We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No breakfast, old rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knights Inn Newport
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“No breakfast, old rooms”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed one night and were generally pleased with our stay except for a few things. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The heater worked very well, which was awesome. The room also had a mini fridge and microwave, which was also very useful. The room itself was dated but everything was clean. Don't expect much, it is a old hotel and the outside looks much better than the inside. The bathroom was clean but the shower has horrible water pressure. In the morning, we saw 3 (very) small muffins on the counter in the lobby which was the advertised "Breakfast", I actually laughed out loud when I saw it. While we were pleased with our stay, we won't stay here again because breakfast was a joke and shouldn't be listed as a selling point for this hotel.

Next time we will find a Motel 6, pay $15 dollars less and get breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from everyone else, these walls are thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXDUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    23
    16
    26
See reviews for
37
36
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Filer, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

it is an older motel, but has charm and very friendly staff. our room was too warm for us when we arrived and the manager promptly and cheerfully offered us a fan which we really only needed the first night because the weather was cool.
we stayed 4 nights, the rooms were kept clean and well stocked with clean linens.
the manager, Jeff and his wife Danni helped us with directions, recommended great places to eat and gave us info on clamming.
they took the time to visit and made our stay very relaxing.
they have lawn chairs in the parking area close to the building so you feel welcome to sit outside and enjoy the weather.
the price was great for 4 nights, and grandkids age 13 stayed for free.
would definitely stay with them again, we were made to feel welcome!!
this was our 1st trip to Newport, we will be back.
marilynn w

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland oregon
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

As a family of 5 that wanted to run to the coast on a very last minute Saturday night this worked just fine. The king plus two doubles was just fine. The space was dated but clean. There was no air conditioner & no screens on the windows (which were ground floor anyone able to step through if open!) so it go hot and stuffy. There was a large group of bikers that stayed up all night sitting in the parking lot on lawn chairs, makes for a hard sleep for our family. Very basic, not terrible.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skoester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

Umatilla, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My family and I have made many trips to Newport over the years. We have always stayed at the same run down hotel. Until I decided to look for better options. Just a few years ago, I ran a crossed the Knights Inn. What a wonderful place to stay. Very nice clean & sizable rooms. Not to mention that this great hotel has breakfast, and free Wi-Fi. And the customer service is great. I would highly recommend other people to check out this Inn. The prices are right and they except PETS TOO!

Room Tip: This Inn is much quieter, do to its location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have traveled all around the world and have stayed in the best and the worst. This hotel is not the biggest and may not have a lot of extras but it is cheap, in town, has free wi-fi and breakfast and the staff is amazingly friendly. We were upgraded for a small fee when there was no extra bed available. I never stay in the hotel so why pay a premium to just store your luggage and sleep. If you are looking for a family place with a pool, this is not the right hotel for you, but if you want to spend your money on your holiday or business trip instead of your hotel, this is a great hotel for the money. A must stay if you are traveling for business in the Newport area. Kristin@celticattic.com

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celticattic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here several years ago with my daughter and it was not well managed. My partner and I have stayed here twice recently on business trips and the new owners have made a big difference. The rooms are clean and good sized and if you need anything, just ask...they are happy to accommodate you.

Excellent value for an inexpensive motel at the beach! We stay in a lot of motels on our business throughout Oregon, and will definitely continue to stay here when we need a place in Newport.

Room Tip: We prefer the lower level in the back building, but any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planetdoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
81 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I checked in around 9pm on a thursday night , im in town for work ,, the clerk gave a postage stamp sized room with a bright light right outside of the window --- i knew i would never get any sleep in this room ..I went to the front desk and told the clerk I needed another room , the light was the deal killer and explained why , she gave a room twice the size and twice as nice ! for the same price - which had me wondering why i didnt get this room in the first place ????
dont accept the little room

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vardis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newport
Travelodge Newport
#15 of 24 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#20 of 24 in Newport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Newport OR
Days Inn Newport OR
#14 of 24 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#8 of 24 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Newport

Property: Knights Inn Newport
Address: 1823 N Coast Hwy, Newport, OR 97365-2022 (Formerly Newport Bay Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Oregon Coast and see everything that Newport, Oregon has to offer as you stay here at Knights Inn. Our amenities include Free High Speed Internet, Cable TV, Microwaves, Refrigerators, Hair Dryers, Coffee Makers, and A/C units*! We offer designated pet friendly rooms at our facility for a fee of $15.00 Per night. We are located at the North end of Newport with close access to the beach, shopping, fine dining, golf courses, the Oregon Coast Aquarium, Historic Bay Front, Historic Nye Beach, Ripley's Believe it Or Not, Undersea Gardens, and many more scenic attractions. *Deluxe room only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Knights Inn Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing