We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sad state of affairs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knights Inn Newport
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Newport
West Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sad state of affairs”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

The staff was average on the friendliness scale. The room was clean, but seriously looks and felt like it came from a collection of yard/estate sales. The beds were both horrible on the comfort level and our pillows were literally about an inch thick. Seriously need to upgrade the mattresses and pillows. The A/C unit in our room had a fan that was siezed up so it didn't run and when we went to look for extra pillows in the dresser, the middle drawer didn't even have a bottom in it! Speaking of the incessant reminder of their fire codes, exactly how long ago were those smoke detectors replaced?? The "small" breakfast was just that... coffee, juice, a bag of english muffins to toast and bakery muffins cut into quarters. For the price, I would recommend going down the road and staying at a well-known chain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyvacationer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    23
    16
    26
See reviews for
37
36
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Well maintained, pleasant check-in (owner), renovated room, comfortable bed. Pleasant overnight stay while on a road trip.
Continental breakfast was only English muffins, jam, coffee, tea and juice...but we knew that ahead of time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHOREHAM BY SEA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Having been travelling all day we were looking for a one night stay accommodation . We tried several motels which looked fairly poor then came across Knights Inn. Run by a charming couple,Jeff and Dannie Dunbar , we agreed a very reasonable rate and we were given one of the recently renovated rooms which was spacious ,comfortable, spotless and the whole ambiance led to a really great nights sleep.
Thank you very much. Highly recommended .

Room Tip: We had room 123 which was brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dogwalker_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is an old hotel that is very run down wirh broken bath tlles and patched up paint on doors. The room was musty so I suspect that there is also damp. For the price I would try somewhere else. Staff very friendly

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lsco61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

Salem, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one evening, the bed was like sleeping on a bed of nails. The restroom smelled of old urine. The pillows were as thick as a stick of gum and we received only one blanket and nearly froze due to the door that would not shut properly. You could see daylight thru the door which made us feel very insecure while staying there. I wrote a review and in return the GM of Knights Inn wrote me a nasty letter. The free breakfast consisted of crackers, muffins and juice along with coffee. We will never recommend this motel or stay here again. Stay at your own risk...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Going into this, we weren't sure because of how cheap it was. But it turned out to be way more than we thought. Great location, close to fred meyer, chase bank, convenient store, and of course liquor store :). the room was clean and the staff was very nice. It is a bit older than most and it isn't a 5 star, but after all, you're on vacation, all you need is a place to sleep. we had no disturbances and the room stayed plenty warm with your own thermostat control. the cable and WiFi was good and for the price, we will DEFINITELY stay there the next time we go. I would recommend this for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
355 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Knights Inn in Newport looks more like an old style mom and pop motel than a chain motel and I like that. It has been renovated a bit since the conversion to a Knights Inn. It could use a little more attention, but it was a nice stay for the week and a half we were there. Paint was peeling from the bathroom door. One wall could have been a bit cleaner as could the carpets, but we made the best of it. Fridge and microwave are in the room as are a dresser, table, desk, and chairs. The TV has a lot of channels to choose from even though I think a few were missing that were listed. Even though the Knights Inn website says its a non-smoking motel, I believe there are a few rooms that are. The owners tried to discourage people from smoking by taking some of the outside ashtrays off, but we still had to try evade smokers outside. The Dunbars (owners) have only had the place a couple of years and I believe they are trying. They are very nice and accommodating. The place does have a very basic continental breakfast which includes juice, muffins, bagels, and crackers. Not much, but enough to get you going until you eat breakfast. The location is nice too. Being in the northern part of town, you are closer to the main grocery stores if you need anything. It's a central location if you go north to the Yaquina Head area or south to the BayFront or Aquarium area. Next time I am in Newport I would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Units in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainier72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newport
Travelodge Newport
#15 of 24 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#20 of 24 in Newport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Newport OR
Days Inn Newport OR
#14 of 24 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#7 of 24 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Newport

Property: Knights Inn Newport
Address: 1823 N Coast Hwy, Newport, OR 97365-2022 (Formerly Newport Bay Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Oregon Coast and see everything that Newport, Oregon has to offer as you stay here at Knights Inn. Our amenities include Free High Speed Internet, Cable TV, Microwaves, Refrigerators, Hair Dryers, Coffee Makers, and A/C units*! We offer designated pet friendly rooms at our facility for a fee of $15.00 Per night. We are located at the North end of Newport with close access to the beach, shopping, fine dining, golf courses, the Oregon Coast Aquarium, Historic Bay Front, Historic Nye Beach, Ripley's Believe it Or Not, Undersea Gardens, and many more scenic attractions. *Deluxe room only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Knights Inn Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing