We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Family LOVES this hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elizabeth Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elizabeth Street Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Our Family LOVES this hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Elizabeth Street Inn is only hotel we choose when we travel to Newport, Oregon. The rooms have a beautiful view of the ocean and a private balcony, rooms are immaculately clean, comfortable and spacious, beautifully updated and have wonderful amenities such as a Keurig Coffee Maker, microwave, refrigerator, hot buffet breakfast, fireplace and much more! The Staff is professional, friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Each night, we had warm fresh baked cookies and seafood soup that was delicious. Location is perfect to explore the beach and attractions in the area. Thank you to the staff at the Elizabeth Street Inn for always offering us an enjoyable and memorable stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Longrider2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela W, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We love hearing from our repeat guests, who we consider part of the family! Thank you for making us your home away from home.

Just want to take this opportunity to let you know, in case you didn't hear while you were here, we will be adding a second elevator which should be in operation by the end of February, 2014. So if you are able to make it over next Spring, it should be in operation by then.

Hope to see you soon!

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    288
    89
    44
    20
See reviews for
220
500
34
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Centralia, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Elizabeth Street Inn is now at the top of our list of favorites. The location was perfect! When we walked into our room, the sliding door was cracked open to reveal blue water, white waves, sand, and the sound of the ocean. It took our breath away!

Checking in was a breeze. The staff was more than willing to answer all of our questions and were VERY polite.

We stayed in the King Jacuzzi suite for 3 nights. The room was excellently furnished with everything we needed. Also, the fireplace in the room makes it so relaxing. We slept with the door open every night so we could listen to the ocean.

We are already planning our next trip down to Newport and (of course) we will definitely be staying here again!

Note- The elevator is somewhat slow, but that did not affect our stay in anyway. We just used the stairs mostly.

Room Tip: All rooms are Ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cody-Rainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela W, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
There is nothing like the sound of the ocean is there? We are so blessed to have such a great location and to be able to look out from the lobby everyday to witness the beauty of it. Glad we could share it with you when you visited with us.

Thanks for all of your wonderful comments about the property and staff. I will most certainly pass the kind words onto them.

Hope you are able to make that next trip to Newport soon. The weather is typically very good in September ,and the first part of October.

Hope you heard during your stay that we are installing a second elevator and it should be in operation by the end of February, 2014.

See you soon!

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. From the time we checked in till the time we checked out everyone treated us great. The breakfast buffet was just standard fare and we never ate there as it was always crowded and it didn't look very appealing. We walked next door every morning and had a wonderful breakfast at Georgies. Overall we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela W, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so much for the review! So happy to hear you enjoyed your room and that you were well treated by the staff.

Breakfast can sometimes be a bit hectic, but our guests are more than welcome to take a tray to their room. We offer quite a variety of items every morning from make your own waffles to eggs and meat, just to name a few. We try to provide something for every pallete.

Hope to see you again soon!

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

What a lovely find! This was by far my favorite hotel we stayed in as we traveled down the Oregon coast. The staff at this tiny gem were absolutely delightful to us and our young son. They provided superb dining recommendations and were very thoughtful about tourist destinations we should consider.The room was immaculately clean and beautiful (neat fireplace and superb view) - a welcome relief from the usual threadbare or grubby places that can populate the coast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FLmom_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Elizabeth Street Inn is a nice place to get away for the weekend.
My husband and I came up over the Labor Day weekend to enjoy the beach and relax on the deck.
I believe each room has an ocean view, but we always ask for a top floor King room, valued at about $198/night (including tax)-summer rate. In my opinion these top floor rooms have the best views.

Great things about Elizabeth Street Inn:
1. Location - a short walking distance to the beach and to the Nye Beach shopping district.
2. Ocean Views - large deck for viewing (room enough for a few chairs and table).
3. Fireplace

Not so great things:
1. Bed - It was too hard for us, we had backaches each morning.
2. Complimentary breakfast - eggs were in a square format... gravy for biscuits was stale and not flavorful. I don't believe there is a true kitchen on-site, so this was probably the best they could do, which was not worth it to me.

Overall Experience:
On our trips to the coast, we like to bring wine, meats & cheeses, and just relax on the deck, people watching and enjoying the sound of the ocean. If it weren't for the sore backs from the bed, it would have been the perfect trip. :)
I would still recommend Elizabeth Street Inn as a viable option for a hotel in Newport, OR. Just bring Aspirin for your back in the morning.

Room Tip: We ask for a top floor room, because of the amazing views. You will pay an additional $10 fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctex8435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a wonderful hotel! Clean, well appointed rooms with stunning ocean views. Front desk staff could not have been any nicer - Anthony in particular was a real wealth of information, and extremely pleasant as well! Cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Can't miss - all ocean view with balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Travelled in July 2013 through Wasgington State and Oregon and stayed (sadly) just one night in the Elizabeth Street Inn in Newport. Small hotel, great room, great service, great staff, superb view.......

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikNED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
0.5 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
2.7 mi away
Agate Beach Motel
Agate Beach Motel
#1 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Street Inn

Property: Elizabeth Street Inn
Address: 232 SW Elizabeth St, PO Box 1342, Newport, OR 97365-5033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elizabeth Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the warmth and quiet comfort of the Elizabeth Street Inn with all oceanfront rooms. Ideal for couples, families and even limited dog friendly rooms for you and your four legged best friend. Located high on a bluff overlooking the beach, the Elizabeth is within walking distance of distinctive dining, galleries and shopping of historic Nye Beach, the Newport Performing Arts Center, an historic lighthouse and miles of Oregon's pristine beaches and tide pools. The Oregon Coast Aquarium, golf, fishing and many other area atrractions are close by.Just a few things you can expect from the Elizabeth Street Inn, all oceanfront rooms with a fireplace and balcony. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet, seasonal smoked salmon chowder appetizer, nightly fresh baked cookies in our lobby at night. Indoor oceanfront salt water pool, jacuzzi spa and exercise room. Meeting room, business service center and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Elizabeth Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Street Hotel Newport
Elizabeth Street Newport
Elizabeth Inn Newport Oregon
Elizabeth Street Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing