We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the building fool you”
Review of Newport Cafe

Newport Cafe
Ranked #15 of 112 Restaurants in Newport
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
551 reviews
385 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Don't let the building fool you”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The end of a 12 hour road trip. We didn't really care about quality. We just needed to eat. What a pleasant surprise. Best razor clams I've ever had. Chowder was very good but not very hot. Servers must be owners too, because you can tell they really care. It's a tiny little place, right on the highway. No view or ambiance. Just great food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    148
    65
    40
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just OK, but BEST COCKTAIL SAUCE”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Servings are large. Service was excellent, very friendly. I was in for dinner and had the razor clams which were just OK., calamari was good and nicely seasoned but again just OK. The red potatoes were yummy and must say the red cocktail sauce is as good as mine, order something you can dip. It is open 24 hours so really good to know.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CountessCag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I ate here on our Anniversary and it was absolutely delicious. We were alittle concerned aboutnlooking at the outside, but the food made up for it in folds. We will be coming back

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cookingkeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Crowded Cafe, Average Food”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

There were many flies all in the restaurant. The service was slow the food was only average, we will not be back. The wait staff were friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank WYPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Huge Menu...Open 24/7”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Most the restaurants in town were closed; but the Newport Cafe was open.
I couldn't believe the size of the menu...there's something for everyone, that's for sure!
The staff were really friendly and attentive.
Our meals were about average...nothing spectacular...but were okay for a late meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lets_Go-Walkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newport Cafe also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Newport Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing