We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC VIEW & HOTEL!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elizabeth Street Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC VIEW & HOTEL!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We absolutely want to return here in the future. This place is great!

Rooms:
All rooms have ocean views. Enough said right? They do not have A/C since you only have to open the sliding patio door to get the ocean breeze flowing in your room. For heat all the rooms have their own fireplaces as well. The patio is also safe for kids. It has Plexiglas and railing so you’re not completely paranoid as parent. Not to say you don’t still need to watch your kids while they’re on the patio. We were in a 2 queen room traveling with a 6 year old and 3 year old. The beds were comfortable and true queen beds. The room is spacious as well as the bathroom. The shower and toilet are in a separate room from the sink and vanity. I love it when the vanity counter top and sink are separate from the shower when traveling because more people can get ready at a time.

Amenities:
Laundry room. I love having access to a washer and dryer when I travel with my kids. Especially with the beach below it’s nice to be able to wash the sandy clothes and beach towels.
They had a hot breakfast with waffles, eggs, sausage one morning, bacon the next, sausage gravy, cereal, bagels, and toast. A nice selection for breakfast that they kept full.
Beach access is a bit of walk only because the hotel is on the cliff (as all are) and you have to walk down 90 steps (my 6 year old counted) or a really, really long ramp to get to the beach. The ramp access is about a block away and stairs access is a couple hundred yards away.
We never used the pool or fitness room so I don’t know anything about either of those.
A nice touch too is they have fresh warm cookies in the lobby in the evening.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of the ocean so you really can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela W, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thanks so much for such a wonderful review! Loved it!
I agree with you about the vanity and shower being seperated. This does allow more people to get ready faster.
Hurry back!

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    311
    96
    45
    21
See reviews for
245
551
39
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while driving up the Oregon Coast. Honestly, all the hotels up the coast charge too much - almost as if they are in collusion to all charge upwards of $189. I understand that it is tourist season and they have to make the most of it but these hotels are not worth $200 a night with taxes. The Elizabeth Street Inn is probably a little better than some of the "nice" hotels up the coast and a little worse than others. It is a few steps up from a motel, a few steps below a spa. In fact, it seems to be a chain hotel that has been given a make over. We arrived late and the women at the front desk were extremely accommodating. They gave us a good double room on the top floor. When we went in, the room smelled musty. The furnishings are generic but everything is clean and in good working order. There is no particular complaint here other than this is super expensive for what it is and if the Oregon coast is to do better with tourists (we saw few people on the road as we drove up) then a little charm would go a long way. The closest we saw to charming was Florence a little bit south of Newport. All in all a good hotel, a nice stay, great ocean views but way, way too expensive.

Room Tip: Top floor away from elevator and ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack9003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela W, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thanks for your comments. Sorry to hear you feel our rates are too high. We do feel we are well in line with everything we have to offer as far as our rates are concerned. Rates are always higher in July and August, so you might try us in the fall.

All the best,

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Over from the UK.
Room overlooking the beach.
Very spacious with a great layout including fireplace.
Breakfast was a bit hectic but ok.
Super location and easy car parking.
Very near the Old Town .
Very easy use of the Internet.

Room Tip: As high up as possible to get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaughan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrub Oak, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

A great place, right on the beach. Every room has a terrace that overlook the ocean. If you jump from the balcony you are in the water. The staff were great, very nice and helpful. Good breakfast but the best is the cookies in the evening. Keurig coffee maker in every room and in the lobby with whatever you need. Fireplace in every room, and plenty of space to relax and watch tv or enjoy the sunset.

Room Tip: All good roons
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We booked on a Living Social 2 nights for price of 1. Now we are hooked on this hotel and Newport!! The Elizabeth Street Inn has nice ocean views and just a few blocks from Nye Beach with it's shops and nice restaurants. We stayed in the King room and they are very spacious, clean, updated with a gas fireplace. We love that the beds are so comfortable with nice linens. We enjoyed having the flat screen TV, the Keurig Coffee maker, and having the continental breakfast, the complimentary salmon chowder early in the evening and freshly baked cookies!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patticake2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The accomodations were outstanding! I have high expectations and they were met! The continental breakfast was above and beyond any I have experienced before. The double queen room was just the right fit. The bedding was luxurious and the serenity offered was priceless! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Salmon, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I got lucky and caught an 80 degree weekend at the Oregon Coat in early May!! I also got lucky when I scored a Living Social deal to stay for 2 nights at this wonderful facility in Newport. The room was already prepared for me and my 2 small dogs when I arrived very late. The package included 2 nights stay in a King ocean view fireplace room. They had set out water and food bowls, snacks, and extra bedding for the dogs. We felt welcome immediately!! The breakfast was very good and included hot foods like eggs, bacon, and sausage too. The room was amazing and so was the staff. All in all this was by in far my best stay while traveling with my dogs. The beach was a short walk away, but the room overlooked the beach from high above. Don't forget to try the free chowder and cookies that they bring out in the evenings too!! This hotel is a must stay for those who love the beach, or pet owners, or just about anyone who enjoys traveling.

Room Tip: Any room that overlooks the ocean is bound to be a good one. The elevator can be slow so you may wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttocsnodrog_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.5 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
845 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.2 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Street Inn

Property: Elizabeth Street Inn
Address: 232 SW Elizabeth St, PO Box 1342, Newport, OR 97365-5033
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elizabeth Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the warmth and quiet comfort of the Elizabeth Street Inn with all oceanfront rooms. Ideal for couples, families and even limited dog friendly rooms for you and your four legged best friend. Located high on a bluff overlooking the beach, the Elizabeth is within walking distance of distinctive dining, galleries and shopping of historic Nye Beach, the Newport Performing Arts Center, an historic lighthouse and miles of Oregon's pristine beaches and tide pools. The Oregon Coast Aquarium, golf, fishing and many other area atrractions are close by.Just a few things you can expect from the Elizabeth Street Inn, all oceanfront rooms with a fireplace and balcony. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet, seasonal smoked salmon chowder appetizer, nightly fresh baked cookies in our lobby at night. Indoor oceanfront salt water pool, jacuzzi spa and exercise room. Meeting room, business service center and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elizabeth Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Street Hotel Newport
Elizabeth Street Newport
Elizabeth Inn Newport Oregon
Elizabeth Street Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing