We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally loved this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tyee Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tyee Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Totally loved this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

The owners Dee and Doug are so sweet. The rooms are clean and the bed quite comfortable. Every room has a view of the ocean and beach. The breakfast was amazing. We loved this B & B and definitely will be back. They have wine and goodies available in the evening and coffee, water and sodas available at other times during the day. I would highly recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wojo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
85
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Wife and I stayed here in July, first time at a bed and breakfast so we were nervous but Dee and Doug ensured that we felt welcome from the moment we walked in. Nice clean rooms, world class ocean view from our room and small walk down a steeper path to the beach.
The breakfast was absolutely amazing, the restaurant they recommended for dinner ( Aprils on Nye ) couldnt have been better. Almost wine and snacks available throughout the day and coffee by 6:30AM in the morning. Dee and Doug you are fantastic hosts we will be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave1545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

So many things to praise for this simple, clean and very friendly BB. I wish I would have stayed longer. It is very clean, new, very quite if you dont count the sound of the ocean:). Great views of pine trees and ocean from the bed, fireplace in the room, tub, awesome breakfast, very friendly BB owners, tea and wine int he lobby. Highly recommended. I think it is the best BB I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarthaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

What a delightful B&B! Every room has a view of the expansive beach with easy access for wandering the tidal pools or beachcombing. The room was really comfortable, with comfy chairs that allow you to watch the sun set and the stars come out. Or, if you like to commune with the others, the fireplace inside or the firepit outside on a cool evening was a great draw.

The breakfasts were outstanding, and fresh cookies every day were yummy.

Being near US101 made it so easy to drive up and down the coast and take time to visit the myriad of state parks and beaches along the way. The Yaquina Head lighthouse was "next door" and a definite must-see. The quiet, couples-only environment makes this a place to return to for our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnk98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

We're spoiled as it is living in Vancouver, BC with gorgeous ocean scenery. We weren't expecting such a gorgeous view outside of our Tillamook room however. All rooms feature a gorgeous ocean view, comparable to Tofino Beach on Vancouver Island. The winding path to the beach is through lush vegetation (wear covered shoes if it's been raining) and opens to a gorgeous sandy beach.

Dee and Doug were very helpful and easy-going right from check-in. Breakfasts were very tasty and are taken in a dining room that also looks onto the beach. It felt like a home away from home and very inviting after a couple of days exploring the area.

It depends on what kind of accommodation you're looking for. Tyee is located in the northern part of Newport, away from the harbour and Nye Beach. You will have to drive to those areas for meals, but it's also busier there. We liked the peace and being close to Yakina Head Lighthouse and park.

Such a welcoming place! Hope to be back one day again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arianec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

This B&B was better than we expected. The room was comfortable, with a beautiful view of the ocean (the other rooms do as well--we checked :-)). We kept the window open to hear the soothing sounds of the surf, but also kept the fireplace in the bedroom going to dust off the chill. The Yaquina Head Lighthouse was an easy walk from the house, and the restaurant recommended by the hosts was superb. Breakfast was excellent. We stayed before the start of the summer season (June 15), so the rooms were less expensive ($99). There is also a common living room where we sipped complementary wine from Oregon in front of a fireplace and a view of the ocean. We made this trip to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday (Oregon was the only one of the 50 states to which she had not visited), and she was beyond pleased. We highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Rooms are cheaper before 15 June
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandG_Marshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and it was one of the highlights of the trip!
The inn is lovely and the owners, Doug and Dee could not have been more friendly and helpful. They made sure everything was enjoyable for us. The breakfasts were great and served in the beautiful dining room with a beautiful view. Every room of the inn had a beautiful view of the ocean Our view was exquisite. The location is perfect for getting into town, to the beach and the state parks and lighthouse. Newport is a great town on the coast as well. We look forward to getting back there soon!

Room Tip: Every room was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judybmillvalley_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
2.2 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
2.7 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Agate Beach Motel
Agate Beach Motel
#1 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
0.7 mi away
Little Creek Cove
Little Creek Cove
#2 of 10 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyee Lodge

Property: Tyee Lodge
Address: 4925 NW Woody Way, Newport, OR 97365-1327
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just south of Yaquina Head, this peaceful oceanfront bed-and-breakfast sits atop a high bluff silhouetted by majestic Sitka Spruce Trees. Guest rooms all have spectacular ocean views, gas fireplaces, queen sized beds, and private bathrooms. The house has a modern look with Native American accents. There are also outstanding views from the guest living room and dinning room. There are lovely gardens, an out door fire pit, and a private trail leading down to the beach. A gourmet breakfast and wine, coffee, and soda bar are included with the price of the room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tyee Lodge Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing