We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel in Newport”
Review of Travelodge Newport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Newport
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I was looking for a good budget hotel for one night in Newport. This hotel was comfortable and clean. I'm a light sleeper and didn't have any trouble falling asleep, although the hotel is located right on the 101. The staff was really nice and friendly. It was the first time I saw a "clean remote" on the desk and it was a nice additional feature. My only two complains are the lack of a hair dryer in the room and the mattress cover that has a somewhat hard and "plasticky" feel. Besides that, I was very satisfied.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniela203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinn1, Public Relations Manager at Travelodge Newport, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

Thnak you for posting your comments regarding your stay at the Travelodge Newport. It is through the eyes of our guests that we are best able to critique our property. I understand there is a lack of outlets in or near the bathroom and we are working with our electricians to resolve this issue. I have asked the staff to remove the plasitc covers on the mattresses to eliminate that plastic feel. I hope you will consider the Travelodge Newport should you ever visit the area again so you can see the changes we are making.
Sincerely
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 376 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2011

This hotel is in a very convenient location just off Highway 101. There are several restaurants in the walking distance from the hotel. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room is spacious and clean but the whole facility looks bit old and need upgrading in few areas. Average breakfast is included in the room rate which is a good feature for a early morning start to your travel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

This hotel was comfortable and clean. Nice breakfast, nice staff. The king sized bed was very comfortable, and they had plenty of outlets for phones, cameras etc. My only complaint is the shower. There was no tub and the hot water took well over a minute to go from ice cold to warm.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkwallflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I stayed here recently on a Friday night as I had business the next day in Newport. The property, especially the office, has been renovated since the last time I stayed here (when it was still the Newport Motor Inn, before Travelodge bought it). The room was okay, but nothing more than that. There was no AC and you could hear noise from Hwy 101. I checked on-line booking prices, which are about $30 less than I paid as a walk-in, even with a discount. I don't have any real complaints, but neither do I have any real compliments.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelmert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed here for the weekend when we took my nephew to see the ocean for the first time. This was a good middle of the road motel. It was a full size bed where I had reserved a queen size.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozzy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We found the Newport Travelodge on Tripadvisor and since most of the reviews were good we thought we would stretch our travel budget and save a little on the room by staying here instead of something in the $120 range that we would normally do. Big mistake. We almost didn't stay at all and definitely won't be back.
The room they gave us smelled like smoke and the bathroom was unacceptable. The toilet seat and lid should have been replaced about 10 years ago (bubbles under the paint pushing through from who knows what moisture). It doesn't take a top notch manager to know that it makes more sense to spend $12 on a new toilet seat than to have your guests walk out of the room. The shower was about the same. The walls were delaminating from years of overuse with cleaners I suppose. All I know is that my wife and I weren't going to use it.
I called the front desk and after a few minutes the manager and trainee came to look at what we had issues with. The manager was obviously not of the same mind and attempted briefly to defend the bathroom but quickly showed us another room. It was much better but still below par for $80.
The bottom line is that if you are used to staying in the $100 room and think it is worth a try to save $20 here don't waste your time.
Similar to other travelers who reviewed this property, the plastic mattress cover was uncomfortable and the mattress left much to be desired. Not a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Finally I think I'll be able to post my review - somehow my 'five-star' and 'four-star' ratings for other hotels/inns have been posted, but this poor review that I've been trying to post since last year, never made it to the boards. Hmmmmm. Anyway, here's the review, its is a regular motel, which is fine, we just needed to stay at a no-frills place, since we were just passing by. The staff was nice and accomodating, we got into a 2nd floor room, I can't remember the room no. After we had carried our stuff in and put them away, I went into the bathroom and holy crap! The toilet bowl was practically brown from rust stains! (i hope it was rust, ewwww). I was too tired to ask for another room, since it was late and it was raining.. Big mistake - I should have just taken the effort to move - I'm sure the front desk would do that for me. My thing is, if the bathroom/room is kept clean on a regular basis, there would be no issues regarding stains in the bowl. Whew - this was so far the worst motel I've ever stayed in...

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisyduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#18 of 24 in Newport
148 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#10 of 24 in Newport
369 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Newport OR
Days Inn Newport OR
#15 of 24 in Newport
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waves of Newport
Waves of Newport
#16 of 24 in Newport
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Newport

Address: 1311 N Coast Hwy, Newport, OR 97365-2446 (Formerly Newport Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: $55 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Travelodge is a 38 room newly renovated property. Less than a mile from the city center and also less than a mile from the beach, this beautiful property offers all the modern amenities. New in 2011, pillowtop beds with either two double beds or one king bed, flat screen televisions and all new furniture. Also new carpet and drapes make our rooms cozy clean and comfortable. Be sure to stop by the lobby each morning and enjoy a continental breakfast. Your comfort is our top priority and we are anxious to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newport Hotel Newport
Travelodge Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing