We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Northwest splendor!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tyee Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tyee Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Northwest splendor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I attended the Newport Wine and Seafood festival over the weekend of Feb 23. We stayed 2 nights at the Tyee Lodge B&B and could'nt have been more pleased. Our hosts Doug and Dee were wonderful. The Lodge is decorated NW Chic and features 5 very comfy themed rooms each with their own full baths! All with expansive ocean front views. Breakfasts were spot on yummy gourmet. Creme broulle' french toast this morning! This is a wonderful place for couples to reconnect, relax and just breathe in the fresh salt air. Very intimate. We hope to be back in June. Thank you D&D!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Chinook room but you cant go wrong with any of the 5 here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
85
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was my husband's first experience with a B&B and what a good choice it was. I knew that the second B in B&B was very important to him and I surely picked the right place for him. Its location just above the beach with a trail going down was excellent, just a very few miles north of the actual town of Newport. The hosts/owners are Dee and Doug. We only met Doug a short time before we left but Dee is a gracious hostess with a wonderful warm hospitality and charm. The beds are comfortable and the rooms have big picture windows out towards the ocean. There are some nice amenities and the guests' livingroom is a relaxing place to have a glass of wine, cup of coffee and/or a warm cookie. Very lovely place.

Room Tip: All have wonderful views facing the sunset and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deeanebert, Owner at Tyee Lodge, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We were honored to be chosen for your husband's first B&B experience. We hope that it won't be his last. It is a wonderful way to connect with and meet new friends. " Anonti, Falamut ish ula chike", Come back and see us again, in your ancestral language.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We only stayed the one night and unfortunately the weather was not good, but this a lovely place to stay. Get a room facing onto the pacific.

Both Dee & Doug made us feel at home. The rooms were very pleasant and another brilliant breakfast.

Recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: One facing the pacific ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamjsampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We flew from the Mo to Portland, rented a car & drove the Oregon Coast last June. Tyee Lodge B&B was my favorite place to stay the entire trip. Innkeeper, Dee was warm & gracious. She was very knowledgeable of the area. Rooms are well appointed & clean. Views are stunning framed by beautiful landscaping & wind-swept pines. I'm a watercolorist & painted my heart out. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: There is a trail down to the beach area or you can watch the surfers from the living room with a war...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Lovely warm b and b with friendly hosts and gorgeous location.
Enjoyed the nearby Yaquina Head lighthouse with lovely places to hike and watch nature.
Is near a highway and not particularly pretty part of town but that did not in any way diminish the experience as I had feared when we first pulled in. It is quiet and gorgeous and you will be happy you stayed here.

Room Tip: The Yaquina and Chinook have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELFPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Absolutely stunning location. Very clean, cozy and comfortable. We were just going to settle on a cheap Days-Inn style hotel since all the camping in the area was booked, but we were lucky enough to stop into the Tyee Lodge which ended up being one of the most beautiful places we stayed on the trip. After hesitating a bit since we were on a tight budget, the lovely owner offered us an amazing deal, so thank you very much for that!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tyali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I'm a female, but travel annually with a guy friend of mine. If we stay in a B&B, it can often be difficultt to find a place that isn't overly romantic or Victorian. The Tyee Lodge instantly leapt out at me when looking for a place in Newport due to these reviews, the website, the price, and the pictures of the rooms. The rooms are decorated in an entirely Southwestern type of theme and are gorgeous, with fantastic views of the ocean. The beds are very comfortable and our hosts were kind and equipped each of our rooms with TVs (which we ended up barely watching). Breakfast was first rate. My only regret was that we were on a driving tour through Oregon and could only stay one night.

Room Tip: My friend had the Chinook room, which cost a bit more, but was very spacious. I had the Siletz roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
2.2 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
2.7 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.1 mi away
Agate Beach Motel
Agate Beach Motel
#1 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyee Lodge

Property: Tyee Lodge
Address: 4925 NW Woody Way, Newport, OR 97365-1327
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just south of Yaquina Head, this peaceful oceanfront bed-and-breakfast sits atop a high bluff silhouetted by majestic Sitka Spruce Trees. Guest rooms all have spectacular ocean views, gas fireplaces, queen sized beds, and private bathrooms. The house has a modern look with Native American accents. There are also outstanding views from the guest living room and dinning room. There are lovely gardens, an out door fire pit, and a private trail leading down to the beach. A gourmet breakfast and wine, coffee, and soda bar are included with the price of the room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tyee Lodge Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing