We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful find”

Fish Peddler's Market
Ranked #30 of 111 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A wonderful find”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our grand daughter wanted to taste crab. We discovered the fish market and to our delight there were a few tables as well as the fish market. We were shown to a table beside the mechanical shrimp sheller which delighted our young grand daughter. The place is a little chaotic which adds to the ambiance. The food is superb. I enjoyed the clam chowder (one of the best I have had) and the prawns. My wife had the clam chowder and the crab and cheese. I went to purchase some of the shelled crab meat (not wanting to have to shell the crab) for grand daughter - there wasn't much left and the proprietor gave us a small cup free of charge.
What a wonderful gesture. We will definitely return when in Newport. Don't be fooled by the limited number of tables -- it is worth the wait, or if you are in a hurry, they offer take out which we saw people enjoying when walking on the street.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderers1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    27
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best chowder in Newport!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Their clam chowder we thought was the best in Newport, and we tried several different places. It was very smooth and creamy, with a great taste. Their crab was also about as good as it gets. Friendly, courteous staff. Great place to eat with kids.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Billdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Crab Crab Crab”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

When Dungeness crabs are available, there is nothing better, nothing finer, than a cold cracked crab and a bottle of beer. Period. The crab here was fat and sweet, a lot of meat in each leg. It is a messy meal but well worth the effort. The setting is basic: no decor except to watch shrimp being processed right there, separated from you by a large window. If you do love crab, this is highly recommended. Have eaten a lot of crab over the years and these were among the best.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travel035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Very good and simple”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I eat here every time I go to Newport , it is on the water front so at times hard to find parking . It is true fresh fish . They no longer have it on the menu but ask for the cheese bread it is great , lot s of calories but share the order with someone. They process shrimp there if you like shrimp cocktail you MUST have theirs .

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bonneville, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Okay Place”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This place has fresh enough seafood, but no more so than many other places and at a much higher price. I suggest looking at IGA store in area as well as local Safeways for a better price and same quality.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marijd406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Peddler's Market also viewed

 

Been to Fish Peddler's Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing