We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northwest Expedition”
Review of Tyee Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tyee Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Westminster, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Northwest Expedition”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Traveling with two other couples in our group we found the Tyee Lodge to be an outstanding choice for the two days we spent in the area. All three rooms we booked were great and had a view of the ocean. As a special treat our host built a fire outside, and we enjoyed wine, cheese and good conversation. Breakfasts were outstanding. After breakfast on the day of our departure a bald eagle landed on a surfer's driftwood perch. We all enjoyed trying to get a great pic or just viewing through the telescope located in the main room.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vernon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
90
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

After spending two nights at a nearby motel, we moved to Tyee Lodge for an extra two nights stay in Newport. An excellent choice. The B&B is located at the north end of Newport...having a great view of the ocean/beach and access to the beach via a pathway on the lodge property. Great listening to the roar of the ocean while being warmed by the fireplace...Chinook Room is the best option. The room is spacious, very clean with upgraded extras. Good breakfasts to start the day. Tea, coffee, cookies and wine available throughout the stay. Doug and Dee are great hosts...easy to tell they enjoy the experience of B&B ownership. Both are helpful in planning your stay in Newport. A booklet on what to do, where to eat, where to shop, etc. is located in each room...which is very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here when we were on our honeymoon driving up the West Coast. We only planned on staying one night but once we arrived we decided to stay two. We loved this place, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the views were beautiful. Not to mention the food in the morning was great. They offer complementary wine, soda and cookies. (which were amazing I might add). We also enjoyed a fire outside overlooking the beach one night.

Best part of this place is the owners/hosts. Friendly and personable and make you feel right at home! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem OR
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had a lovely time staying here, the hosts are friendly and the place is comfortable and immaculate. Fantastic view which every room has, a fireplace and fresh baked cookies in the afternoon. We were very comfortable and truly had an excellent stay. Highly recommended

Room Tip: We loved our Alsea room, comfortable and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azure C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern oregon
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is one of the nicest bed and breakfasts I have ever stayed in, in the USA! I booked in the Chinook room with the most magnificent view of the ocean, beach and rocks. The fireplace provided great ambiance while watching the ocean waves.
Doug and Dee are wonderful hosts, providing a gourmet breakfast to die for. The room has everything you could need for a restful stay. This place is quiet, wonderfully appointed, easy to find and on and on!
All in all SUPER.

Room Tip: The Chinook room has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benddragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I attended the Newport Wine and Seafood festival over the weekend of Feb 23. We stayed 2 nights at the Tyee Lodge B&B and could'nt have been more pleased. Our hosts Doug and Dee were wonderful. The Lodge is decorated NW Chic and features 5 very comfy themed rooms each with their own full baths! All with expansive ocean front views. Breakfasts were spot on yummy gourmet. Creme broulle' french toast this morning! This is a wonderful place for couples to reconnect, relax and just breathe in the fresh salt air. Very intimate. We hope to be back in June. Thank you D&D!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Chinook room but you cant go wrong with any of the 5 here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was my husband's first experience with a B&B and what a good choice it was. I knew that the second B in B&B was very important to him and I surely picked the right place for him. Its location just above the beach with a trail going down was excellent, just a very few miles north of the actual town of Newport. The hosts/owners are Dee and Doug. We only met Doug a short time before we left but Dee is a gracious hostess with a wonderful warm hospitality and charm. The beds are comfortable and the rooms have big picture windows out towards the ocean. There are some nice amenities and the guests' livingroom is a relaxing place to have a glass of wine, cup of coffee and/or a warm cookie. Very lovely place.

Room Tip: All have wonderful views facing the sunset and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deeanebert, Owner at Tyee Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We were honored to be chosen for your husband's first B&B experience. We hope that it won't be his last. It is a wonderful way to connect with and meet new friends. " Anonti, Falamut ish ula chike", Come back and see us again, in your ancestral language.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
2.7 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,029 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
2.2 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,761 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agate Beach Motel
Agate Beach Motel
#1 of 24 in Newport
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyee Lodge

Property: Tyee Lodge
Address: 4925 NW Woody Way, Newport, OR 97365-1327
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just south of Yaquina Head, this peaceful oceanfront bed-and-breakfast sits atop a high bluff silhouetted by majestic Sitka Spruce Trees. Guest rooms all have spectacular ocean views, gas fireplaces, queen sized beds, and private bathrooms. The house has a modern look with Native American accents. There are also outstanding views from the guest living room and dinning room. There are lovely gardens, an out door fire pit, and a private trail leading down to the beach. A gourmet breakfast and wine, coffee, and soda bar are included with the price of the room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tyee Lodge Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing