We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Motel 6 Newport
Nearby Hotels
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport(Newport)(Great Value!)
$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Newport(Newport)(Great Value!)
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whaler(Newport)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
$170
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agate Beach Motel(Newport)
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
17
22
13
20
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
22
13
20
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe nicest motellaminate floorspet friendlinessguest laundryking roomsmall balconybridgefireplacemicrowave
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 103 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We booked a room for two nights in February through priceline and assumed we'd get something a bit better than this. I was dissapointed that this was the hotel we got especially at the price we paid (it was only maybe $5 under the normal listed price, not a good deal!). The rooms were 'clean' although you got the sense that they were dirty in ways you couldn't see or quantify. The couch did have stains on it and I refused to sit on it, the bed had no mattress pad just a sheet on directly on the mattress, and the mattress was way uncomfortable. My husband actually slept on the floor one night. The hot tub was closed and the 'breakfast' was a joke. It is on the side of the bridge opposite of the actual town so unless you want to walk a mile+ you have to drive to do anything in the town. The only saving grace is it is practically across the street from the Rogue brewery which was our primary reason for going to Newport. Overall, for the price they are asking I'm sure you could get something a lot nicer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindsyrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVINewport, Manager at Motel 6 Newport, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2011

Thank you for taking your time to give us your comments. Your comments help us to evaluate our product and service and they are important to us. We will use your comments to help us train our staff and plan future improvements to our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

The Inn at Yaquina Bay looks like it should be a cut above average. It is a relatively new building in a good location, with a nice view of Newport's lovely bridge and harbor. Unfortunately, it was designed as a low end place from the beginning, and it hasn't aged gracefully.

We requested a room with a view and two queen beds. The room was spacious enough, and did have a nice view of the harbor. The window was no dirtier than our car windows after a day of traveling on the coast, but the night views were spoiled by a bright porch light that we could not turn off, and which wasn't turned off until sometime long after midnight. The vanity, with two sinks (one of which didn't drain) was brightly lit by a long florescent fixture, and was basically IN the bedroom. The carpet was new, but felt like it was made out of recycled milk cartons. It was clean enough, but nasty to walk on barefoot. The beds were NOT pillowtop, but were firm enough to be comfortable. Towels, pillows, bedspreads and bed linen were basic and clean. The room also contained a tiny microwave and a mini-refrigerator that was new and surprisingly quiet. The reading light was excellent and there was a table and chairs with good light for game playing.

We found the desk staff to be friendly and helpful, but
other amenities were few. We were told that coffee, tea and hot chocolate were always available, but the office doesn't even open until 8 a.m. They will rent VCR's for $3, but there hasn't been a new VCR in years. The desk person gave me a controller that supposedly provided closed captions for the movie channels (they had no TV guide, though) but it didn't work. The exercise room (a stationery bicycle) and the spa, which actually looked pretty nice, were closed until March 1. The "breakfast" that the web site mentions is a tray of muffins and the above-mentioned coffee service. There is no coffee at all in the room.

The best thing about the place, and the reason we stayed there, is the location. You can walk to the Rogue Brewery, Hatfield Science Center, Oregon Coast Aquarium and the beach. The sunset from the park under the bridge, and the crashing waves on the breakwater at dawn made up for an otherwise marginal hotel experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Opera_lover054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVINewport, Manager at Motel 6 Newport, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to express your comments. We take your comments seriously and use them for continued training or our staff. We are planning future changes to update the property. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We stayed there two nights. The room was clean. The people at the check in desk were friendly and helpful. They had good rates and I will stay there again. Our stay on the third floor was made eaisier with the elevator.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVINewport, Manager at Motel 6 Newport, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2011

Thank you for your comments we are continuously working to provide are guests with the best possible product at the most reasonable rates. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Total Turn-offs: Room was not clean when we arrived. There was food on the backspash behind the 'bar' sink. When I reported this, I was offered cleaning supplies. Instead, I asked that it be taken care of ASAP. It was taken care of the next day. Windows had salt air residue on them so view to the outside was not crisp. Curtains had mold/mildew on the backside near the bottom where they came in contact with the windows. Tub bottom and caulking were very dingy. Did not shower or bath because of it. Toilet paper had not been replenished. After a long day's travel, I immediately went to front desk to resolve the issue. It was unattended and had a sign "back in 5 minutes". Refrigerator freezer had things in it from a past occupant.
Definite Disappointments: Our balcony was not private from the adjoining room's balcony or the RVer's camped immediately below--even tho having the balcony made the room more expensive. Room overlooked RV campground and industrial area of the bay. Had thought that the facility had better views of the Bay itself, but no. More than once, while going to lobby for assistance, front desk was unattended and had a "back in 5 minutes" sign on it. WiFi was unreliable. I would not go back there again. It certainly was not a "Best Value".
Positive Side: Lobby was cozy and clean. Coffee and muffins available in the morning. Staff we spoke with were relatively friendly. We did have a reasonably nice view of Yaquina Bay Bridge. Too bad these things did not make up for the negatives already mentioned.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Backroads_Aficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVINewport, Manager at Motel 6 Newport, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2011

Thank you for taking your time to review our property we appreciate your comments and take them seriously. We do use your comments to train our staff and make necessary changes to improve our product and your lodging experience. We appreciate your business and hope that you will come back and give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We checked in toi our room and the sink was cloged. The Front desk Lady Jo was rude and said to deal with it. It was fthe fourth of july and they could not do anything about it. All hotels in town were booked so we decided to stay. After the fireworks we climbed in bed to find the bed had been Vomited in and not cleaned. I called the desk and was told again to Deal with it or leave. I still do not under stand why I was treated this way.... Do they treat all customers this way?? We checked out the next day and found a cheaper room at the wonderful Embarcedero Hotel for 20$ less! after filing a complaint with the mgt. ant the hotel chain and not getting any reply the front desk lady Jo wrote me a letter.
she stated their head housekeeper had checked the room....LIE i was there whe the Hispanic man finished " cleaning" the room. The letter also stated she would have moved me to another room...LIE they were full as she stated. the next lie in the letter stated we had 3 adults and 5 kids in the room LOL I drive a s10 blazer that seats five and My family consists of me my wife and three kiddos.. This lady Joe was rude and LIES!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matomotive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews