We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was great, staff could be better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel was great, staff could be better.”
Reviewed May 18, 2009

My family and I stayed over the weekend for my sons birthday.

On arrival there were 3 people at the front desk, one on the phone, and two helping guests. As a guest left the desk agent did not offer to help me. They just were doing what they needed to do at the time. A few minutes later they said "Oh we will be with you in a minute." I was eventually helped. During check in I asked for extra pillows to be brought up. Checking in at 2:30pm we still didnt have the pillows at 8:30pm. I called the desk and asked for 2 more pillows. Two minutes later they called me back asking how many we needed again.

As for the rooms they are nice, the extra large suite is indeed large. The room was very clean and included a fridge and a very small microwave. The beds were on the harder side but we were able to deal with that. We had a ocean view room which was nice but I wish we would have been able to have a large window that opened for fresh air rather than two slats at the bottom of the huge window that we had to keep the curtians totally open all night to get air circulating through the room, as there is no AC in the room. (On the way to check out we noticed the fan that was on top of the shelf in the closet) The TV did not have many stations to choose from, but if you really need ESPN you are in luck because you have tons of different ESPN channel options! We wanted to watch Nickelodeon, the TV said Nickelodeon but in fact it was Nick Toons Network, not the actual Nickelodeon channel.

Beware that the hotel is spread in to 4 different buildings and you may have a walk to get from check in to your room. The building we were in D had a small pool that only went to 3 feet. That was great for us with small children. If you have older children and want a larger deeper pool you may want to make sure you are on the building on the other side otherwise you will have quiet a walk to get to the other pool. They do have a parking garage, but if you have a car that tends to sit on the low side it will bottom out due to the fact its at the bottom of a steep hill. (They warned of this at check in) It also has a clearence of 6' 9"

Other than a couple of glitches this is a very nice hotel with a great location. We would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osbornchrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    165
    149
    145
    110
See reviews for
270
242
27
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2009

We visited the Newport Shilo Inn with family and stayed in the Shilo Suite as part of our tour of Oregon. This was a fantastic apartment sized suite offering:

1) Fantastic views of the pacific ocean from every room
2) 1 Double room (en suite), 1 queen room (bathroom across the hall)
3) Fully equipped kitchen, breakfast bar and dining area.
4) Large sized lounge area with massive TV
(I'm from the UK so my perception of sizes might be slightly skewed)

Our stay was excellent with really good staff, free cookies and a great breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brummingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2009

Hotel was nice but the restaurant was excellent. Room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was large. There was not a balcony to sit and here the ocean and therefore you had to go off-site to enjoy the beach. Nice, but nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilot7700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2009

My husband and I just completed a coastal journey from Vancouver, BC to Santa Barbara, CA. Our stay at the Shilo was definitely one of the highlights. From the moment we checked in and were treated like royalty, to the service at the restaurants, we couldn't have been treated better. The rooms were clean, with updated decor and had fantastic views. To travelers on the road for a bit, we appreciated the cookies at the front desk and the on site laundry facilities and restaurants. Our thanks to the entire staff for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mallardConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill country of Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

We were thoroughly pleased with this hotel and would go back over and over if the opportunity would arise. Beginning with the check-in, the staff were so friendly and quick to take care of you. Not to mention the wonderful smells coming from the office as the free cookies were baking for the guests.

The building layout is a little strange, having to leave the building with the reception area and walk to the building next door for your room. But, wow what a room! It was oversized with plenty of room for two (very comfortable) queen sized beds and a desk. And it was perfectly clean. But the best treat was an oversized window overlooking the Pacific Ocean.

Check-out went as smoothly as check-in, being waited on by a very pleasant staff! Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fire_Ant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2009

Since we were traveling with our dog, we were limited to the "old" building. The pet rooms all have two queen beds. Unfortunately, these rooms have smallish windows that, though facing the ocean, are also right on the outdoor hallway, so people need to walk by your room to get to their rooms. There's also a parking lot between the rooms and the beach/ocean view. Also, our room smelled bad and the beds were hard. The towels were nice and plush, but there was no shampoo or lotion in the room; we had to ask for it. The shower faucet didn't work very well, but other than that, everything in the room seemed to be in working order. The breakfast cafe was nice, with a good view. We moved next door to the Hallmark the next night. Had a room with only one queen bed there, but a much better and more private view with a balcony, no bad smell, and a very pet-friendly experience there--- all for a better price.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guest51Portland_Or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloInn, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport, responded to this review, July 14, 2009
Dear Guest 51, thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback. It’s true, that for the convenience of all our guests, some rooms are specified as “dog friendly.” However, we are always ready to do anything we can to ensure that your stay is comfortable and enjoyable so never hesitate to share your concerns with the front desk staff so that you get the accommodations you desire. Also, our staff is always ready to rush any item you need right to your room should we have forgotten to fully stock it with amenities. We look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,

Karen – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Got a great rate through an on-line hotel site - even during spring break. The front desk was busy but they handled every check-in professionally and personally. Our room was comfortable and the decor was pleasant. The view was spectacular as all the rooms overlook the ocean. There are staircases available for easy (90 or so steps) access to the beach and the hotel lights up the area at night as well. We enjoyed a relaxing dinner at their restaurant. We stayed one night but noted that we'll return again when the weather warms up. The only downside was there was no jacuzzi and if we wanted to use a pool we would have had to walk to another building - brrrrrr - it was about 40 degrees outside so we passed on that experience.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smfOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,043 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#8 of 24 in Newport
354 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waves of Newport
Waves of Newport
#16 of 24 in Newport
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport

Property: Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Address: 536 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-5012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Begin your Oregon Coast excursion with a stay at the full service Shilo Inn Suites Oceanfront Hotel in Newport. This ocean front hotel features 179 beautifully appointed guestrooms, each with a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean, south jetty and to the north, the Yaquina Head Lighthouse. Children 17 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Hotel Oceanfront
Shilo Inn Newport
Newport Shilo Inn
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing