We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View, Chowder, & Cookies!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elizabeth Street Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“View, Chowder, & Cookies!!!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The ocean view, salmon chowder, and cookies were awesome! The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable, and the hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming. Well worth the price we paid.

Reasons for a less than perfect score are the sub-par breakfast, lobby size, and elevator. The breakfast seemed cheap and pre-packaged (especially considering how great the chowder and cookies are), the lobby is VERY small, and the only elevator is small and cannot properly accommodate a full hotel.

Other notes: the extra blanket had some stains, but wasn't really too bad. A lot of reviews mention rooms being too hot - the room was warm, but this allowed for us to open the room up to the ocean views and sounds without worrying about getting cold.

Even though there are more negative details here than positive ones, the stay was definitely a great one, and well worth it!

Room Tip: Breakfast room is on the third floor. If you don't plan on waking up for breakfast, know that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    305
    94
    45
    21
See reviews for
243
542
39
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I planned a romantic getaway (the first in 10 years), and we stayed at this fabulous hotel. Where do I begin? The room was huge with a very comfortable king size bed. The Jacuzzi tub was relaxing and big enough for two. The towels were folded beautifully and the room had a lovely fireplace, big flat screen, and private balcony with a view of the beach. The pool area was beautiful and clean, and all indoors. From the big, fluffy robes to the wine glasses for two, no little detail was missed.

We didn't get a chance to try the bisque, but the cookies and breakfast were fantastic! The people working the front desk were very hospitable, offering assistance and suggestions for us.

The entire time we were there, we felt like royalty. Thank you to everyone that made our stay amazing and enjoyable. We will definitely be back soon. No waiting years this time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton Alberta Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is our third time staying at this hotel. We love the rooms overlooking the beach. The rooms are large yet cozy. Staff are friendly. An added bonus was the delicious Smoked Salmon Chowder at 5:30. Breakfast was good....the usual hotel fare. Can't beat this hotel for location and comfort.

Room Tip: In the past we have had a corner room which affords views to the west as well as to the north and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scappoose, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Very friendly staff, willing to help, but should have already been on top of the problems. Hot tub was filthy, cool, jet broke... Pool was cold... Fireplace put out too much heat... Breakfast was late...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela232, Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi Jennifer C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion.
The hot tub was recently re-coated and we have a very hard-working staff that ensures the pool area is up to standards. I am sorry for the experience and I am sorry to hear you feel we did not rise to your expectations.
The temperatures of the swimming pool and the hot tub are standard, computer-regulated, at 85 and 104 respectively, which guests seem to find satisfactory. Unfortunately, a guest tore the hot tub knob out of the wall, during your stay, when trying to shut off the jets, which are on a timer. We would like to mention that we have already remedied that situation, and replaced the knob.

Whenever our guests experience an inconvenience, such as your fireplace putting out too much heat, a quick phone call to our front desk is all we need in order to address it. Our first instinct would be to advise guests to check and make sure the heater is not turned on, and to open the sliding door to your balcony, to let the Pacific Ocean breeze cool the room for a bit. At the same time, the fireplace can be turned off by one of our staff members, if need be.

Again, we apologize for any inconvenience you've experienced, and we hope this won't prohibit you from visiting us again.

Thank you,
Tina Strode
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Elizabeth Street Inn sets a new standard for the Oregon coast. The staff is wonderful (extra kudos to Beth at the front desk for a job well done) all friendly and helpful that we encountered. The rooms are well appointed, comfortable and the beds are exceptional. The ocean front veranda with unobstructed view is superb. Looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Elizabeth Street Inn is in a great location next to the beach and about 0.5 miles walking distance from Nye Beach city center. The only objection I have is that I was rather disappointed with their "fitness center." It consists of what looks like a broken elliptical, a treadmill, and a seated bike, all crammed into a closet size rooms with no fans and windows that don't open. I guess it's running in the rain outside! Aside from that, rooms are nice and spacious and I would definitely stay again- but I would bring my outdoor running gear instead!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We enjoyed our time here. Very clean and comfortable. Nice staff, very helpful. The chowder and cookies in the evening are great when you just want a little something and don't want to go out. The breakfast is also nice to start your day, just wished it wasn't so early. I don't like to eat until about 10:00 but I know others are early risers. I can't say anything negative about this hotel except we can only afford going here when the price is lower. Can't wait until we can go back!

Room Tip: Ocean view upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazysundayTacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.5 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
836 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,759 reviews
1.3 mi away
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
#13 of 24 in Newport
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Street Inn

Property: Elizabeth Street Inn
Address: 232 SW Elizabeth St, PO Box 1342, Newport, OR 97365-5033
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elizabeth Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the warmth and quiet comfort of the Elizabeth Street Inn with all oceanfront rooms. Ideal for couples, families and even limited dog friendly rooms for you and your four legged best friend. Located high on a bluff overlooking the beach, the Elizabeth is within walking distance of distinctive dining, galleries and shopping of historic Nye Beach, the Newport Performing Arts Center, an historic lighthouse and miles of Oregon's pristine beaches and tide pools. The Oregon Coast Aquarium, golf, fishing and many other area atrractions are close by.Just a few things you can expect from the Elizabeth Street Inn, all oceanfront rooms with a fireplace and balcony. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet, seasonal smoked salmon chowder appetizer, nightly fresh baked cookies in our lobby at night. Indoor oceanfront salt water pool, jacuzzi spa and exercise room. Meeting room, business service center and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elizabeth Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Street Hotel Newport
Elizabeth Street Newport
Elizabeth Inn Newport Oregon
Elizabeth Street Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing