We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why did we wait so long to visit?”

Oregon Coast Aquarium
Ranked #3 of 47 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Oregon Coast Aquarium is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization located in Newport, on the beautiful Oregon Coast. Our mission is to create unique and engaging experiences that connect you to the Oregon coast and inspire ocean conservation. The Aquarium is a living classroom for all learning styles and ages. As one of Oregon's top tourist attractions, the Aquarium is a vital educational resource for the state, with over 40,000 students visiting the Aquarium each year. The Aquarium strives to be a center of excellence for ocean literacy and plays an active role in conservation and animal rehabilitation efforts.
Crescent City, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Why did we wait so long to visit?”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This place is great and a must see! It is not a tourist trap like I thought it was going to be. I will be back again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jkw95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    937
    568
    244
    53
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing and terrible value”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I love aquariums and was so excited about the Newport Aquarium after all the hype it gets in tourism brochures and the high entry cost. However, it was so disappointing. Yes, there were sea lions and turkey vultures but we saw plenty of these when we travelled down the Oregon Coast. The shark tank was okay but again, didn't quite live up to the hype. On the plus side, there were plenty of feel tanks and exhibits for the children and we enjoyed the otters feeding show. However, I would suggest you give this place a miss and go exploring the nearby coast and rock pools for free.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOldMarrieds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant stopover”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Having seen the Seattle Aquarium many years ago, I decided to stop, an spend some time at the Oregon Aquarium--especially since there are many exhibits outside, It was a nice diversion, but not as spectacular as I was invisioning--especially coming from the Sea World area. We don't have Puffins or sea otters, so viewing them was a treat.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
145 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place to see the creatures of the sea.”
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Although it is a small aquarium it was nice. Many of the fish came from the area. Clean and easily marked. Great place to see.

Helpful?
Thank Bear4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
small town usa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Kids paradise!”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The best part was the touch areas where the kids could touch start the sting rays and star fish. They also did the kiss with the sea lions and loved it! I recommend this place to anyone with children who love ocean animals!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregon Coast Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Oregon Coast Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing