We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best seafood in town!”
Review of Newport Cafe

Newport Cafe
Ranked #16 of 110 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hermiston
2 reviews
“Best seafood in town!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Always fresh and tastes great! Best chowder, very clammy and thick. Crowded and packed as all great restaurants are!! The family that runs it are very friendly and quite the characters! Always good!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    144
    64
    40
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Really good specialty burgers. Great value for the food and quality was good. We visited during a lunch service and they were packed but acomidated our larger group. We also visited at about 1:00 in the morning. The service was very friendly although our orders were not completely accurate. The food quality and consistency was good.

Helpful?
Thank Jonathon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Typical Diner Breakfast”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We ate breakfast here twice during our stay in Newport. Because, it was close to our hotel and we needed to eat early and this place is open 24 hours. For our first breakfast, we both had biscuits and sausage gravy with scrambled eggs. It tasted good; but, it was difficult find the sausage in the gravy. For our second breakfast, we had eggs, sausage links and potatoes (hash browns for me and red potatoes for my wife). Again, the food tasted good; but, the potatoes and eggs were greasy. If we are ever in Newport again and need an early breakfast, we'd eat there; because, it is OK. They do offer a full menu including dinner. We stopped in our first night to check their menu and the place was full with people waiting to get in. So, maybe the dinner entrees are worth a try.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Rock, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Newport has some good restaurants. This is not one.”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Why eat here? Newport has some good restaurants but this is not one of them. The food is poorly cooked. We had gloppy tasteless clam chowder and inedible razor clams. I don't know if they were tasty or not as they were too tough to cut or eat. The owner said our food is great and would not take off the clams from the bill.
Maybe they treat locals better.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkisunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great local joint”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The Cafe serves diner food which means you can get anything and everything any time of day. Friendly, efficient service even though it's usually packed with diners. I had a perfectly cooked breakfast. The bacon is good quality and I was able to choose red potatoes with my eggs. A big mug of hot tea that stayed hot - not a tiny pot that leaks all over. Thanks for being here, Newport Café!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newport Cafe also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Newport Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing