We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B if you're looking to please a man (or woman!)”
Review of Tyee Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tyee Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great B&B if you're looking to please a man (or woman!)”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I'm a female, but travel annually with a guy friend of mine. If we stay in a B&B, it can often be difficultt to find a place that isn't overly romantic or Victorian. The Tyee Lodge instantly leapt out at me when looking for a place in Newport due to these reviews, the website, the price, and the pictures of the rooms. The rooms are decorated in an entirely Southwestern type of theme and are gorgeous, with fantastic views of the ocean. The beds are very comfortable and our hosts were kind and equipped each of our rooms with TVs (which we ended up barely watching). Breakfast was first rate. My only regret was that we were on a driving tour through Oregon and could only stay one night.

Room Tip: My friend had the Chinook room, which cost a bit more, but was very spacious. I had the Siletz roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
88
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
portland, oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Last week my wife and I spent three marvelously comfortable days at the Tyee Lodge. Over the years, we have stayed at many bed and breakfasts in the Pacific Northwest and New England, and the Tyee Lodge ranks among the very best of these. Others have noted the beautiful location, welcoming owners, and excellent breakfasts. I would only add that we made some special requests of the owners, requests that they cheerfully met. In our experience, there is probably no better place to relax and enjoy the Oregon coast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raymond k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A cozy room and a beautiful view of the ocean. We turned on the in room fire place, opened the window to hear the waves crashing and enjoyed a bottle of wine while playing Yahtzee. The owners were very pleasant and welcoming. The property was well manicured. Breakfast was good but very, very sweet. We spent a good hour or two talking with another couple and we were in no way rushed. We really enjoyed our stay and the dinner suggestion of Local Ocean.

I had hoped to enjoy the fire pit but I did not feel right asking for just the two of us although it was offered. I was a little surprised to see that this place was not as isolated as it appears, they do share a lot with another bed and breakfast which is just steps from their front door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Packrats0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deeanebert, Owner at Tyee Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Never hesitate to let your hostess know your preferences; we are most happy when we are making you happy that’s why we chose the business.
Here at Tyee, we have several favorite breakfast recipes ranging from French Toast Crème Brulee to Eggs Benedict or Salmon Quiche. We usually alternate between sweet and savory meals to hopefully satisfy the diverse favorites of our guests. We always accommodate special diets and are always willing to change a planned breakfast if requested; that is why we present the menu the evening before.
Sitting by the fire pit and gazing at the sunset or star lit sky should never be missed – it is just too perfect. The fire only takes a moment to stack with wood and light, it is never a bother. We would leave it lit every evening, but it would be a waste to have it burning without someone sitting and enjoying it.
We do not share a lot with any other property. We have private parking for all of our guests and our gardens and fire pit are for their use exclusively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The location alone would be enough reason to stay at the Tyee Lodge. I don't remember ever staying at a place with a more beautiful view - rolling surf and a wide sandy beach framed by those tall pines and a foreground filled with flowers. The Tyee Lodge offers up more than just a great view though. We had a comfortable room with chairs strategically placed so we could enjoy that view while relaxing after a day of touring. Add to that the free coffee, wine, baked goods and the gourmet, cooked breakfasts and you couldn't ask for a better place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Yaquina room which had one of the best views ever. We got to peek into the Chinook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We prefer to stay at B&B's and this was an incredible stay for sure. You can tell that Dee and Doug are in the business because they want to be and they want to make you as happy as they are. They even allow you to review the menu the night before to see if you like it. They know all of the local places and they seem to really care about making sure all of your needs are taken care of. They even provide wine and daily snacks in the living room and if you're ever out enjoying the view in the lounge chairs, they'll light you a fire for you to enjoy some marshmellows. Wonderful place, great atmosphere, and so nice and quiet

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowats123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The gracious hosts, Dee and Doug, must have gone to B&B graduate school. Not only is the location spectacular, sitting on a bluff a scant 100 yards from the waves, but the little things that make up great hospitality are evident everywhere. Delicious breakfasts, Dee's baking skills and complimentary coffee, tea and wine make Tyee hard to beat. Tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean rooms at affordable prices.

Room Tip: Ask for Chinook or Yaquina rooms if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom_treddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My first time to Oregon and it was absolutely lovely! I had a warm welcome from Dee and Doug; fresh brownies were offered and very tasty. My room was very comfortable and had the perfect view (I stayed in the Alsea room). After breakfast, all of which were delicious (eggs, waffles, quiche), my favorite part was taking the two minute walk down to the beach and strolling along the creek and ocean. While I was there I also enjoyed perusing the Bayfront and the Nye beach areas.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
2.7 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,017 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
2.2 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agate Beach Motel
Agate Beach Motel
#1 of 24 in Newport
333 reviews
3.3 mi away
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
#13 of 24 in Newport
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyee Lodge

Property: Tyee Lodge
Address: 4925 NW Woody Way, Newport, OR 97365-1327
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just south of Yaquina Head, this peaceful oceanfront bed-and-breakfast sits atop a high bluff silhouetted by majestic Sitka Spruce Trees. Guest rooms all have spectacular ocean views, gas fireplaces, queen sized beds, and private bathrooms. The house has a modern look with Native American accents. There are also outstanding views from the guest living room and dinning room. There are lovely gardens, an out door fire pit, and a private trail leading down to the beach. A gourmet breakfast and wine, coffee, and soda bar are included with the price of the room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tyee Lodge Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing