We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay in Newport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elizabeth Street Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I just spent 4 days in Newport and stayed at The Elizabeth Street Inn after getting a special deal from Living Social. I had a wonderful time. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Especially when I had to call after midnight to have someone come turn off the fireplace in the room that wouldn't turn off. I look forward to making another visit in the future to Newport and would stay at The Elizabeth Street Inn again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrmbem2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

It's great to hear you had such a wonderful time. The Living Social campaign has been very successful for us, and it was a very good deal. Thanks for giving it a try and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Have a great week!

Lela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,076)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

Friends have stayed here before and recommended it to us, thought we would try it out on a spur of the moment trip out of town! This hotel is easy to find with plenty of on-site parking. All of the reviews are true - it's clean, comfy beds, wonderful balcony w/chairs, gas fireplace, delicious salmon chowder (need to get there when they put it out) in the evening, close access to the beach and shopping, easy connect to wi-fi, great check-in and out. My husband used the pool and hot tub, while I spent time on the elliptical bike in the exercise room. Equipment needs some real attention but is useable. A really relaxing place to stay, wish we had been able to spend another night. Nothing negative to say about our stay at the Elizabeth Street Inn! We'll be back.

Room Tip: All rooms have great ocean view - because we were there during spring break, it was pretty busy, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTRHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

We love it when we hear that guests were referred by friends who have stayed with us. Word of mouth can be terrific advertising!

We are pleased to report that all new exercise equipment has been ordered and should be arriving soon! You will have to come back after the end of May and try it out!

Thanks for the review

Lela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A good value using the Living Social 2 night deal we purchased. The room was very comfortable and the hot breakfasts were more than adequate. If I had one complaint it would be the slow elevator and the lack of a central stairway to the lobby. The only way to get to the lobby via the stairs (at the ends of the long hallways) is to walk through the parking garage. But, overall a minor inconvience. I think the room quality and ammenities (hot breakfast/snacks) were slightly better than the Whaler where we stayed in January, but will check prices between the two before our next trip.

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs and don't like waiting 2-3 minutes for an elevator, ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spingor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

The Living Social campaign was a great value. Happy to hear you were able to take advantage of it and enjoy all of our amenities.

Our elevator is notoriously slow, for which we apologize. It is our hope to make improvements in the near future.

Our breakfast is quite elaborate compared to other hotels in the area and we have an area dedicated just to the breakfast so you don't have to walk outside to get to it.

Hope to see you again soon.

Lela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We got to stay here while the kids stayed with the grandparents here in Newport. We were very pleased with everything from the comfortable bed, free newspapers, yummy snacks, and responsive staff. When we called about our fireplace pilot being out (very windy day) someone was at our door within 5 minutes. I do not get all the complaints about breakfast...there were apples and bananas (plus oranges in the lobby), real whole wheat bread plus plain bagels, english muffins, and raisin bread, several kinds of cereal and oatmeal packets, eggs, yogurt...plenty of healthy options if you don't want biscuits and waffles. We definitely plan to return.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean. We heard sounds from the adjoining room until we put a bath towel on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodtogo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Loved our stay here. They do a great job at this hotel to make you comfortable. Glad we were there. Will go back if in that part of Ore again. All rooms have great view. Cookies in the lobby at night :-).

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 61hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Just returned from a three night stay at the Elizabeth Street Inn and we had a wonderful experience. The covered parking is a treat on the blustery oregon coast. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room on the third floor had a million dollar view! Loved the gas fireplace, frig, and microwave. The beds were extremely comfortable as were the pillows. The room was very clean and spacious. We stayed in the room one day and just lounged around reading books, watching the ocean, and watching DVD's on the large flat screen television - quite relaxing indeed! The breakfast buffet was very tasty and we appreciated the complimentary newspapers available in the lobby. Hopefully, we can make a return trip in the not too distant future!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraP182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

So I'm sitting next to the fireplace watching the rain fall over the pacific out my balcony, eating the complimentary salmon chowder - for about the same price of a chain hotel - and realizing this place is awesome even in poor weather.

Our room has a king bed, a fridge, microwave, big screen tv, fireplace and a balcony overlooking the beach. It's a great value and an affordable get away.

As someone who tries to be at least a little nutritionally responsible and BMI conscious (salmon chowder not withstanding) I wish the breakfast buffet had more healthy options. Apparently I am in the minority on this - most of the other guests seemed to be happy with the food (biscuits & gravy, waffle iron waffles, egg & cheese something, cereals, apples, toast, yogurt, juices, tea and coffee.)

The service is great, parking is free, beach access is easy and the view is fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlpineViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.5 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
879 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
24.5 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#9 of 35 in Lincoln City
826 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Street Inn

Address: 232 SW Elizabeth St, PO Box 1342, Newport, OR 97365-5033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $130 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elizabeth Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the warmth and quiet comfort of the Elizabeth Street Inn with all oceanfront rooms. Ideal for couples, families and even limited dog friendly rooms for you and your four legged best friend. Located high on a bluff overlooking the beach, the Elizabeth is within walking distance of distinctive dining, galleries and shopping of historic Nye Beach, the Newport Performing Arts Center, an historic lighthouse and miles of Oregon's pristine beaches and tide pools. The Oregon Coast Aquarium, golf, fishing and many other area atrractions are close by.Just a few things you can expect from the Elizabeth Street Inn, all oceanfront rooms with a fireplace and balcony. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet, seasonal smoked salmon chowder appetizer, nightly fresh baked cookies in our lobby at night. Indoor oceanfront salt water pool, jacuzzi spa and exercise room. Meeting room, business service center and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Elizabeth Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Street Hotel Newport
Elizabeth Street Newport
Elizabeth Inn Newport Oregon
Elizabeth Street Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing