon Coast Aquarium and Rogue Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing